We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zeavola - Stunning!”
Review of Zeavola Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zeavola Resort
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Zeavola - Stunning!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Zeavola is everything it claims to be and more. The staff are more than friendly and can't do enough for you. The food at the resturant was exellent, some may find it a bit pricy but there are plenty of cheaper options along the beach if you want to go cheaper but you'll need cash. There is also a small shop down the beach where you can get snacks and loose beers and spirits that are really cheap. Our beach front villa (No.51) was the best spot to be in, just a few meters from the sea. The snorkelling just off the rocks over a huge reef was amazing. The beach is a little busy with boats in and out but not so much that it would spoil the feel of the place. There is no ATM on this part of the island, you would need to take a long boat to Tonsai town to draw money, so bring with you. There are plenty of boat trips offered daily to the various attractions and well worth the money. They also provide snorkels, masks and fins for snorkelling, as well as canoe's if you want to expore the bay. The Spa is wonderful, very proffessional and the treatments are amazing. There is a small boutique shop with bits and pieces but a must is the underwater camera's at just 800thb, you'll definetly want one if your snorkelling!
Just a tip for your return journey...the boat leaves Zeavola at 11am, so depending on your flight from Phuket airport you maybe in for a long wait. Zeavola's taxi driver does offer to take you sight seeing or to the mall for last minute shopping and lunch etc but you have to pay him extra, about 300tbt an hour, so you will need cash with you, you can get at the ATM at the marina when you arrive. We had a truly wonderful experience with nothing to complain about! Its barefoot luxury for sure!

Room Tip: Villa 51 is right on the beach but you may be disturbed early by boat activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiLoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    350
    144
    76
    65
See reviews for
200
1,207
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We spent the third week of our honeymoon here and had a senseational time! The best and most relaxing beach setup we have ever experienced with huge mat, leaning cushion, enormous bean bag, giant towel to sit on top and umbrella set up for you if desired. Sipping watermelon juice and knocking back beers in such comfort was incredible. Have never been more relaxed in my life.
Rooms were unique and had character. Great but not amazing... Beware bugs and mosquitoes - is a junglish retreat after all. (The electric swatter was well used). Room service was wonderful and breakfast food and setting fab! Is a 20 min boat ride to town. But we were not phased as weren't really interested in busy town action. Great local restaurant (sea gypsy) was next door. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mella6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I went to the Zeavola with my wife and her family (their first trip to Thailand). Some would call this place "barefoot luxury" at its best. The hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the sea, with sand paths leading to most of the rooms. There are two sides to this hotel, the good is that the food is great, the beach (at high tide only) is lovely, and of course, boat rides abound to the natural beauty that is the Phi Phi islands. Unfortunately, the hotel is lacking in a few areas. We organized our transfer from Phuket airport through the hotel – when we arrived in Phuket only 20 minutes late, there was no one there to greet us. When I called the hotel to inquire about our pick-up, I was informed that our driver had apparently been waiting an hour and a half and then left. When a new driver finally came he dropped us off at the pier with no instruction of where to go. After wandering around for a bit we found our connection and finally took the ferry to the hotel.

The rooms are a cool mixture of indoor and outdoor space, but on the first night of our stay we had a four-foot snake as an additional guest (see attached picture)! Most of the afternoon of the first day there was so much traffic on the beach I felt like I was in a construction zone. Tractors race across to idling boats delivering supplies and equipment, nearly running over guests (Picture of this also attached). Very noisy boats continuously amble across the beach as the loading zone is right next to the hotel…

We arranged to have a private boat take us on a tour of all the cool things to see, but they messed it up and had us go in a group (despite charging us for the private tour). We canceled and got our private tour only after a lot of hassling. The beach is 100% unswimmable at low tide and there is an unpleasant fishy smell too.

When things are good they are great, and they are not they are terrible. Ultimately, you go to Phi Phi not for the hotel, but for the natural beauty of the area. Despite this being the most expensive hotel around, not totally sure its worth the extra cost…

Room Tip: Make sure to get something as high up on the hill as possible for extra privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Zeavola is very expensive, unnecessarily so.
Tip for anyone planning to stay here: there is NO ATM located in or even near the resort. I felt as though the resort capitalised on this and in some ways held guests to ransom to catch a long tail boat to Tonsai (nearest ATM) for 1,000THB - not cheap! Our villa was indoor and outdoor which may be loved by some people but when you effectively have to walk outside to use your own bathroom and dodge mosquito's, this is not enjoyable in my opinion. We arrived in a massive downpour so avoid wet season at all costs which will save you hundreds of insects, this made our stay depressing despite Phi Phi's beauty. Staff did not bring bags to our room despite numerous requests, stating "it is raining so will deliver when it stops... WHAT THE?"
We stayed for our honeymoon and were excited after previous reviews but upon arrival we were shuffled around like cattle and not even a mention of congratulations to my wife (which I thought may have been a nice touch).
I would recommend ensuring that you have booked a date outside rainy season booked in an enclosed room otherwise it will feel as though you are camping among the loud frogs that come out and don't stop croaking all night. I personally hated sleeping inside a mosquito net. HORRIBLE experience.
There are so many options on Phi Phi so research them all and ensure you have money with you when you catch the speedboat over. Eating at Jasmine's on the beach, just past the gypsy market store is a must, food was cheap and delicious. Have fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kreuz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good: Spacious bungalows (we had one of the only three beachfront bungalows). Good decor, though more style over functionality (no airconditioning vent in one of the two rooms of the bungalow, no mirror at the sink... how do people shave???, stylish small jugs with soap, shampoo that are difficult to use, thatched roofs that are perfect for the birds to leave large droppings over your open space outside the bedroom.) Lots of free bottled water left for you every day by housekeeping. Good spa services and staff in an average spa setup.

Bad: sand everywhere (the entire resort has sand on the walkways, no paved paths), slightly unhygenic feeling at the breakfast areas and for that matter, as a whole - when you are at the restaurants. Food is good but VERY overpriced for what is delivered. Dishes are not authentic Thai but more fusion, seemingly catering to the European clientele. Air conditioning in the room was temperamental - some days, worked perfectly while some days at the lowest setting of 17 degrees, it was warm. The resort is 7-8 years old and the corrosion on the metal fittings shows, thanks to the salty sea water and air around you. Our toilet roll holder was dangling on a single loose screw. There were no easily found plug points in your room.

Ugly: overpriced, terribly overpriced. Beach is rocky - small pebbles everwhere and easily noticed in low tide (but the water temperature and colors were beautiful and was not busy at all, contrary to other comments). Not enough service on the beach - a lone person was doing it all. They overcharge on boat transfers with their private speedboat service (5000 baht to get to Ton Sai Pier, where the main town exists... we went to check it out - the return journey by speedboat we got for just over 2000 without haggling for it, with a local boat.)

Bottom line: if money is no object, enjoy an interesting 2-3 day experience. If you are looking for a beautiful beach holiday for a week, this is not it!

Tips: Lovely restaurant with authentic Thai food, about 100m south of Zeavola, on the beach called Jasmin (Jasmine?) - excellent, excellent food and decent prices.

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront room - it feels lovely to walk out onto the beach directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reviewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The zeavola is beautiful without a doubt! no shoes required on this beach resort! all you need is your bathers and a lot of cash! All the staff spoke very good english so communicating what you needed was no issue. The villas were breath taking and we felt like we had our own tase of authentic Thai living. The bedroom is airconditioned and very spacious. I did find it a little over priced but this maybe due to the great location and transfere's that are needed to get to this great little spot. Overall I would recomend this perfectly suited for a short stay ( there is not too much to do other than swim, eat and sunbathe) but if that is what your looking for then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 241Trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

White sand lush and clear ocean great location, my only gripe was after staying at a few resorts around Phuket over a 3 week period was certain guests just do not respect other guests and the above normal loudness in which they talk is annoying to say the least this was somethibg that spoilt my stay I just do not understand the screaming required whist the person they are yelling to is right at ears length, I'm sure that I'm not the only person that noticed this.
Having said that its truly a well organized resort just a shame I could not relax as much as I would have liked.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joanne1031Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,284 reviews
3.7 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
826 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
3.3 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeavola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeavola Resort

Property: Zeavola Resort
Address: 11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zeavola Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeavola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeavola Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Zeavola Hotel Krabi
Zeavola Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing