We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great location. Close to the port and close enough to town and far enough from the noise at night :).
We got an amazing sea view room. The rooms were clean (a bit dark) and comfortable. The bathroom however need a bit of upgrading.
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel has an amazing swimming pool and the swimming area for the beach is located right near the pool. The beach swimming area is cornered off so none of the long tail boats can park there - which makes it nice and safe.
The breakfast was a good spread and the lunch was alright (nothing to brag about). However if you were considering eating at the hotel restaurant, don't as there are loads of really nice restaurant in the town.
The staff at reception weren't all that friendly. You have to purchase WIFI as the hotel does not supply free WIFI.
I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room - they are great!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Cabana island hotel

Location location location. Wedged between two bays the location can't be any better. There are no vehicles on Phi-phi island so you have to walk from the pier to the hotel, which is only about 1 minutes walk. There was a porter that took care of all our luggage.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our travel agent incorrectly booked a twin room instead of a double room. Without any fuss they upgraded us to room with a double bed.

The accommodation:
Neat and clean, but decor is rundown. Areas in the hotel (like our bathroom) definitely need some touch-up and maintenance. The amenities are the usual.
There is no elevator, so be prepared to climb some stairs, or ask for a room on ground level.

Breakfast and restaurant:
The same that applies to some other hotels in Thailand where we stayed. The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of western and Thai dishes. Food is good enough to fill you up, but nothing to write about.
The poolside restaurant is very convenient, good food but slightly expensive.

Grounds and pool:
Lovely pool with a beautiful view and direct access to the beach. Exterior is very neat. Once again, the location makes up for any minor issues you might have with the decor or anything else.

Even though the rooms might not be the fanciest, the location and friendly staff all accumulated to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel got a few bad wraps on here before I travelled but I took the plunge and booked anyway! yes all the things that people said are true the shower door may be broken, the shower may be rather run down and the same for the tiles on things etc but man how can you complain with the location and the view from the pool! What more do you need in phi phi! Phi Phi island is not to spend your time in the room and gripe about the hotel you lay your head there and spend most of your time strolling around the island, snorkelling, eating, drinking at the many bars or by the pool or on your balcony lapping up Loh Dalam Bay! Unless you wanna be out of the main area then you can't really find a better location for a hotel! It all depends on what your after we stayed in lush accommodation in Patong but Phi Phi is about getting out and about like your truly on holiday at the beach! I would stay again if I was here for only a few days! Phi Phi island does have a seedy side but it's where you choose to gravitate towards just ignore and enjoy the holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Loh Dalam Bay. You can hear the music from down the beach but it didn't bother us...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbyfryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This place has loads of potential but it's run down and staff are terrible! The rooms in this hotel are horrible and beds are so uncomfortable! Food in the restaurant is also really bad and the staff have no English, so its hard to communicate! The pool area is great though and hotel is right on the beach, so location it perfect!
It's in the centre if all the nightlife, just a walk down the beach and you are in the madness! So that's the only good thing about the place!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Aisling2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

firstly, id like to say I really liked this hotel.. I love how it goes from bay to bay, its huge well maintained gardens, the way the rooms are spread out over the whole estate, its large swimming pool, all the staff and breakfast too..

I stayed in building 5 which was a bit of a walk to the lobby and breakfast, but the walk really gave me some time to enjoy my surroundings.. my room was on the ground floor, it looks like each of the buildings are 3 story, so if you don't like stairs maybe you should request the ground floor rooms. Saying that, the tree line obscured my view of the beautiful bay, so I would recommend staying up a bit higher.. the room was a bit on the older side, and the bathroom could do with an update, but I really don't know why you would spend a great deal of time in your room when you have that amazing swimming pool!! The bar service was great, they were very quick to take your order, and deliver it to you too :)

if your looking for ultra modern I probably recommend you look somewhere else, but if your about location, I really don't think you can find better on phi phi!! definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good hotel, best location on Phi Phi island. It has 2 beach fronts, pool area sensational, you can drink a beer with the best view you'd ever imagine.

As don't have car in Phi Phi Island, you have to hand carry your baggage to the hotel, but Cabana Hotel has staff to help to take you from the pier to the hotel, is around 5 min walking, have a convenient location.

Is around 10 min far of the noisy bars, so, is a good place to have a good sleep at night.

The low points of the hotel are that, the shower has salty water, the room service is poor, the cleaner forgot to change the towels, never cleaned the floor, always full of sand. Also they have no free wifi, you have just 1 computer to use next to the lobby or you have to pay to have internet.

We liked the breakfast, good variation of food, the restaurant of the hotel has very good food and the best price of the island.

In the future we are planning to go back to Phi Phi Island, the hotel in some terms make us feel very comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio_Arn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had mixed feelings regarding this hotel.

On the plus side-
1. Location is great- it's a 5-10 minutes walk from the pub/shop/restaurant area, and 15 minutes from the party beaches. But still it is far enough from the noise so allows some privacy (although there was some distant music coming from a party at night that we could hear from our room).
2. The view from the room is breath taking- it overlooks the rear bay which is just beautiful. You could actually just step off of your porch and walk into the peaceful beach.
3. The service at the hotel was good- We arrived at Phi Phi on a stormy day and had a hotel representative wait for us at the pier with umbrellas and a wagon to carry our bags which was very helpful and thoughtful and did not cost us a thing.
4. The pool is quite spectacular! but you probably won't use it much given the beautiful beaches of Phi Phi.

On the downside-
1. Room was rather small.
2. Bathroom was kind of warn out (broken shower door) and the water are salty (although I understood this is the situation in the entire island).
3. Breakfast was meh.. and the ladies preparing your omelet were really grumpy (everyday!)
4. No wifi (only with extra charge)- very annoying.

Room Tip: Must ask for a sea view room! otherwise I don't see the point of staying there...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $89 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing