We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The resort was propably the best on phi phi island! The room was clean and overlooked the pool. The price I thought was abit over the top and complimentary breakfast was ordinary. But all and all I would stay there for abit more luxury on phi phi.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daneb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    414
    339
    156
    127
See reviews for
134
553
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have visited this hotel in 3 successive years, and find the position of the hotel the best you could ever come across.
It has a view from the pool of Ao Dalum, which in itself is a beautiful stunning natural view. But a two minute walk out od the front of the hotel takes you to the beast view ever, of Tonsai Bay and beach.
It is also a five minute walk to the shops, restaurants and bars (we strongly recommend DMC, hosted by Boy.and Ai, with a fantastic menu and the best strong cocktails, also Cosmic for good food)
The breakfast is also good, with excellent cooks at the omelette station.
The pool is amazing, very warm, brilliant views, with a diving section, but great to swim or relax in.
The rooms are fine, clean with good housekeepers.
The staff are friendly, well to us, but then again, we always say hello, please and thank you, and some guests could learn from that.
It is a very good hotel in an amazing location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paule738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were lucky and managed to get a wonderful top floor double room with the most incredible view anyone could ever imagine. It was like waking up in paradise all for a measly two hundred gbp per person for five nights with a (really good) buffet breakfast included.It was the end of our trip so we were prepared to pay a little more than we had been paying before however we also expected that the service i.e. the staff would also treat us a little better than the previous hostel owners had been treating us.The reception staff were extremely rude upon check out and ordered that we must wait for the cleaning staff to check the room as they wouldnt take our word for it when we said that everything was clean and left the way we found it . Nowadays it just isn't enough to have a beautiful hotel, superior customer service is of ultimate importance.

Room Tip: Top floors in the adjacent houses once you ve passed the pool. Don't get a room which is actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We'd lovely room facing the beach. Location is great as the pool overlooks the beach so we were able to sunbath by pool and swim in the sea. Rooms were very clean and lovely. The breakfast is buffet style with everything you could possibly imagine provided. It's in a very good location to restaurants and bars. Don't get caught up in the party life as you'll miss out on so much as there's lots to do and see. We stayed three nights on Phi Phi and regret we didn't stay longer. Bamboo Island is a must see.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing room as it faces the lagoon/beach rather than the ferry port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

the hotel is next to the pier. The beach behind the hotel is better. The room is okay. loving the pool and the view of the beach from the resort. The location is great because you can walk into the main area. love phi phi :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miwwmiwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

After a day trip to the Phi Phi Islands on our list trip to Thailand, we decided that we had to go back and stay there. You just can’t see enough on a day trip. We also decided that if we were going to have a look around, we didn’t want to stay in a resort type hotel away from Tonsai Village. The reviews on hotels were very mixed but decided to book the Cabana because of its location, thinking that we could put up with it for 3 nights. Once I had booked it, I stopped reading the reviews. Well, what a pleasant surprise when we arrived. First of all we were a bit worried about the boat transfer as the sea was quite rough. The boat turned out to be a large ferry and the trip was quite smooth. The ferry was full of day trippers as well as people staying on Phi Phi. Getting off the boat was a struggle with people trying to find their suitcases (ours was as the bottom) colliding with people trying to get off the ferry. People who took backpacks or light luggage were better off but we eventually got our case and walked off the gang plank. Other people going to resorts on other parts of the island were having to get onto speedboats with their luggage. As we walked up the wharf there was a young guy from the hotel holding a sign and he took our case up to the hotel. The Cabana is the only hotel as you turn left off the wharf. The village and other hotels are off to the right. We had requested a quiet room with a view. We were on the third floor but didn’t have to carry our own suitcase. It was quiet at night – the bed was a bit hard but we slept well. We were stunned when we opened the balcony door and saw the view – the pool below and the sea to the right – awesome. The room was large and comfortable. The plumbing in the bathroom wasn’t perfect but what do you expect on an island? The buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of choice served on an outdoor terrace overlooking the sea. The staff at reception were always pleasant and helpful. We went on a long-tail boat to Maya beach for a few hours and had planned to do more trips but only had one day left and decided that as the view was so beautiful from the hotel, why bother getting on a boat somewhere else? So we lay on a sunbed all day with the most perfect view and went for a walk along the beach at the end of the day. Tonsai village is quite large with plenty of choice of restaurants, and also European style cafes and bakeries which you don’t find in Patong. At night we saw people coming into the village in the dark on a long-tail boat and having to climb out into the water and didn’t envy them. The viewpoint is definitely not to be missed but quite a steep hike. Our only regret was that we had to leave. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here in July (low-season) for 2 nights in 5 rooms (group of 9 people). The hotel is definitely not a 4-star hotel, rooms are really dirty, really old and worn out decor, air-con didn't blow cold air, sheets were stained with blood, the bathroom is disgusting, shower doors were completely broken and weren't fixed the day after we arrived. Staff members barely speak English, if anything at all. On top of that, they were just rude, not helpful and had a mean attitude towards guests. They didn't even allow us to get a second key...
Breakfast was regular: wide choice of things, both Thai and Western style, but everything was uncarefully displayed and kept in bad conditions, there were flies and bugs all around the food.
All in all, I was extremely disappointed, Cabana just didn't live up to our expectations and I wouldn't come back or recommend it to anyone. The only good thing about it is its location right next to the pier, but don't expect a 4-star service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Property: Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing