We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of Zeavola Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zeavola Resort
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent three nights at this amazing resort, on the beach of koh phi phi, in one of the Garden suites. The villa itself provides a perfect degree of privacy and peace. We recommend on leaving your shoes, your phones and wallets in your room and just feel like a little boy, free of care. Wake up, go barefoot to the breakfast zone, then continue to the beach, order some drink as you lie down in the sun (again, no wallets, just say your room number).

The entire staff - maids, waiters, receptionists, information givers - were no less than amazing. So friendly, kind and helpful. The arrival and departure were totally organized by the Zeavola team, and worked like a charm.

We had two treatments at the local spa, simultaneously, which were very luxurious experience. We also went for snorkeling in Bamboo island and it was breath taking. Don't hesitate to consult Jen from the diving center about the right excursion for you. She has a perfect English and has great tips.

We found the food in the local restaurant very good and at the right combination of local cuisine and western taste. For those who wants really hardcore thai food it may be a bit disappointing but for us it was just perfect.

And one more thing: although it may seem as a waste of time in such a place - make sure to visit the pool. It is so fun!

Summarizing, we enjoyed every minute. No need to think too much. Go there and you will not regret it!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the garden suite very much (villa 22). We know there are more isolated and fancy villas b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Barak P,
What a lovely description of your experience at the Zeavola Resort. I'm convinced that your kind friendliness also motivated the Zeavola Staff to be extra friendly, this is just how it works with the Thai People. We are glad that you enjoyed your excursions, thank you for your kind words about Jenny who is the manager of the dive and activity center.

We are getting a lot of good comments about the spa, but more important is that our guests really enjoy their time there. The Ladies of the Spa are trying very hard to relax our guests.

We are wishing you a peaceful, healthy and successful year 2014 and would love to welcome you back.
FLorian and the Zeavola Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    348
    143
    76
    65
See reviews for
195
1,196
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

First off, hotel rooms are in a lovely tree-like setting. The service and beach area however needs a considerable look at improvement. The serene tree top setting was interrupted frequently by the construction of near by hotels and the arrival from the long tail had me close to tears , it included a dusty gravel walkway , not the best impression.
It turned out to be one of the most expensive rooms of our 2 week stay in Thailand and sadly the least overall score.
David

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear David G.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your impressions from the Zeavola Resort. I personally regret that you had a negative experience. I understand that the neighboring resort did conducted some construction work and that sometimes the noise was disturbing. We are sorry for that but it is very difficult to control the neighboring resorts.

The long tail boats are sometimes loud but they are the local transportation solution and this needs to be understood as part of our beach life.

The Zeavola prides itself to provide barefoot luxury and every year we are refilling our walk ways with the finest low season sand from the beach. So our walkways are sand filled not gravel filled. In January the resort experienced very strong wind and it could be that some of the walkways were bared. But this is already fixed and our guests enjoy walking barefoot for their entire vacation.

We wish you a healthy, successful and peaceful 2014,
Florian and the Zeavola Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My partner and I spent 03 nights at the Zeavola of the 09 nights that we stayed throughout various parts of Thailand in December 2013. After experiencing the resort, we were both very disappointed we had not arranged a longer stay here. We are in our early 30’s and live very busy business lives. He and I are both refined people and have a taste for the finer things in life, however we have an appetite for that balance of fun, excitement and adventure; the Zeovola delivered on all levels. The Zeovola is a 5 star superior experience with a perfect synthesis of Thai authenticity. The Staffs, Food, Drinks, Accommodation, View- the entire ambiance of the resort is picture-perfect.

Florian, the resort manager is very personable; he took the time to introduce himself and check up on us regularly to make certain our stay was everything we hoped for.

Breakfast was included with our stay. It was a good combination of local and foreign options. We ate all of our lunches and dinners on the resort as well. My partner and I truly enjoy spicy, flavorful and cultured foods - which is what most of our choices were. For one lunch we had your basic Hamburger & French fries. We tried each the different restaurant and bars situated on the resort and each time different picks off the menus; of the 9 meals we ate during our stay at the Zeovola, not a single meal were we dissatisfied with. The food is superb! It was always kept at a good temperature, presentable and brought to us in a timely fashion.

The private glass enclosed bungalow surround by vegetation was ever so Restful and Romantic. The beds were comfortable, the bedroom and bathrooms were clean and spacious. We particularly liked the lounge area. The Thai floor cushions are extremely comfy!!!!

We enjoyed a spa treatment which without a doubt was the BEST either of us has ever experienced. It was “what a real massage treatment is supposed to feel like” is how my partner described it.

We did a day trip to the surrounding Island. The staffs were very helpful in arranging that for us.

Uninterrupted Wi-Fi service throughout the resort and on the beach was a nice added bonus for us. To be able to share highlights of our expedition and that gorgeous scenery with family, friends and colleges back home was much appreciated.

In regards to mosquitos, as with many warmer climates, you will find mosquitos a nuisance, not just at The Zeavola, Koh Phi Phi or Thailand, but many warm places. So come prepared with repellant- small problem solved! ;)

The costs of these accommodations were much less than we expected on our final bill. The stay here is more than it is in other parts of Thailand, but the barefoot, lavish experience in unrivalled.

Bottom Line, if you’re looking for Thai hospitality in an exquisite setting of white sands and turquoise waters, if you are looking to gain a sense of relaxation yet still have adventure within hands reach, if you are looking to reconnect and romance with your lover, we HIGHLY recommend this resort- It is perfectly balanced to facilitate a wide array preferences. We have already encouraged our family and friends to stay here if/when visiting the luxurious Island of Koh Phi Phi, Thailand.

We are both travellers/vacationers and in combination have visited almost all regions of the planet. This Island and resort is one of our favorites thus far.

You will not be disappointed on any level, we weren’t.

Reisha Dass- Toronto, Ontario and Christopher Jackson- Vancouver, BC

Canada

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReishaDass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice, charming, romantic. Ok. But it is also very remote from everything. Plus, the wifi is total crap, you cannot get a decent connexion for more than 3 minutes. I would like to add that the breakfast does not match the standards for a 5* hotel (not at all) and that the staff speaks a very poor English. Quite disappointed in the end. We were expecting more.
PS: Cleaning people enter rooms while the "Do not disturb" flag is on. Nice.
PS2: If you want to have decent food at a correct price, just walk down the beach to Sawasdee or Jasmin restaurants. Don't waste your money at the hotel's restaurants that are overpriced and of poor quality.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

So we stayed here as it was rated number 1 on this site. We didn't stay anywhere else on Phi Phi so we cant compare it with its competitors, but we are pretty convinced that this hotel doesn't not deserve the praise it has received.

We booked a private transfer by speedboat from Koh Lanta directly to the hotel. It was very expensive (18,500 THB) and very badly organised. It should have been a luxury experience for the price and it ended up being a headache. For all the inconvenience it caused the hotel reduced the price of the transfer by a measly 500THB. Not a good start.

When we checked in and asked what there was to do locally, we were shocked by the receptionists reply. She told us that there was no where to eat other than the hotel restaurant and that to get to anywhere other than the small beach where the hotel was located, we would have to take a long boat to the main town at a huge cost of 2500THB (with extra for every hour waiting while in the town). None of this was explained on the hotel website. To our surprise, after exploring the beach, there was in fact a a little local restaurant that was a third of the price of the hotel restaurant and the food was just as good. This made us feel like the check in lady was not being helpful or honest. She also on check continuously tried to sell us over-priced excursions. Not a high level of customer service.

The room, spa and pool (albeit small) were all incredible. It was really clean and the attention to design detail was outstanding. The massages we had in the spa were as in any hotel spa far more expensive than you could get on the beach, however they were the best massages we had ever had. The food and cocktails were also very good.

We did a Thai cooking class which was really fun and well oraganised. The instructor chef was lovely and the whole experience was very engaging and informative. Highly recommend it.

What we didn't know and were not warned about Koh Phi Phi in general, is that it's a serious haven for scary wildlife! I stumbled upon a large colourful snake just hanging out after breakfast. It scared the bejesus out of me. Supposedly it wasn't poisonous to humans but it did open our eyes to the fact that there are very poisonous snakes on the island. We also encountered a black tip reef shark in the shallow waters of the hotel beach...scary. In our newly acquired fear of our supposedly luxury surroundings we began to google. Supposedly the island had been surrounded by jelly fish including deadly box jelly fish. FML. We saw 2. At this point we decided that even though the hotel was beautiful and the beach was straight out of a fairytale, the stay on Koh Phi Phi wasn't worth dying for. We cut our stay on the island short.

I am sure most islands in Thailand are riddled with dangerous marine and land wildlife, but the issue we had with Zeolola was that there were no warnings or instructions. The uninformative and state of denial that exuded from the staff really let this hotel down. It could be wonderful if they take a leap of faith in honesty.

Even though it has it's faults, this hotel is still magical, it's in the jungle on a mesmerising beach and the rooms are insanely beautiful.

P.S. Best beach beanbags in the world

P.P.S. Mkae sure you have 90% DEET...the mosquitos are plentiful and ravenous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CURBYOURLARRYDAVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We're still thinking wistfully of Zeavola having left a few days ago.

It was with trepidation I went back to phi phi for my partner's 40th as I wasn't keen on the island first time round not least as I couldn't find a hotel I liked. I needn't have worried.

For is Zeavola was the perfect mix of 5 star service with local, barefoot style. We literally did not wear shoes the entire time we were there. Heaven.

We arrived by the public Andaman Wavemaster direct to Laem Tong Bay realising a didn't actually know where the hotel was. However the amazing service started on the boat a member of staff was aboard (despite us not telling the hotel when we were arriving) to make sure our luggage was stored correctly and also unload for is at the dock. We walked 4 metres to the back gate and we were there.


Rooms are simply stunning. Each is an individual bungalow. Glass encased bedroom. Good size with excellent air con. Great Tv with what seemed like constant movies on tap. Huge comfortable bed- firm but that's always the case in Thailand.

Room was full of quirky, original decorations and touches.

Outside lounge is open air but with remote controlled raffia blinds. There's both inside and outdoor showers. And also sinks. We loved the outdoor ones. Not something you get on most rooms. Good minibar which they can personalise for you on request. Hotel took great care to help with Mosquitos- giving both a large insect killing lamp and a tennis racquet style tool. My advice is put in the machine in the bedroom to kill any that sneak on at night and try to keep the doors closed. We were fine and I normally get bitten really badly.

Restaurant was amazing. Both the casual beachside one and the main one. The buffets are great value. Both the seafood one and the Thai one were the best food we are on the trip. My only gripe being the sav blanc ran out!

Aside from that we also booked a private speedboats your through Jenny (thanks for the excellent service Jenny). We were taken on a snorkelling tour by the lovely Jambo. He really is a credit to Zeovola- knowledgeable, fun and ever smiling. He turned my snorkelling novice other half into a pro over the course of a day. Just a lovely guy to spend that day with. Lunch was delicious- had no idea pad Thai cold could taste that good.

Special mention to the spa for best Thai massage we had on our trip. Clearly it costs more but it certainly was worth it. Felt totally invigorated afterwards and eased out any aches and pains from the journey. Voucher with 30% discount makes the cost more acceptable.

Breakfast was also excellent - great choice and excellent coffee-my only gripe was that all egg options were extra. I like an omelette and fruit and if was a shame I had to pay extra for that each day.

Overall then a massive thank you to everyone on the team. We saw some young staff being trained while we were there and it's clear this meticulous training has paid off.

Congratulations to the whole team on creating something so special.


P.s just wanted to say the beach location is beautiful, yes a few boats turn up with people having lunch but the area in front of the hotel is cordoned off and they don't come into Zeovola so it really doesn't affect you and gives you a bit of people watching mid day which is fun.


DONT HESITATE BOOK NOW!


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We took a long tail boat to the resort and the bellboy managed our luggage for us. We were greeted in reception with a cold drink and flannel which was much appreciated. The rooms are beautiful and quirky with beautiful furnishings. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times and we were invited for cocktails in the reception area one evening. The manager was present and made a point of chatting to guests. The restaurant was ok but cheaper just as good food can be found a short walk down the beach. The beach isn't the best but the resort is in a quiet area of Phi Phi which makes up for this. We walked from the resort to Tonsai Beach which involved some jungle trekking, it took two hours but was fine. We took a long tail back to Zeavola. We would probably not visit Phi Phi again but would recommend staying here to others passing through. The worst thing about this resort are the mosquitos so make sure you take decent repellent, I found some with 95% deet which did the trick!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
3.7 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
821 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
3.9 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,390 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeavola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeavola Resort

Property: Zeavola Resort
Address: 11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Koh Phi Phi | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zeavola Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeavola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeavola Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Zeavola Hotel Krabi
Zeavola Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing