We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Jhb
2 reviews
“Shocking Hotel!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The rooms were dark and depressing, totally outdated. The service is a shambles, seems like there is nobody working there. The ladies at the front desk have got bad attitudes as if they hate working there.The swimming pool is ok but the problem is there are not enough pool chairs as if they dont have the funds to buy more.I would probably give the hotel 2 stars. If one is looking for luxury, Phi Phi island is definitely not the place to go, it is run down and has become a back packers haven.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    421
    343
    160
    128
See reviews for
137
561
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were in this hotel 3 nights. After the entering to room we did find bath towels. To get them took about 4 hours and several calls to receiprtion. Lgs towels was dirty and to change it took about 10 hours. In the night we discovered that noise isolation was very bad and we "participated" in discotec untill the 3-4 am. Other part of rest was good. Good pool, very close to sea and etc.

Room Tip: Choose room to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

After reading the reviews below I have zero understanding of how anyone can not like this hotel.

Firstly the location is possibly the best on the island, it's literally a two minute walk from the pier where you arrive, it's a few minutes walk into town and the beach is on your doorstep.

Secondly, our room couldn't of been better, we had a deluxe room on the far side of the pool and the view from the room was breathtaking, we looked out across the bay with the cliffs in the background and the odd long tail boat chugging past. Yes the room is small for an average hotel room but it's clean, tidy and has everything you could want. We had a balcony so we'd have a couple of beers and chips and wathced the sunset before we headed out for dinner each night. The bathroom was a little dated, but it wasn't that bad, my experience is that most hotels in Thailand only ever offer basic bathrooms. Added bonus was that they provided lots of free toiletries!

The pool is awesome, from what I've heard it's the best on the island, it's huge, clean and right beside the beach, the view from the loungers is also very nice.

We had no issues with the staff at all, in all our encounters with them they were very helpful, we even managed to get a bat tuck in our room and they went to all means possible to get it out. Every morning the maids were waiting at the bottom of the stairs to start cleaning and they always said hello, even the gardeners did.

Breakfast buffet was excellcent, lots of selection although would be nice if they offered trim milk and also they desperately need to fix the toaster! Breakfast is on a covered terrace out the front of the hotel on level 2 so you get a nice view and plenty of sunshine!

Wifi is not free here, you have to buy it, however nearly all the cafes and resturants in town offer free wifi so we just used their wifi instead as we went to town every day for dinner and/or lunch.

Also yes the beach does have bars on it, which go nearly all night, and yes you can hear it at the hotel, but we still slept through it without issue, the air con covers the noise and it all ends around 2am.

Overall this hotel made our holiday, it's in the best location, has great views and an amazing pool. I can't understand why people have given this place such dire reviews. We nearly went with Holiday Inn but glad we didn't as Holiday Inn is only accessibly by boat and the boat taxis charge a fortune!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side of the pool in the first block, best views of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Horrible experience. We stayed at this Overpriced hotel on New Year's Eve and day. We had to pay extra for a NYE DINNER which was a buffet with entertainment , granted was tasty food but in no way worth 100$ especially that alcohol was not included?????? overpriced and awful entertainment. Could of had better eslwhere for half the price but it was forced upon us on reservation, which we had to make here cause everywhere else was sold out and made late booking.

The worst part though was the NOISE! It was so loud in the bedrooms felt I was in the club. I thought it was because of NYE but January 1st was same thing in th evening and I was told its always like that, didn't bother complaining we changed hotels and went to Laem tong beach. Ps, I am not in mid 30s if you r wondering so can handle loud music, but not like that, in my oom!
Oh and u had to pay for Internet by the hour and it only work well by the lobby and sometimes the pool
Room size r ok but very very dated!
Pool is nice and well located on the Side of Lo Dalum bay which is beauty, beach is down the steps access
Buffet was ok, nothing great.

Never again.

Phi phi is a beauty but destroyed by tourism. Recommend only a day trip but it is not to be missed as very scenic view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

In many ways the review by JulieHerts_UK says everything you need to know!

I feared the worst about the Phi Phi Cabana and was really dreading having booked to come to the island and the check-in experience seemed to make my concerns just. Truly the unfriendliest "welcome" during my whole trip to Thailand.

The room we had did smell and no matter what we did there were always 2-3 mosquitoes buzzing around. How do they get in?! Room was ok though, spacious and clean.

The Cabana did, however, redeem itself with the New Year buffet/BBQ. I guess we had forked out £60 each, but the selection was truly fantastic. "Entertainment" was truly awful it has to be said.

We found the pool area to be decent, definitely could do with a few more loungers and the bar food is overpriced and not great. We ordered a salad and it was basically a plate of pasta which my girlfriend couldn't eat (gluten). I did enjoy spending the first day of January in a swimming pool, I didn't find it dirty as other reviews have suggested.

Phi Phi viewpoint is a must, it's a sweaty walk but totally worth it.

It seems that accomodation on Phi Phi is generally of a poor standard and despite my initial concerns about this hotel, I did enjoy my stay, albeit an expensive one for only 2 nights. Was New Year after all so no major complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TheAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Phi Phi Cabana is a couple minutes' walk from the boat and moments from the fabulous market and restaurants.

We booked 'deluxe' rooms so had expected something slightly more luxurious than the dingy rooms we had, one of which smelled of something we couldn't put our finger on, both had a tired bathrooms and minute balconies. We were told by the girls at reception that deluxe is their basic room so I guess there are probably better rooms to be had. Anyway, back to the girls on reception. The girls we dealt with were rude, bordering on aggressive when we politely queried the whereabouts of our booked third bed and whether the room size was adequate for a third bed, and seemed quite fed up generally. Hey ho, we were only there for a couple of nights.

The pool area is nice with easy access to the beach, and the view out to sea from the sunbeds is spectacularly stunning and makes surly girls pale into insignificance. Breakfast was good. There's quite a lot going on on the beach: banana boat, parascending, and lots of bars but all a little bit away from Cabana so doesn't intrude.

We recommend visiting the viewpoint at sunset. It's well worth the sweaty hike. Phi Phi is now known as a bit of a backpackers' island and the party which goes on every night at the other end of the beach to Cabana is loud but the a/c hum seemed to mask it so it didn't bother us too much and it does wind up at around 2am.

In a way, Phi Phi's beauty is its downfall. It's a tiny island with stunning views and turquoise waters which of course draw the crowds and during peak times it is very crowded.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieHerts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed there for 5 days this Christmas 2012. The location was great as it was very close to everything and the pool was nice too. The rooms were very dated and not particularly clean. We found a cockroach catcher/mouse (was too scared to investigate) under the sink in the bathroom. Apparently it is the best hotel on the Island, but I did feel it was quite pricey for what was on offer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Property: Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing