We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for the price.”
Review of Bay View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay View Resort
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for the price.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Overall the hotel was great. Rooms where nice. Clean, big and had a cheap mini bar. Beach was nice except for the trash that is all around the island. Food at restaurant was good. The breakfast buffer had a nice choice for everyone. The staff is mostly unfriendly, no one ever said "Hello or Good morning" when passing them. I think they are in need of a holiday. The pool area was ok, but when you have such a lovely beach and ocean who cares.

Room Tip: If you get one of the bungalows closer to the reception you don't have to walk so far up and dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannonab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    547
    402
    203
    165
See reviews for
149
795
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I just realized the resort is actually 2-stars so perhaps it wasn't as bad as I first thought. I focused on reviews on another booking site. The price is most likely a result of the market but I'm sure you can do better in terms of value. As others have noted, the resort is not at all like the pictures on the site, the beach space is actually rather limited and views from most bungalows are partially obstructed at best. My wife was ready to leave as soon as she saw the resort upon our approach in the water taxi - that's never a great sign. The front desk staff are not effective or efficient, and are certainly not concerned with customer service. The positive elements of the resort are that it is relatively secluded from the madness on the rest of the island and the bungalows provide privacy. The beach is tiny, the food is mediocre and there is a lot of walking within the resort and to get to town center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdotwdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend, and we did not look at other options, unfortunately ...
This resort is far away from the buzz and bars, so its a good place for people who want to keep in peaceful , but not my kinds. Its a 10 min walk to the main village (shops , restaurants and bars ), no good lighting, so it does not feel good walking in the night, the rooms are placed on the hills, so if you are not upto walking a lot , getting out and in of the resort can be a tough job !,, the pool is good, but you will end up being the only one in the pool,... The rooms was great and the service too. Good value for money.... We always ate ate the village not at the resort restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prithikasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Though we got off to a bumpy start (tide was too low for a longtail boat taxi, so we had to trek through town to get to the hotel), our experience quickly improved when we arrived at the hotel. The hotel lobby is right on the beach and the rooms are separate little bungalows on the hill. We personally always prefer our rooms to be a bit more private, which is why this setup worked perfectly for us.

I had informed the hotel beforehand that I was planning on proposing to my girlfriend on Phi Phi and they upgraded us to a honeymoon room free of charge. The rooms were stunning and overlooked the main bay area from the balcony. The rooms were well maintained and clean upon our arrival. Though it is a bit of a climb to the rooms (especially considering the heat), it is not unreasonable and not too much of a shlep. Older or injured/disabled people might find it a bit of a hassle though, but we personally didn't have any trouble walking to and from the room.

The hotel staff was great in helping us organise trips in and around Phi Phi and they warmed up immediately when we spoke basic Thai to them (on Phi Phi they really do appreciate the effort). The language barrier on Phi Phi is much more pronounced than it is on the mainland, so conversing with the staff was a bit tricky at times, but taken in good spirits and approached with a good sense of humour it was never frustrating.

The hotel's bar and restaurant, though a bit expensive, are both fantastic and the food at the restaurant was amazing! The outside seating area is great because you literally sit right on the beach, which created a wonderful atmosphere! Loved the fact that were able to buy buckets at the swanky restaurant as well!

Hotel offers a free longtail boat taxi to various points on the island, though we mostly walked everywhere to explore.

It is also located on the more quiet side of Phi Phi, which suited us perfectly as it was close enough to walk to the main strip on the harbour side and about 15 - 20 minute walk from the main beach if you feel like a night out, yet quiet enough to have a peaceful night on the balcony.

Room Tip: Try and find a room in the B100's range, they look directly onto the Bay area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJNaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miss_moss79
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've given this hotel two stars. The first one is for the location, which is away from the noisy bars and the other for the view, which is absolutely stunning.

Sadly, I am echoing what a lot of others have already written about Bay View. Having read the negative press before booking, I was aware of what I was getting myself in for, however over the Easter weekend, we were not spoilt for choice so we sucked it up and booked anyway.

You enter the hotel via long boat, which I think is quite cool. Upon arrival at the resort, we were greeted by utter chaos at reception and a hotel that looked absolutely nothing like the pictures on the internet.

After getting off the boat, we hauled ourselves up the beach to reception to explain we were checking in. None of the check in staff spoken English and despite being told our room would be ready in 30 minutes, we were left waiting and waiting without any update or communication. When we asked about the room and when it would be available, we were just grunted at while the reception staff continued to answer the phones and shout at each other. There was a lot of shouting going on - at guests as well.

We had to "choose" the room first, being lead up and down the many hills in the searing heat. We chose the cleanest one that was closest to the reception. I would suggest anyone reading this does the same.

The room looked clean but upon further inspection, it was not. The toilet gave off the most awful stench and as others have written, if you want hot water, you need to keep the air con on around 30 mins at 18 degrees. The sheets were also embedded with sand.

The pool area is OK but the water is filthy and warm like a bath but I suspect you'll get this anywhere on Phi Phi. The shock is that the pictures on the net make it look like the pool overlooks the ocean. It does not, it looks over some bungalows and a few bins.

We were only here for one night and I was glad of it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_moss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went on honeymoon. The hotel is in a great location: 5 minutes walking from phi phi village & island peer, but far enough to be in a peaceful area, you cant beleive that there is such a paradise that close to the village. Our room was excelent, the best view ever, very clean, with a quite big terrace. Breakfast very good. You have a couple of baches to go in 2 minutes walking, altough the water comes and goes, but if you arrive late to phiphi, or leave early so you cant get a tour, it is ok to spend a few hours on that beaches. The pool is big altough the it is in the middle of the jungle, no sea view from there.

Room Tip: We were on room 110, I guess all the "100s" rooms have the same EXCELLENT view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josemoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is a very good option if you want to eat the best dishes on the beach! Considering that you are in an island with poor resources, you can not find the same level than in the continent. The rooms are a little old, the bathroom is the worst part, however you have other good points as: the swimingpool is ok and you have to do a massage there. The food at the restaurant is excellent, try it. The night barbecue with fishes and so on is a very good option for you to have dinner on the beach. Its not so close to the downtown anyway its fine to walk a little to go there, so you can take a look on the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Resort

Property: Bay View Resort
Address: 69 Moo 7, Laem Hin Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Bayview Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Bayview Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Bay View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing