We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the coastline where all the action is.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Yes, it's a party island, and this hotel is at the far end. So you might hear the party bass from midnight till three, but actually other locations will probably be noisier as closer to all the night bar action. The hotel is good. Good rooms, nice pool, nice breakfast. How ever, do not expect anything manicured or resort like. Tiles can be missing in the pool area, some of the very friendly staff do no speak any English and the look and feel of the place seems dated. Having said all this, we had a very good time here. Room always clean, complimentary water, pool boys walking up and down with drinks etc. All and all, if you want to visit the paradise of Phi Phi Island and you can afford a bit more, stay here. There are some budget solutions, we have seen them: errr NO ! Also there are some very niuce resorts but they are in the North and far from the 'fun' action of the night. Would stay here again. A lady makes omelets to order, and they are very good. Ok, it's not a 5 star resort, but than again the rest of the coast seems to be all hostel-like budget places and at least at Cabana it's all clean and they try hard. Fifties feel is not that bad, is it?

Room Tip: We booked the ckeapest room by ASIAROOMS site, so we can't complain about having no view of the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Experienced 5 star price with a 1 star level of service. Staff would go out of their way to avoid eye contact and helping and do as minimal as possible. Ferry service runs at 9am earliest and so we missed our last day at the hotel - staff were unwilling to discount our stay or provide any kind of complimentary service to offset. The complimentary breakfast appeared to be recycled and reheated from previous mornings, the food was terrible and coffee even worse. The only good thing about the hotel was the pool area but even then we had a member of staff harass everyone pool side to sell is "brother's" long boat service for $3500 baht. We declined his service but that didn't stop him from asking every day - which was the only time we saw him and could order a drink. Also, no noise control on this island as the bars at the far Side of the beach all get going and blast their music until early morning which destroys any sense of serenity that you might think makes up for the lack of service. The final thing is that all water in the shower and taps is salty - not sure if this is true of all hotels on the island. Either way we will never be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A Must Stay for a night or two to enjoy the island , ts beauty, and the silence and the night madness at few bars....
Cabana hotel is an amazing hotel where the SEA and SWIMMING POOL are almost together and u can almost enjoy both of them at the same time....
A Cool Hotel , Rooms are OK but a good Place......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shobhitillusions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Close to the ferry, lovely staff, excellent pool and breakfast was good but and this is a big but... Make sure you find out where you room is. We had a lovely sea view room during the day but this was turned into a major let down at night. We aren't old and even we found that we had to wear earplugs at night because of the sheer volume of noise coming from the bars further down the beach. Having visited Phi Phi 20 years ago as a child it was such a shame to see such a beautiful place turned into a hedinous party town. If you want a relaxing holiday and prefer somewhere a little less full of the crowds I would go somewhere else however if you are stopping off for a night or two and would like to see Maya Bay etc then it's worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kellinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a very old and tired hotel, but wonderfully located. Walking distance from pier and sea on both sides of the hotel. Rooms are small and smelly. Very restrictive amenities in the room. Bathroom is very small as well. Tap water is salty. Use bottled water even for brushing. The hotel is spread out which makes it a long walk to the rooms. Also rooms are on three floors without elevators. Most expensive hotel on the island making it not the most value for money.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose low floors if walking up down are a problem
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anirban S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Pp island cabana
Best place we stayed on the island

We stayed here for a week dec 13. Upon arrival we told staff we would be checking out a night earlier than expected. They contacted the website we had booked through & sorted it for us. (We didn't get charged). The room was brilliant. Yes the shower door was worn, but who cares when you see the setting.
All showers in every hotel are salty, so you won't be spending to much time in them anyway.
The hotel is located at the opposite end of the beech from the bars. But you can still hear them. So bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. You will hear the bars from any hotel on the beach. If you are raiding the mini bar, check the expiry date. The beers were out of date, we got them replaced & they were further out of date.
The pool is spectacular, with amazing views of the bay. The pool staff has a system if you leave your towel on your bed unattended for around an hour they remove it. It's a good idea as it stops people taking a bed for the day and not using it.
Our room had views of the bay. The rooms have good aircon.
The bar food was good & the breakfast Buffett was really good.
The information desk staff were friendly when asked for the locations of any amenities.
The only bad points were that we had to buy tickets for the New Years gala ball to book into the hotel over that period. The staff put a lot of
Effort into it, but the entertainment was really cheesy poor. The food was only average at it & it cost €100 each
The wifi is not free and is prohibitively expensive and very poor. Don't bother getting it, just use the free wifi that most of the restaurants have on the island.
The hotel did a couple of nice touches. The night before the gala
Ball they left in polo shirts, wallets and purses into the room as gifts. Upon arrival we were given complementary cold drinks.

Accommodation in phi phi is not as nice in the rest of Thailand. The showers are salty on the entire island. The paths onthe island are uneven etc... But once you can look past that, the island is amazing & i'd be happy to stay in this hotel again. It was by far the best place we stayed on the island.

We were there over New Years and it was jam packed busy. 2 days later there was half the people and a much more chilled atmosphere on the island.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Betdownbiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Great pool. Ok room with nice beds. Bathroom and shower not very good but nice towels. Overall was the right place to stay. Not in the middle of the party action but close enough to walk. If you're expecting 4 or 5 star forget about it but if you're not expecting much, you'll be happy here.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank bacajaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $89 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing