We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but some work needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2007

We stayed at Phi Phi island village for 4 days in May. We had a private speed boat transfer which was quite expensive but got you from Krabi to Phi Phi in about 45 minutes instead of the 2.5 hours - the views on the way were also amazing.
Our welcome at reception was warm and friendly and we were personally shown to our bungalow and all the amenities in the room explained.

The rooms were comfotrable, but as other people have mentioned the air con is a little loud and some parts of the rooms are looking a little dated. However, we were very comfortable.

The spa at the resort is very competitvely priced, especially compared to the UK and the major hotels in Bangkok. I'd recommend one of the combined treatments - massage and facial - it was fantastic.

The service at the restuarants varied depending on who was serving you. We ate from the buffet most nights, apart from the one evening we went to the Thai restaurant. Beware - if you're expecting small portions, you won't get them here, we couldn't finish our meal!

Despite all the rain we ventured out on an island explorer trip which cost 2200 baht from the activity centre at the resort (which has lots of different options). We visited "the beach", which was absolutely heaving with people, we also went snorkelling in 3 different spots and swimming at an amazing spot on phi phi ley. Lunch was also provided and Mon, our guide, was very friendly, as were the boat crew. It was also a great way to see the islands, despite the rain we did manage to see quite a lot of fish while snorkling.

The beach at the resort is second to none - clear blue, which white sand and excellent for swimming and snorkelling. The pool is also large but lacks service around the pool - you have to go to the bar to order anything.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but there needs to be a bit more focus on service in some areas.

Stayed: May 2007
10  Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,807 - 2,813 of 4,499 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2007

Have just spent 8 nights at Phi Phi Island Village resort, location is very nice. stayed in cheapest bungalow which was more than adequate. The swimming pool and beach were great. We has one day of rain and a couple of days with a few showers only.

If you are like us and looking to stay at a great resort while taking advantage of the cheaper off season rates then there are some things that you may want to first consider.

The accomodation may be cheaper but the restaurant prices & activities/boat trips are at an absurd level for Thailand and still cater for the more well healed traveller who would normally stay during the peak season. eg. You can actually take a longboat into Tonsai Bay have lunch there and then return cheaper than you can get a club sandwich and a can of coke. You can hire a longboat again at Tonsai for three hours and be taken where you want to go as well as snorkelling for a third of the cost at the resort. This we only relised after we had utilised the hotel facilities. ( which I might add were very good but just so expensive}.

Like previous reviewers we also discovered the restaurants out the back of the resort and while being a little rustic offer excellent thai cooking & drinks at a very reasonalble price. We ate there for the last 4 nights of our stay and enjoyed the company of the host at Hippies with his nightly 9-30 pm fire show!


Last but not least - Take insect repellent (industrial strength if possible!!) & insect bite cream. They are ferocious in the evening only.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank GeeJay_Hippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2007

We had an idyllic stay at the PP Island Village Resort in early May 2007. A very detail-oriented hotel and the staff attention was just superb. Must stay at the Beachfront junior suite - it is a fantasy! It is so gorgeous we never wanted to leave the room or venture beyond the veranda where we had breakfast every day overlooking the beach. I asked to see a standard beachfront suite and was actually not impressed - the rooms aren't worth the price, but the junior suite is worth every penny. Nevertheless, it is not a place to stay if you are looking for some adventure and nightlife. Despite how happy we were with the hotel, we checked out early to move further south down the island because we felt too isolated. The resort is suited for honeymooners that want to be detached from everything and don't care to be limited to the hotel and its restaurants, bars, etc. 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Francisca78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

We stayed at the resort for 4 days in between our stay in Bangkok and Phuket. W were very impressed with the resort. The location is superb, very secluded but yet there are lots of things to do. The pool is great, but the pool bar closes very early. There are tennis courts and an outdoor gym, which was great as a little excercise is always a good thing. You can get all the tennis gear for free from the reception. Free standing bungalows were very cute, though a little rustic inside, still very comfortable. A great romantic getaway. We went in September, which was meant to be the rainy season, but it only rained for a day during our 12 days stay in Thailand, so if you are thinking of going during that season, don't hesitate. Lots of great walks around the island, you can go to Lana Bay and check out the beautiful beach and the wild monkeys, or go up the hill and walk the length of the island to other resorts, if you are bored. The food at the hotel restaurant was great, all the curries were absolutely amazing. Would deffinatley recomend this hotel to anyone.
We went on a couple of private longtail rides around the islands and its deffinately worth it. The main town of Phi Phi had a couple of great little cafes and restaurants, we had the most amazing coconut cocktail there, so do try it!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BlondeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We were so happy when we booked our stay at the Phi Phi Island Village Resort as we had seen the pictures on their website and the locals we had met in Thailand had told us that it is the best resort at Ko Phi Phi Don, a complete paradise... to start with we were over quoted on the transfer from Phuket - if you book the ferry yourself it works out to be 1/10th of the price quoted by the resort and you travel in exactly the same way! At the resort itself, the prices are over the top. Everything you purchase has an automatic 30% service charge whacked on it regardless of whether you self serve or not. The staff are not too hot and very few speak English. It was frustrating at times as they couldn't even get basics like a simple drinks order correct. The water sports on offer are also very expensive, it's like theu think it is their right to milk you out of as much money as possible simply because you are a Western traveller. The staff seem to walk around with dollar signs in their eyes! While we were staying there we met many other people who had similar views about the prices being charged, in my opinion it certainly is not worth the money. I felt cheated and ripped off.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank patels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2007

We stayed at Phi Phi Island Village resort for 4 nights on our honeymoon and had a great time. If you want to get away from it all this is a great place to stay. It is hard to get to and we would recommend in getting a speed boat transfer. We did the ferry transfer to get there and it just took forever and wasn't very comfortable. So on the way back we booked the speed boat transfer and it was much better. Alot quicker and service excellent.

The staff are so friendly and always willing to help. We had a problem with our ac which was not working properly and they moved us to a different room when i requested it. We stayed in the deluxe bungalows which are in the second row. The rooms were of good size, beds really comfortable and the pillows excellent. These are not modern rooms and are a bit rustic so don't expect a quality finish. The toilet was in a separate room which was extremely hot and smelly, even before we had used it. The shower was huge and water pressure adequate. I would recommend these rooms over the superior due to there position. Some superior rooms were quite a distance from the beach and the pool. The beach front bungalows looked very nice and if you can afford the hillside villas they look really good with great views.

The food at the resort was quite nice especially at the thai hillside restaurant but the best food that we found was out the back of the resort where the locals eat. There is only about 3 restaurants out the back and we ate at two of them. The food was excellent and great value for money. Not once did we get sick from eating there and it was great to meet the locals. Also the walk to lana bay was quite a moving experience as you can see where the tsunami came through a couple of year ago.

We did a snorkelling trip to maya bay which was excellent. The staff look after you really well and the snorkelling was really good. Overall we had a great time and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Absolutely romantic "get away from it all" resort with a kick a55 swimming pool that will please both the honeymooners and the younger partying set. The beach is world class too. The bungalows are big posh huts, fully detached and very modern on the inside. The staff, although struggling for English, do treat you like a rock star and when you arrive it's like the whole place is there to greet you (with cocktail and scented towel). On our final night my girlfriend and I ate at the hill-top Thai Restaurant. In a word, delicious.
You can walk to Tonsai Bay (the main Island drag) but it's a relentless jungle/cliff/rock-face/wading through waist-high water) one hour affair. Just best take the shuttle boat for £1/$2 each way.
We stayed for 2 weeks, and I've never been happier. We also had the lead singer of the "Magic Numbers" (UK band) staying there with his lady. Probably the best money-to-poshness ratio Hotel in the world.

THE IMPORTANT PART:
Behind the hotel, at the back behind the Dive Centre is a collection of "off campus" bars and restaurants, notably the Monkey Bar and Hippies Bar. Moon, the nice lady at the Monkey Bar cooks up a storm and it's super cheap for quality (£1.40 per main course =100BHT) food. Hippies has a fire-show at 9:30pm every night and beers are small change there too. It's nice to get off the resort once or twice as it's a bit more authentic. Funny note: Hippies Bar put up a large sign just outside the resort, and the resort then put up a big green screen to stop people seeing it. Hippies responded by adding international world flags to the sign, so now it is very evident. Enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank CharlieVeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#17 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $156 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 189 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing