We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Phi Phi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phi Phi Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great location , near the pier, however the rooms are old , dirty and very basic . The breakfast is basic and the hotel rooms are grossly overpriced . We asked for a room and were told that the hotel was full , only to get a room through agent .....frankly avoid if you can..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    397
    214
    66
    72
See reviews for
75
346
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wanting to stay close to the ferry terminal to make a speedy exit to Phuket, I decided on this hotel and for the price thought I would get the spacious seaview room described by other reviewers. Instead, I was put in a cramped, delapidated, hot, biting insect infested, dirty room with rotting furniture and oozing plumbing. It was hot as it faced the sun all day and not a haven from the cruel heat and crowds of daytime Phi Phi. It was called the "West Wing" room. I could not get served any food during the day because tour group after tour group offloaded gaggling crowds to have their set menu lunch and dinner at the r hotel estaurant. When I tried to get some water to fill my bottle from the cooler, I was chased away and told it was not allowed. I was yelled at and spoken to impolitely and told I could go elsewhere with no refund by the woman at the desk when I complained about the room and asked for something better. I am now of the opinion that holidays are one's gift to oneself for years of long hours working back home and it is not a kindness to onesself to not give the best that you can afford. When the sun sunk low enough to venture out, the crowds had dissipated and I was able to explore the island a little further and found an oasis in the hotel called The Cabana - if you can, pay the extra $50 and stay there. It is exquisite compared to what I saw elsewhere on the island - all tacky, soulless hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the pier, just 5 minutes away from the pier. Maybe needs a bit of refurbishing, but no complaints.
Basic rooms, but all that you need is catered for. Near to all the activity but far enough to sleep at night in peace.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europcarmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

good hotel in a good location. try to get a low floor as i am only 32 but i even found the stairs to higher floors to be absolutely exhausting as there are no lifts. breakfast was ok but like all thai buffet breakfasts is a little on the cold side. rooms are big and relaxing. i would go back to this hotel
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Climb the steps to the lovely views of the look outs on Phi Phi

Room Tip: Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Climb the steps to the lovely views of the look outs on Phi Phi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Never stay here if you have an iota of self respect!!!
We were a group of 5 girls and had booked two rooms here, one with an extra bed. They provided us with 4 towels and a request for a 5th one, was conveniently ignored by their staff.We didn't bother much but while checking out, we were in for a rude shock..Were told one towel was missing and we shall be fined for it!!! When we fought, they actually checked our luggage in the middle of the lobby only to find nothing in the end..It was insulting to say the least and the staff didn't even have the decency to apologise later..Even otherwise, the breakfast was nothing to boast abt, the hotel had no elevator, there were ugly dogs lying around etc..Wouldn't even recommend this place to my enemies.

Room Tip: No room is worth staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shreya_Mehrotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel is pretty dated but its to be expected of a remote location, the restaurant wasnt really fully functioning when we where there and the lady at reception seems upset by something on the day we checked in, everything else was brilliant about the island and in the end it was just a place to crash.

Room Tip: The Rooms on the outer edge of the hotel is exposed to lots of noise as their is a little concrete s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth, england
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

this was our third visit to phi phi , and our choice of this hotel was big mistake , on arrival we found the staff at reception were surly and not very welcoming , though the rooms were clean and tidy and the view from the balcony was excellent , the breakfast was so so and nothing to get to excited about , the location form the pier was excellent so getting there took about 2-3 minute walk, the pool was small but a welcome relief even though there were only 4 sunbeds for a hotel that could accomodate 200 people, our biggest problem was the noise of club revellers coming back to there rooms at 3am drunk , nosiy , etc , so if you are thinking of staynig here ? think again , if you are aged between 18-30 then its a great choice as the location is like being in ibiza town, but if you want the more laid back true thai style then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasurehunter1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
826 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Hotel

Property: Phi Phi Hotel
Address: Center of Ao Ton Sai Village, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phi Phi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Ko Don
Phi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing