We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful spot. Terrible service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
P.P. Erawan Palms Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beatiful spot. Terrible service.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

It started badly. We booked and paid a transfer from Phuket airport to the hotel and no one showed up. We had to call the hotel and waited for nearly one hour for the driver. Service is awful and the staff speaks terrible English. Well under the average speaker in Phi Phi. Location is beautiful but it's far and expensive to get to the village. Service is not good either. You just can't get a beer by the pool. Too expensive for the value. I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xisto65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    243
    135
    52
    40
See reviews for
62
355
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The staff here are so friendly and helpful! The location is great, right on the beachfront. The pool could use a bit of attention, but honestly why would you swim in a pool when the oceans right there?! The rooms are nice although a bit small and the floor in our bathroom was concrete but that didn't really bother us too much. The breakfast is fantastic with nearly everything you could want plus lovely views of the beach. We had dinner at the restaurant one night which was probably the best meal we had in Thailand however a bit more expensive than other places we were frequenting. The sea gypsey village next door also has great food for a bit cheaper. It's a bit of a mission to get up to Laem Tong beach, and we wish we knew about the ferry/shuttle which leaves from Tonsai Bay at scheduled times throughout the day for a fraction of the price for a longtail boat, which is what we ended up doing. (i.e 200 baht instead of 1000). We loved Laem Tong although it is very quiet. I think if we returned we would probably stay at Tonsai Bay, it's a very cool little village with lots to do and see - the problem being that the last ferry from Tonsai to Laem Tong is at 5oclock so you can't really hang around Tonsai into the evening. We did do the hike from Laem Tong to Tonsai which took around 2.5 - 3 hours with stops at viewpoints on the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonabrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in Erawan Palms for 3 nights from 18th November 2012.
We had travelled from Chiang Mai for close to 9 hours that day so we were tired when we arrived at the north of the island after the main stop in Ton Sai bay.

Boat taxis took us and our luggage to the beach which was a new, fun experience - never had our bags unloaded on the beach before!
The setting is beautiful, a quiet beach, and very relaxed.
We were greeted in reception with a soft drink, then taken to our room

My first impressions were not good, but they were influenced by how tired I was
Our room was in a block furthest from the beach (almost at the water on other side of the island). There was a lot of (noisy) building work going on next door.

As for the room itself, at first the decor seemed very pleasant.
Generally the room was badly designed and there was poor use of space.
We decide to make ourselves coffee but the 'kettle' took a while to figure out how to use and ages to boil.
There is very little storage space for clothes. There was a large 'drawer' full of
flip-flops near the door. They were emptied out straight away and I used it for my clothes.
The safe is one of those old ones where it's easy to 'break' it. We had to get someone from reception to fix it

As for the bathroom - the layout was bizarre!
The shower 'cubicle' took up half of the room, there was a bench about 2 metres away.
There were 2 shower heads on the wall, but only one was operational.
The window to the bathroom was half blocked off where some 're-furbishment' was unfinished.
It looks like someone had grand ideas for the re-design when they started the work, but it
was finished off (botched) by their alter ego, with a completely different plan!

The restaurant was ok - a beautiful setting outside on the beach near the water.
we only went there for dinner once. We were frightened off by a shouty waiter
who thought customers enjoyed having their orders repeated back to them at the top of his voice, with a crazy grin. We also sat too near the stage for dinner. We couldn't hear ourselves over the tuneless covers sung by some local guy. The Chinese group next to us loved him though.

The breakfast buffet was ok, except for the reappearance of the shouty waiter
There was an 'egg station' where you could get omelettes etc made as you wanted

Nice pool

We found a really good restaurant next door (run by a Thai woman and a Scot) where we had dinner every night after the first.

Being adventurous we decided to explore the island on foot. In hindsight we should have worn trainers. Having walked as far as Phi Phi village we found a sign saying Ton Sai bay was only 55 minutes away. Do not attempt this walk unless you are wearing trainers! The path gets progressively worse and ends up going through dense forest ('jungle').
My flip flops broke about halfway - fortunately we managed to 'buy' some more from a kind resident! Eventually we got to the pier at Ton Sai and a boat taxi (he couldn't believe we had walked across the island!) took us back for about 1000 baht.

We arranged a four hour trip to Koh Phi Phi Leh by boat taxi through the hotel.
That was fantastic, really good value, and the weather was perfect that day.
We went early to avoid the crowds (as we were advised by the staff) which were still considerable

We left at 6 last morning. As we left the room the heavens opened and it didn't stop raining the whole day. The staff were fantastic in keeping us (they gave us all macks) and our luggage dry on the journey from the beach to boat taxi and the ferry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
170 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

on arrival the greeting is fantastic.

they put us into a room that stunk but with in one hour they moved us.

the boat ride there is long but it was well worth it.

service and staff are great. recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This area of phi phi can be expensive and erawan is a step down from the surrounding resorts.

The rooms are very clean and large. The beach setting is incredible and a paradise we only ever dreamed about. It is far from the hustle of the main town of phi phi and would only suit couples or families. There is still enough restaurants on the beach to give you choice for a week.

The staff were great, faultless and a good show and buffet was put on for Christmas.

A paradise compared to phuket or krabi

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I read a lot of mixed reviews, so I didn't really know what to expect. When we arrived the grounds looked amazing and the staff was extremely friendly. They showed us to our room, 105, deluxe bungalow and it was great! It was right by the pool and had a nice little porch area for us to relax. The location is fantastic. Erawan is located on a different part of the island than where the partying takes place so it was nice and quite at night. The front desk was helpful in getting us a long tail boat to go to Bamboo Island, Mosquito Island, and Monkey Beach. There were also good shows put on along the beach. Fire show one night a little ways down, and boxing and dancing girls the second night. Beautiful beaches, not as clean as what I had imagined but it is high tourist season so a little trash is to be expected!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atracy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I confess that I booked this hotel because I'd left it late to book a trip to Phi Phi over Christmas and this was pretty much the only place that had rooms left. Going by the some of the negative comments in previous reviews I didn't have terribly high hopes about the trip, but I actually really enjoyed my time at Erawan Palms. I booked through Agoda and managed to get a superior bungalow, which I'd recommend. The room was spacious and clean, with a traditional Thai feel, silk cushions etc. The bed was decorated with flowers and 'towel sculptures' each evening, and home made cookies in a box made from palm tree leaves. There was a huge fridge, where we stored our Duty Free bottles and enjoyed pre dinner drinks each evening on the large, private verandah. Breakfast was ok but we ate all other meals in Jasmine cafe on the beach, about 200 meters long from the hotel. I highly recommend this cafe; delicious, cheap food in a beautiful setting and the small service charge is given to the local school. I booked our ferry transfer through the company recommended on the hotel website, called Andaman Waves. They also arranged for a car to meet us at the airport and drive us to the ferry terminal. It was very easily arranged and
the company gave me advice on connecting times for my return flight too. All in all, it was a really enjoyable trip. The beach is breathtakingly beautiful, the staff are helpful and the hotel, whilst nothing fancy, was all that we needed for a relaxing, low key holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatkinsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
3.6 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
818 reviews
2.8 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
624 reviews
2.7 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P.P. Erawan Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P.P. Erawan Palms Resort

Property: P.P. Erawan Palms Resort
Address: 45/9 Moo 8, Laemtong, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — P.P. Erawan Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your P.P. Erawan Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erawan Palms Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Erawan Palms Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing