We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The pool was great during the as you had a beautiful view of the ocean. Other than that I found the bathroom extremely small, the evenings might be a bit loud (but that's only because you came in too early!!).On the up side the rooms were beautiful, the view from the minute balcony was ok but the island has a buzz when the sun sets and it's contagious. We found great restaurants close to the hotel and enjoyed the beach when the tide was low.

Room Tip: If you're om Phi Phi for the party you're in the right place. Looking for something more tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gawie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

I'm not a sourface or hypercrytical but how anybody could put a 10 to this crap.
We've been living in Thailand (Phuket) for over 2 yrs & travelling a lot (paying 300-5500 bt a night) & this is the only hotel I hated!
We booked Cabana for my birthday & what a disappointment!Absolutely not worth the money, even the promo price is way too big for the quality (actually no quality) we got.
And they are cheaters! They asked an extra 1000 baht on reception saying that the room we'd booked was single knowing we had nothing to do but pay.
And that's only the beginning. Of course no smiles,no help with our bags offered.Reception girl - rude.
The room looks like a 1000-1500 bt one with black spots on the walls,arm-chairs,dust&dirt old-fashioned TV,ugly,small&outdated bathroom and low quality bathing staff, faded towels.
The pool is not blue as on the website but green since it has not been properly cleaned for ages so that the tiles on the pool floor were covered with algae!
The filter bars around the pool are yellow since they seem to have never been changed either.
The sunchairs are of different color (!) and worn out and dirty. They don't even care to simply paint them same color (it's so cheap!) or at least separate them to brown and black and put on other sides of the pool. The area is quite dirty.
The staff. Once the pool man saw a hint of rain he told us to get out of the pool.One guy promised him to get out in 5 min as soon as his wife brings him the towel, but the pool man started splashing chemicals into the water right by the man not minding he was still there.
The pool is oficially open till 7 p.m.and it was about 6 p.m.

The territory hasn't seen either a gardener or a cleaner for a long time. Trees not cut.Uncovered blue tubes seen everywhere along with trash stuck in the trees and on the ground. The tiles on the trails leading through the garden are broken.
As you go to the restaurant where breakfast is served you can see that the tiles on the floor are gone, where they are now or who did this is a mistery.
If you expect a nice beach you are misleaded too. The beach area is not cleaned either, the water and the sand are not clear. The beach area is divided from the hotel area by a bibed wire! very nice and smart and of course very luxury solution of the problem.
The hotel itself is begging for repainting, the look of some parts of it can make its residents cry. And the smell & the noise from airconditioners or whatever stuff working in the part of the hotel facing the other beach where the port is located is disgusting.
The noise from the bars can be easily heard in the room all night long to say nothing about the pool area. The disco noise is topped by the noise from the upper room as if the ceiling and the walls were made of paper.
And still I hoped that at least breakfast will be good. We came at 9.30 and here one more disappointment.
The variety and the freshness of food served is very disputable. You can choose either noodles or fried rice (no seafood in it surely! just some vegetable leftovers).
No omelette, just boiled egg (one!). If you want to have a boiled egg come early since they won't boil or fry anything for you.
No fresh coffee, fruits not covered with flies sitting on it, baked items seem not fresh, probably the leftovers from yesterday's breakfast.
The ham they serve has already changed its color and turned into white one, looking obviously not fresh.
And the last thing that made me mad is that they started packing all food up notwithstanding that one hour was left till the end of breakfast!
Staff started packing things around us obviously hinting that it's high time for us to finish...

So the conclusion is: the only positive thing is the view from the pool and the location close to the pier and nightlife. The view from our room was nice.
But for the money you pay for the night in this crap you can take a 24-hour prive taxi boat and get to the nightlife from whatever part of the island.
I would rather stay in a Maya beach camping overnight than here.

Room Tip: Run from this hotel! Don't believe the pictures on their website! If by any reason you booked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in February 2012 for 6 nights with my mother and other 2 friends. We had 2 connecting rooms, they were huge with a nice balcony with sea view. The pool is wonderful, huge, with a awesome view of the sea. However, the beach right in front of the hotel is not very big, especially because of the tide. With high tide, there's almost no beach. On the other hand, the sea is very beautiful and there are a lot of boats that leave from there to other beaches and they're very cheap.
Breakfast was not bad but if you're italian like me it's difficult to find many things that you like because there are a lot of sault things that usually english and american people like.
The wifi is not free and it's quite expensive.
But the biggest problem I got in this hotel was the noise. In fact, it is situated on the same beach where every night there are parties, and you can't sleep because of the loud music!!

I would recomend this hotel to young people who want to party, or you can ask for a room far from that beach.

Room Tip: Far from the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gipsyqueen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have a wonderful view from the window... But I am very disappointed with the swimmingpool. You can't relax at the pool after 7pm... And all the lights are off. I've tried but the security guard showed me the piles of chlorine on the bottom and that made me terminate the pool rather quickly. The island itself is great, people friendly and the weather's great. The hotel is fine, the bay view is probably the best part of it though.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Justyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Spent 2 nights here and was glad to leave. Food was bad and the rooms were really dated. Good pool but water was murky and needed to be cleaned. No way this place is 4 star, I would think it's a stretch to even say 2 star. You are paying for the location here which is fine, just say it as it is so people don't have false expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

OK: I'll admit to being blissfully ignorant of what to expect at Phi Phi but I had absolutely no idea Phi Phi was so.... crazy! We arrived at Phi Phi for the last 3 nights of our holiday in Thailand after hearing how amazing, beautiful and relaxing it is. I had read reviews about the noise coming from the dance parties so had changed hotels and requested to be in a quieter area. I don't expect 5 star but the rooms were outdated; the bed rock hard and the bathroom was grotty. The hotel is at the other end of the beach from all the bars BUT as a light sleeper, the noise still kept me awake till about 3am. Not a good start. The buffet breakfast was pretty ordinary and the staff appeared to have lost the will to live, let alone help / smile which was so far removed from our Thai experiences elsewhere. The upsides: the view from the room was spectacular, and the pool which overlooks the beach is absolutely fabulous but it wasn't enough to save me from forfeiting the last night's accommodation and leaving a day early.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holmesy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed March 2012. This hotel is very close to the main ferry port so there is little hassle getting to it although the junk stalls on the way are quite a shock (so many!!!). Set in nice gardens it has a very big pool and its own stretch of beach. The pool is very warm (over 30C), the babies end is like a bath (?35C), so it’s not a great surprise that it looks grubby which is algae - well you go in the sea don’t you, so why be worried about this? (See Other Reviews) That being said they should try to sort it out!

The room was fairly small after out Lanta palace, but functional. The decor is very dated now with wood and furnishings, retro electrics and green carpet – very early 90s motel!!! We had a great view over the pool and the amazing turquoise sea! Main winge is the air conditioning which was poor and goes off every time you leave the room which would be fine if it made up for this when you arrived back – but it doesn’t and Phiu Phi is hot! Bed is ok but firm. Another winge is Wifi, - we just wanted 24h to check emails etc, and paid B600 (expensive compared with others). Problem - could only connect one item ever… unable to connect others again, so no multiple iPhones or laptops. Pretty poor for price – if you don’t want the internet at all – fine…

All of the above into account – I would stay in this hotel again as it’s convenient and far enough away from the 24/7 loud beach bars to get a decent night’s sleep! But it is a little expensive all things considered…


Summary

Pros

Rooms overlooking the sea have amazing views! Far enough up the beach to be less loud at night and secluded from hassles and touts. Very close to ferry and on other side you can’t hear the busy port. Pool very warm! Hotel Thai food nice – great Larb Gai…

Cons

Aircon in room poor. Rooms dated 80-90s (bearable though). Wifi - expensive & rubbish (see above) 600B. Pool is grubby its bottom (see above).

Room Tip: Looking over the pool (but make sure it doesn't face towards the noisy end of the beach)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Harbour View Hotel
Phi Phi Harbour View Hotel
#21 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,512 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $121 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing