We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid, avoid, avoid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ao Ton Sai

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid, avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overpriced, dirty, polluted. But, none of that would have mattered had it not been for the way we were treated by the locals. I shudder to think what other tourists have put these poor people through, but we certainly didn't deserve the treatment we got. I tried on a dress in the shop next to the place they sell jeans, and the woman practically threw me out when I asked her if she had a smaller size. "OK, you don't want, you don't buy!" she shouted, snatched the dress off me and ushered me out in no uncertain terms. We bought fruit twice, both times sold rotten fruit by two different fruit sellers. For the same price we got lovely bungalows on other islands, we got a tiny delapidated shack far from the sea front. I wish we had been told to stay away from Phi Phi, because it put a damper on an otherwise spectacular holiday.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Agi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    103
    100
    40
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Don't stay long”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Unlikely to avoid as most ferries and transfers operate from here. A tourist trap of note with few redeeming qualities. Catch your ferry and stay away otherwise!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miracles_d0_Happen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"tampon bay"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

ok the water here looked nice but, there was so much rubbish in the water it was disgusting!
we saw a tampon in the water and other plastic bags and bottles and bug rubbish items on the beach floor. yucky!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank erajasmine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Tenerife of Asia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Expensive, crowded and dirty is the town. The beach by day is actually quite nice by night it could be any 'Western' strip on a Med island. Loud, tacky and full of drunk teens. Feels more like the West end in Ibiza or Tenegrief. Will be exploring the other islands, won't be coming back here.

Helpful?
2 Thank the1paulcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“big tourist town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

prepare to be haggled. You cannot walk a metre without a tout calling out to you. We got out of the area right away to a quieter beach but you will have to go there to get off the island and it is where you can organise your day trips from. Barracuda dive centre was very friendly and knowledgeable for organising scuba dives. Though there is so much good snorkelling too

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MishMash2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ao Ton Sai also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Ao Ton Sai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing