We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I were very disappointed with this place.
The staff aren't friendly, they are very pushy. Our room had a faulty lock and weren't allowed to change rooms. Our shower glass panels were off the rails and held together by string, there was also blood on the shower walls. The room had a mouldy odour.
The only good thing is the location. Having a lovely view of both sides of the island.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank thibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, close to the dock, attached to the beach, and far enough away from the busy main area yet still close (close enough that the beach party can be heard at all hours).

I appreciated that there was someone to pick us up from the ferry, since we would not have known where to go and it would have been hard pulling suitcases along the dirt road. Other then this the service was lacking, the reception/concierge did not know anything and could not answer any of our questions, even simple ones such as how much the ferry to Krabi was. The fact that there was no wi-fi was another inconvenience, we were even willing to pay the high price to get wi-fi until we found out it is only accessible in the lobby, made more sense to just use free wi-fi when eating dinner at a restaurant.

Room we had was large enough for three people, washroom was really small though and there was a mouldy smell in the room, although after airing it out it got better. The pool was fantastic and had lots of lounge chairs, breakfast was good, the place had a very resort feel to it and with a bit of upgrading I think it could be a fantastic place to stay. Currently, I think it was overpriced for what it is and location is the only thing that I really liked about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssquared3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If location is what you are looking for, this is the place for you. We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, and were happy with it. We were with a group of friends (m/f - 24-33) and found it very convenient. This is one of the few hotels right on the beach, and it is a bit further away from the "busy" section so you have a getaway if you need to. It is also right next to the ferry so it is literally a 3 minute walk to and from the dock.
The pool area is amazing and has a large pool with varying depths. We were in the pool daily after the beach. The rooms are modest, not the newest but they do the job. The bathrooms are kind of run down but again they do the job, but not exactly a spa experience. We had a ocean facing room with a gorgeous view of the pool and islands. It is a very resort like feel to the hotel. Big downfall, there is NO free wifi and it is very pricy for 24hrs. The front desk staff are not very helpful. Every time we had a question, no one had any idea what we needed or were talking about. It is family friendly resort as well as couples and groups of friends. We found it to be a bit older crowd (28+) but there were children around. If you are looking for a comfortable stay that is not too high class, you might like this place. Make sure you take advantage of the pool, it is amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foreveryonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Over priced, old run down hotel, dirty rooms. On check in there was toilet paper in the toilet that had not been flushed, and cigarette butts in the ashtray. Old musty smelling rooms. We paid $165 dollars a night to stay here.

On our fist day we came back to our room to find our door wide open and unattended, it had been left open by cleaners in accident. Cleaners returned 15 MINUTES later. No explanation or apology received from staff, we are just lucky we got back to our room before valuables were taken. Would never stay at this hotel again.
Only positive thing about this hotel is the location. Great location 2 minute walk from the boat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcfetre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed there for two nights with my cousin (25m) and myself (27f). It was a nice clean hotel on a beautiful setting. The nice thing was it was right by the ferry so we didn't have to worry about hauling our luggage far. The setting like I said was beautiful on both of the sides of the hotel, it was nice to have both beaches. It was also nice because it was off from the 'club' scene so it was a bit quieter too. The breakfast was beautiful in the morning as well! We'd stay there again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Thailand....world renowned for it's exceptional levels of customer service, friendliness and the occasional drive-by. Somewhere along the way the Cabana Hotel on Phi Phi lost it.

Granted the island has been ruined by the constant wave of washed up hippies chasing a 'Beach' like experience (You're 30 years too late Cosmo). However the levels of disdain shown by the staff towards the guests went way beyond excusable.

The warning signs were apparent on day 1 when a rather pungent Itallian chap complained to reception about his lost luggage on the hotel's own charter boat, only to find the staff uwilling to even acknowledge he had a problem.

Our moment came when we decided to have a couple of mini-fridge beers and watch the sunset from the balcony. To our horror the beers were over 2 years out of date. We called reception to complain and we were passed around 4 or 5 staff and still nobody could understand our simple instruction. Eventually one member of staff arrived at the room with extra beer, but played dumb when we suggested he took the old beers away and gave us the new ones at no extra charge.

On checkout we were charged for the out of date beers. After another lenghty discussion at reception the staff apparently did not understand the simple request that we should not be charged for those items. The hotel staff then denied that any of them visited our room the evening before to remove the old beer. Given that we had to catch a ferry we let go and paid the extra amount.

The hotel staff have a good system of pretending not to understand English at the point of any complaint being made, and they do a good job of running down the clock as the ferry departure draws closer.

If I can stop at least one person booking this hotel then I will consider it payback for the utter rudeness and ignorance on display at the hotel.

An insult to the amazing Thai customer service you find in every other part of the country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank White_Lightening1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great location. Close to the port and close enough to town and far enough from the noise at night :).
We got an amazing sea view room. The rooms were clean (a bit dark) and comfortable. The bathroom however need a bit of upgrading.
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel has an amazing swimming pool and the swimming area for the beach is located right near the pool. The beach swimming area is cornered off so none of the long tail boats can park there - which makes it nice and safe.
The breakfast was a good spread and the lunch was alright (nothing to brag about). However if you were considering eating at the hotel restaurant, don't as there are loads of really nice restaurant in the town.
The staff at reception weren't all that friendly. You have to purchase WIFI as the hotel does not supply free WIFI.
I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room - they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#11 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $92 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing