We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. Shocked by service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phi Phi Banyan Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow. Shocked by service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Room was actually good except there was sand in my sheets and i had just arrived so it wasn't from me

I told them the next morning about the sand and she was so offended and told me if I wanted to leave I should do it. She insisted the room had been clean and I just said " ok but there's sand so I want new sheets". She said I don't care if you leave I have other people here I don't need you and then said shed put my luggage out! It was the full moon maybe?? I don't know but it was so bad i asked to speak to the manager and she said she was the manager and refused to find me anyone further.

Just so bad and is the opposite of customer service - rude!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hirscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    253
    142
    51
    55
See reviews for
69
261
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel basic but provided everything my daughter and I needed. Good choice of breakfast with lovely beachside location. Fab gym facilities, sauna and free wi fi in welcome air conditioned centre. Plenty of eating options and bars not far but not too close to be noisy. Swimming pool got a bit dirtier second week and limited seating around poolside but that's the only critiscm.

Room Tip: We stayed top near far end which suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyaustin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My sister and I were on a long holiday in Thailand May this year (2012). We travelled around quite a few places in Thailand, but Phi Phi was the only place we struggled to book accommodation online as we couldn't find a hotel on the island that had good reviews. We read quite a few bad reviews about Banyan Villa but we were so glad that we didn't let them put us off. For us the hotel was in a great location, we were close to the nightlife in the evenings, close to the pier so we did not have far to walk with our backpacks when we arrived and we was also within walking distance to long beach, which is well worth a visit, so much nicer than Loh Dalam beach. It did take a good 30 minutes to walk to long beach and it is only something that can be done in the daytime, but it is well worth it. As for the hotel, in addition to the great location, it was clean and secure, we had a comfortable stay, the decoration in the room we stayed in seemed a bit dated, but it was all clean and that was the main thing for us. We were able to access wi fi in the gym during opening hours. Even though this hotel is in a busy area, we had no trouble sleeping and didn't find it noisy at all. We only stayed on Phi Phi a couple of nights, but if I decide to go back I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again. When we left the weather was very bad, a lot of rain, but the staff on reception and the concierge were very helpful, they gave us umbrellas, covered our backpacks up and carried them to the pier for us to catch the boat back to Ao Nang. Couldn't fault how helpful the staff were.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is located near the peer, we stayed at the Garden wing. This is our second stay in the hotel, the first time was 2 years ago.
We have to say that time didn’t do well to this hotel.
Our room wasn't so clean when we entered: there was dust on the shelves, the mirror and glass doors where stained, old shampoo bottle in the shower probably remained from the last guests. We notified the front desk and they sent someone to clean it.
The room looked like it needed some renovation (repainting and renew the wood).
We also found a cockroach running around the shower…
The shower was very basic in compare to the other hotels we stayed at in Thailand.
The fitness center however is very spacious and the best we have been in during our stay in Thailand.
The pool wasn't clean and didn't look inviting.

We had a discount on the regular price which was less than the web lowest price so if we had payed more we probably gave it a lower grade.

To conclude - just OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Långås, Hallands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent hotel, good rooms and near to everything! Very good breakfast with amazing view right on the beach. Garden around the hotel and nice with beach shoes to the guests. Nice with water kettle so you easily can make your own tea or coffee´. The only bad thing was that we´d lots of small, very small ants(?) running around in our room especially if we left some fruits for a moment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

dearest travellers,
i go to thailand at least 3 times a year and so far this hotel is the worst hotel I've ever been to.
here goes my story...
i flew in from bangkok to krabi expecting to catch a 1.30pm boat ride. once we landed, we went to the TOURIST INFORMATION counter to find out about the ferry to phi phi island. the guide told us that we r good to go on the 1.30pm ferry. everybody got excited and bought bus tickets to the pier. sadly the bus doesnt stop at the pier, it stopped at a tour company/restaurant. we got there n the guide there said there has been no ferry heading to phiphi for 3 days now and the next one that you can wait for is 3pm if the waves settles down. at the mean time he was offering hotels in krabi and told us that he can cancel our hotel in phi phi n just stay in krabi. makes me wonder why the tour info lady at the airport told us that we r good to go when they should know there has been no ferry. if i were u guys and have more that 5 pax with u, just hire a taxi. its not that far from the krabi airport. we walked to the next restaurant and manage to get ferry tickets instantly for 350 baht per pax for the 3pm ferry ride to phi phi. we got to phi phi island and was greeted by the banyan villa guy and walked us to the hotel. he didnt even bring a trolley, didnt even helped us carry our bags as most of the other hotel would bring their trolleys. we got to the hotel and finally the drama started, she (POOH) looked at me and said " PASSPORT PLEASE" 2 seconds later "SORRY MISS YOUR BOOKING HAS BEEN CANCELLED BY AGODA! WE HAVE RELEASED ALL 3 ROOMS" i was shocked and called AGODA right away...agoda confirmed that the hotel rooms are confirmed and there was no problem with the booking and try to speak to the front desk. she just said "RESERVATION CLOSE TRY AND CALL BACK TOMORROW BUT RESERVATION IS CANCELLED" and passed me back my phone. and then she said "YOUR BOOKING IS CANCELLED IF YOU WANT YOU CAN PAY CASH FOR WALK IN RATES" i was soooo shocked and try to settle the problem but all she does is being rude and giggles. she even said "WE DONT WANT YOU TO STAY, YOU CAN GO DIFFERENT HOTEL THANK YOU! omg! this front desk is your worst nightmare.i called agoda and they called bangkok to settle this straight with the hotel and suddenly the hotel phone rings and she picks up. start speaking in thai and after she shut the phone she said "EVERYBODY PASSPORT" thats all! she issued us the room keys with breakfast vouchers and didnt apologize. so i told her that thai people is usually very nice and you as a hotel staff shoud say sorry for what you have done. she looked at me and said "I DONT KNOW YOU WHY SHOULD I SAY SORRY, I DONT KNOW WHERE U COME FROM AND I DONT CARE IF YOU WANT YOU CAN GO TO DIFFERENT HOTELS" she was so rude! my husband always blew it cos he was so pissed. after we got the key we went online and saw all the bad review on this hotel and we just got goosebumps cos it scary to read other reviews and facing the same thing.
this hotel is not worth it, the breakfast is really bad! the egg station lady is always gone on a break and some guests was frying their own eggs/omelettes! all the staff hates us cos they know about the check-in incident. worst food on the beach and worst customer service in my entire travelling life!
the rooms are rundown and the pool has never been cleaned. far from other places and the beach is useless there. you have to walk to the view point beach and its much nicer.

Room Tip: please dont bother. theres bugs and the bed is hard, pillows is hard, shower doesnt drain for 1 hr.a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank greenc0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in July. The rooms could have been a bit more up-to-date but overall they were pretty clean and the air conditioning worked well. We would stay here again if we go back to Phi Phi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Banyan Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Banyan Villa

Property: Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Address: 129 Moo 7, Ao Nang | Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Banyan Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi Banyan Villa locate only 5 minutes walks from Tonsai Pier. From the pier, just turn right down along the beach road. You will find a big banyan tree with the hotel reception on the left and on the right is the hotel's beach front restaurant Tonsai Seafood. Phi Phi Banyan Villa is a second hotel of Phi Phi Hotel Group. The hotel has just renovated and finished on November 2009. Bed room and bath room are clean and brand new Banyan Fitness Center is free of charge for the hotel guest. The fitness consist of work out machines, sauna room, stream room and yoga class which guest have to pay extra to join. Please note to use the fitness, a pair of proper sport shoes is needed or you have to rent one at the fitness. The hotel is 2 story building. Two room type are Banyan Wing Room and Garden Wing Room, wooden floor for Banyan Wing Rooms and tiled floor for Garden Wing Room. All rooms are with balcony facing the garden. Please note extra bed at this hotel is only a mattress on the floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Phi Phi Banyan Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Banyan Villa Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Banyan Hotel
Phi Banyan Ko Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing