We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what we expected”
Review of Bay View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bay View Resort
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Bay view resort

Very small beach with boats in - so you wouldn't really want to swim in the water. Very steep as many people have commented and despite being quite fit and active I wouldn't attempt to carry our cases to our room.
There is only free Internet in the reception area.
We booked a premium villa that was very basic so I'm glad we didn't get a lower category. The bed was very hard. You needed to have the air con on at 18 degrees for 20 minutes before you can take a shower which is madness. We whacked the air con on but had to open the balcony doors so we weren't too cold !! Very wasteful. There is a lovely beach -long beach - nearby which is quite a hike but worth it. If we ever came back we would stay in the resort there too...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    561
    408
    208
    169
See reviews for
152
818
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and glad that we did. We had a fantastic view overlooking the ocean. The room was very clean and spacious. It was quite steep to get to the room, however we expected that being in on a island. The breakfast was great, and the staff was friendly. I would recommend this to people who want to stay somewhere which is in a relatively quiet area, however only a 15 minute walk form all the bars ect, no need to walk to the beach as it is practically on the beach. We also had one of their boats pick us up from the port when we arrived which made it easy with our suitcases.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerJ1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Arriving on Koh Phi Phi in a monsoon with no hotel reservations meant a much more difficult trip than necessary but it happens! So after finding a wonderful little cafe with wifi, the best donuts we've ever had, cappuccino and bean bags to sit back in, we waited out the rains then set out on foot sloshing through ankle deep water through the one and only walkway along Phi Phi's waterfront, across a soggy beach with wooden planks to get across the running streams of water 3 feet below, all the while rolling and carrying luggage to find the last hotel along this part of the island! The room rate was high relative to other places we had looked into but there was no going back, so we found our way up the steep climb to the third level of bungalows to a wonderful view through bird laden yellow flowers and trees to the bay. Sheets were crisp and clean, bed comfy, air con worked just fine and the bathroom was spacious, although we never did figure out how to get hot shower water as the directions said the a.c. was required to be on 10 minutes at 22C to produce hot water. Whatever! We were soaked and sweaty from the trip and just glad to have a roof over our heads.
As mentioned in prior reviews, if you're not physically fit for an upward climb, don't attempt this hotel because whether you arrive by longtail boat to the hotel or across the beaches, if you want to go out, you must cross the soggy beaches until you find the paved start of town. If there was wifi and room service in the bungalow, the place would be so much more welcoming as you could stay put in your room and not have to go back down!
The breakfast offering was adequate. Not the worst we had had and certainly not gourmet but just fine. It was a true experience to watch the staff hustle around because the monsoon had poured down in various parts of the dining area and everyone seemed to arrive to eat at one time! They did a fabulous job under the circumstances because no matter who you were, you were in the rain at any given time at the Bay View Resort.
We had made reservations with the front desk to take the longtail boat back over to the ferry when departing, so after wrapping our luggage in heavy plastic bags (the best idea I had all trip!) they kept our luggage at the front desk area while we ran through town one last time looking for a book store which we found and I'm only sorry I didn't get one more donut and the name of that fabulous spot! Maybe you'll find it.

Room Tip: If you can walk up and down fairly steep trails, ask someone to deliver and pick up your luggage and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCoolBreezeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for three nights. They have a complimentary long-tail boat that will pick you up from the pier and bring you to your room upon arrival. The hotel is bungalow style, and you will either get an independent unit, or a duplex unit. Each unit has a lovely view of the beach. The hotel's beach is nicely manicured, it has plenty of recliners for the guest's enjoyment. The beach area also has a bar off to the side, and a volleyball net. This resort is the last on the beach, so it can be rocky. The rockiness varies according to the tides that day. The rooms are quite large, awesome loungers on the deck for reading or relaxing, and reliable AC. This resort is a bit of a walk from the town area, but worth it for the added privacy. The pool is well appointed and located at the top of the resort.

If you are travelling and have a good walking stamina this resort is for you. I wouldn't recommend it if you have troubles with steep inclines and uneven paths, because you will need a good level of fitness to get up to your suite. It could be problematic for people with knee problems, or those requiring wheelchairs or walking devices. However, I seem to have noticed that most Thai resorts are not inclusive of the needs of a diverse travelling population.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Bayview has the best of both worlds located on Laem Hin bay it has a private beach and is on the quieter side of the island but is only 10 min walking distance from the amazing party side with the many bars, bucket and beer specials, fire throwing and in general party mecca.

Rooms are split bungalows with lovely spacious rooms, balcony with sunbeds and nice bathrooms. With it being split bungalows if you don't like walking you must request a bungalow near the beach. We were on the second to highest level and it is a bit of a steep walk considering you walk everywhere on the island (there are no cars only bicycles on the island). Food is nice and service is good.

After doing a tour to the sourounding islands we were relieved that we chose this hotel has some hotels located around the island are far from the main town and if you wanted to go party then I guess you would have to hire a long tail boat to get there which opens you up to all sorts of problems.

The hotel has a long tail service from the main pier, however do remember that it can be tide dependent when we arrived we got a lift on a long tail right outside the hotel but when we left the tide was too low so we had to walk to the pier but don't worry they still bring your baggage for you and roll it on a big trolley to the pier.

Overall a lovely peaceful stay at Bayview - no complaints

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yachal_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived at the pier, which is about 20 minutes away from the hotel in blistering heat, The experience of the ferry boats that you arrive on can be a bit traumatic especially if you have a suitcase and not a back pack.
The hotels itinerary advertised a regular boat service, when we arrived we found out the boat was going to be over an hour, so we decided to walk towing cases behind us up and down gradients, when you are a certain age, this is not an easy task!
We were greeted by a welcome drink, and were escorted to our room which was 111 and we were very fortunate as we were on the first level, overlooking the bay and its fabulous views.
the room is like a self contained, rustic bungalow on stilts with a bedroom shower room Aircon and large picture windows leading to a big balcony with sun loungers table & two chairs with those fabulous view,
The swimming pool area was up a slope about a 10 min walk through beautiful gardens and had plenty of sunbeds.
Breakfast was adequate, although I think we had been spoilt by the other hotels we had stayed at in Thailand.
Positives: fabulous view, close to nice beaches if you don't mind a walk, Nice gardens, beautiful flowers. far enough away from town it be peaceful.

Negatives:Long boat noise, (sounds like a motorbike) The night we decided to eat on the beach, they had run out of shellfish, Walk into town 20 mins, Wi-fi only available at reception.

We went expecting rustic, which is what we got, but views were amazing

Room Tip: Ask for lower room 1st line all begin with 100
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovecotedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival to Phi Phi, we noticed how far of a walk from the pier Bay View was. Besides that we were supposed to have two rooms but they supposedly overbooked so we had 4 guys in one room with a king bed and 2 roll away beds. The view from the room was great, looking out into the water. The walk to everything was kind of far but wasn't too bad. The water pressure in the showers wasn't great, and you get wifi in the rooms. Overall I would say it was a good stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jermaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Resort

Property: Bay View Resort
Address: 69 Moo 7, Laem Hin Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Bayview Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Bayview Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Bay View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing