We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly romantic, luxurious destination, one that shouldn't be missed!!!!”
Review of Zeavola Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zeavola Resort
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2010

This was our 2nd trip to Zeavola as our experience last year in Feb 2009 was so wonderful for 5 nights, we decided to go back this year in Feb 2010 for NINE nights.
We've just arrived home yesterday, and really miss Zeavola, the amazing staff, that went out of their way to welcome us back, their friendly, beautiful nature towards us, and making our stay PERFECT and the romantic, elegant, and beautiful tropical hotel experience!
Zeavola is the experience every couple should have at least once together - an extremely romantic, elegant hotel set amongst a beautiful white sandy beach and tropical gardens, clear starry nights, balmy evenings, delicious food, friendly staff that respect your privacy but who also bend over backwards to make your stay perfect, palm trees, aqua clear water and beanbag lounges to lay on the beach and laze the days away..... what with a a gypsy village down the beach to go to for a change, plus Zeavola's excellent restaurants right under your nose, it's all just a perfect setting. Not forgetting staying at the hotel's open rural Thai villas, ( each with an open-air room, but with well air-conditioned bedrooms that are private, comfortable, relaxing with every detail thought of.
We loved Zeavola and are already planning our third trip back in Feb 2011.

We've stayed at many 4* and 5* hotels in Asia, the US, Europe, and Australia and by far, Zeavola has a point of difference.
It's amazing because it's part of the natural surrounds, but in a way that is comfortable and beautiful and luxurious and very, very different. And it's extremely romantic.

Yes you're barefoot most of the week, and there is a relaxed atmosphere, but you're dining under the stars on balmy nights, eating 4.5* food and sipping cocktails in the sand with the waves gently lapping up right next to you, candlight and lanterns surround you, and it's just a short stroll back to your villa through sandy paths amidst manicured, natural gardens with hermit crabs passing you and birds chirping.
Yes, there's mosquitoes, but they're everywhere in Thailand!
Yes, there's boats passing by on the beach all day, but they're mostly from the hotel next door, and not to Zeavola's detriment, and they do take guests to other islands and day tours, so the longboats and speedboats are essential.
We've read the other reviews on Zeavola, and we just wanted to say that we can't recommend enough that any couple (whether on honeymoon or on holidays or just wanting to get away), should DEFINITELY stay at Zeavola.
It just has an essence of relaxation, tranquility, beauty and privacy that we love, and therefore definitely recommend everyone to have the Zeavola experience.
The staff, (who some have become our friends), have bent over backwards to make our second stay at Zeavola so special, extraordinary infact, and we can't WAIT to go back!
Thankyou for a fantastic holiday Zeavola Family!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodlesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

I should have believed all the bad critics about the Zeavola, I really invite you to avoid this hotel.
The good aspects are the rooms designs and ... ?
Well the bad aspects :
Staff service is inefficient, restaurant staff day dream, you constantly have to remind them your request
My check out invoice had to be done 3 times
My room was not tidied up at 2pm.
Spa a disaster, caused me headaques for several days
The hotel is very noisy due to an electric generator I believe
You are surrounded by on over marketing and additional services offering, as you were on holidays in an advert
Zeavola's motto is Welcome to Paradise but it not your paradise it is the Mosquitoes' one so that you cannot enjoy the garden and terrace a pitty for rooms designed around a garden and a terrace. Forgot to say the hotel does not provide spray.

For all these reasons I believe the Zeavola does not deserve to be considered as a luxuary resort and a 5 stars. If you look for a resort or a relax place to stay you can find much better than Zeavola In Thailand and for sure for a better value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FxG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We went to Thailand to celebrate my wifes birthday,(big 50),and arrived at Zeavola after 3 nights in Bangkok for a beach holiday, and we too got stuck on a quayside for 4 hours waiting for the hotel speedboat, annoying as we were assured private transfers for all of our holiday (14 nights), but thats to be taken up with our travel agent and we could have gotten a later flight from Bangkok to save waiting around! A few other couples also had to wait as well.
Arriving at Zeavola for 8 nights we were greeted by friendly staff and a welcome drink, had photo taken (nice souvenier) and shown to our accomodation-the villa was right next to the water purification plant, and although the hotel is eco friendly by reusing waste water to feed plants etc., the noise was annoying,no good if you wanted to relax and read on the veranda which was the outdoor living area. We asked to change villas as there was no way we were staying in villa 21, which also smelt damp, and after a short time transfered to villa 13, which was a lot quieter over the other side-I did get the impression the first villa was the 'overflow' one.
On the beach ataround 4p.m, the tide was out so swimming was not possible, but we noticed also later in Phuket(Cape Panwar),the tide was only in on the morning, but we were still able to swim a little further out. The hotel does not have a private beach, only a large area in front- other hotels using tractors as guest transport frequently use the beach shoreline, along with mopeds going to the nearby sea gypsy village, so any ideas of a quiet beach were quoshed.
After breakfast which was very good, we went to the beach and were disapointed to find the majority of the sun loungers(bean bags)were taken, and after speaking to other guests were told to arrive on the beach early and put towels on the sunloungers! You dont come to a 5* hotel and expect to get up early to reserve places, maybe if it was Lanzarote 2* I would understand! The manager Derek was extremely helpful, and offered to reserve the same place everyday for us(towels on sunbeds!) and did say that the hotel would do this for any guest that asked-we noticed a lot more reserved towels on the beach from then on! I do think there should be a lot more loungers availible for when the beach gets really busy from 2 p.m onwards when day trippers arrived from other islands and used Zeavolas sunbeds freely, especially the ones outside the beach bar/restruant.
Dining out was good, Zeavola has a relaxed attitude to dinner, the mosquitos arent fussy either! After the Datai in Langkawi,another 5* hotel,it was a bit surprising that a dress code wasnt asked for, so if you do go here ladies, dont pack a suitcase full of nice dresses and shoes, gents dont need shirts,long trousers and closed in shoes as in a lot of similar starred resorts, as I said, relaxed is the word. Food was superb,the Thai curries were especially good and a credit to the chefs there. The waiting staff are extremely helpful, the only downside was the cost of the wine, at around £30 a bottle similar to Bangkok prices. Eating on the beach was much nicer than the resturant and the menus although different in either location could be 'mixed and matched' according to taste.
We went on a few trips, and can recommend the island hopping trip which takes in the location used in the film The Beach, fantastic snorkelling in Maya Bay, loads of sea life there,(underwater camera needed),and bags of fun trying to get back into your longboat! Definately being younger helps here. A trip well worth doing is the 'one day in paradise' excursion, which includes lunch on a beach with champagne and a well stocked cooler box with plenty of water, coke and beer, a 1 hour body massage when you return and private dinner on the beach later on rounds off a good day on Phi Phi. The sunset cruise is also good, watching the sun set whilst drinking champagne was memorable and some great photos taken.(thanks for the recomendation, Chef Tony!).
Our trip to Phi Phi and Zeavola got off to a bit of a shaky start, but after a few days we settled into the atmosphere and really enjoyed our stay here, but we made a few recomendations to Derek about various things that guests would enjoy to make their stay memorable, cold towels and fruit served on the beach in the heat of the afternoon being one, and were pleased to see that he took our suggestion on board and there were lots of grateful guests and kiddies on the beach who appreciated this gesture. Nice one Derek, keep up the good work!
I feel there are a few more things that Zeavola could do to raise its standard up to similar hotels in the price range, but I would read trip advisor to get a full spectrum of views, not quite the paradise you'd expect for your money, but with a little work Zeavola could be quite good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasterLoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We went to Thailand to get married and choose Zeavola for our honeymoon after reading all the fantastic reviews on trip advisor. We choose the private speedboat option which was great ( although we arrived in Phuket at 9am and had to wait at the marina for 4 hours and there is nothing to do at the marina) We were very pleased with the location of the hotel and the welcome. Our room was lovely with all ammenities. The bedroom is enclosed whilst the living area and bathroom are in the open air which we really liked. The mosquitos were relentless. I think this is a problem in Phi Phi in general because we stayed on the beach in Koh Samui the previous week and only had a few bites whereas in phi phi we were covered. I think the hotel are doing all they can by providing complimentart mozzie wipes, an electronic zapper, room coils plus they fumigate the grounds twice a week. The beach was a few steps away from our room and there were always beds available for us to lie on, however as it seems is the norm these days some guests do sneak down to the beach at 6am and 'reserve' their beds but never seem to materialise to use them!! Throughout the day day trippers arrive for lunch at the hotel next door and the fumes from the speedboats can be irritating. The breakfast was really good however we ate in the beachfront restaurant one evening and were disapointed to be served rolls that had been warmed for too long in the microwave! The actual food was very good though. We also ate at 'Jasmin 'by the sea gypsy village which cost peanuts compared to the hotel. Lastly, the staff., Apart from our welcome host on the first day, not one member of staff attempted to engage in any conversation with us, no mention was made of our honeymoon ( and they did know we were on our honeymoon ), and in general we felt invisible. It wasn't that we wanted them to talk to us all day long but they definatly were not friendly to us. I did tell them this when we checked out and they did email us a polite reply. We paid £250 a night to stay here and expected an amazing experience and wanted to be treated as special as it was our honeymoon. Unfortunatly Zeavola didn'y meet our expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

When one goes to Phi Phi Don island, one surely knows what to expect .. i.e. that you will probably, bar any excursions, spend most of your time at the resort you booked.

In this respect, Zeavola is a lovely place ... super warm welcome and impeccable service on arrival including boat transfer from Krabi (paid for) and also from Phi Phi to Phuket (in our case) and this included the minibus transfer to our hotel in Phuket (nice touch).

Food is great ... really great ... well done Chef Tony! However on the downside, the place is FULL of mosquitos, the type that leave you itching for 3-4 days if not treated well ... the fact that the hotel staff "fumigate" the place twice a week is quite a tell tale sign of how serious the problem is .... if you go well prepared (and this includes making sure you keep your room closed AT ALL TIMES) then you'll be fine but beware if taking young kids since these insects really bite!!! Otherwise we had a great time ... pity about the bites which we carried with us all holiday (almost!)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisfen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

One of the best rooms we've ever stayed in. such a relaxed and pleasurable vibe to the place. Staff were some of the most helpful and friendliest we encountered throughout Thailand. expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nath82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Staff go out of their way to make your stay a unique experience...and for us it really was. The hotel consists of villas in typical Thai style, in a more remote part of the island that you access by speedboat (only 1hr from Phuket). There is a diving centre in the hotel which organises half-day trips out, snorkelling trips, scuba diving.... Also amazing spa facilities.
The website doesn't do it justice, the rooms are impeccably clean, the entire resort is extremely well run. Don't miss this unique experience!
Beautiful beach and very romantic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonPhilippine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
3.9 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeavola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeavola Resort

Address: 11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $207 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zeavola Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zeavola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeavola Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Zeavola Hotel Krabi
Zeavola Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing