We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at this resort for three nights in August 2013. Easily one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. From the moment you arrive on a long boat from Tonsai pier to the moment you leave the beauty of this unique piece of paradise.

You will need to book a long boat from Tonsai pier as it is literally impossible to get to the resort on foot…especially with suitcases! You can book through the hotel and the rate is quite reasonable, about 200BHT.

We stayed in one of the Garden View Superior Bungalows and we found the accommodation lovely. The bungalows are essentially wooden beach huts, with a bedroom, small study area and a bathroom.

We ate breakfast at the hotel and generally had dinner on an evening in the village behind the resort. There are some nice restaurants - Pad Thai and Knock Out bar. The food is cheaper than in the resort but just as tasty - although you can eat on the beach in the resort!

Although I would recommend only going for a few days (unless you want to lounge around) there is plenty of trips to go on (don't miss going to Phi Phi Li - a boat trip with snorkelling via the Knock Out bar highly recommended).

Highly recommended, we will come back here if we ever visit Phi Phi again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AJW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 4,270 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Loved this hotel on phi phi. We got a complimentary upgrade as we were travelling in low season in August 2013. As a result of this not all the restaurants were open, however this wasn't a problem.
Such an amazing location! Breakfast was fabulous - however there were some queues at the egg station ;) not a bad complaint!!
Overall we had a lovely stay - loved the complimentary drink on arrival! Nice touch!

Room Tip: Low season = upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma_ireland85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place was amazing! If you stay on Phi Phi, spend a little extra money and stay here. We felt cared for right away. They greet you off the longboat with a damp washcloth to freshen up and a pineapple coconut drink! Our room wasn't ready (we arrived early), they gave us a coupon for snacks and sodas at the restaurant while we waited.

The grounds were beautiful and manicured. Everyone from the gardeners to the front desk personnel were super friendly and welcoming... you could tell they took pride in keeping the resort beautiful. The room was clean and more than comfortable.

We took the Thai cooking class on the resort. Chef Leo was so kind, knowledgable, and the food was super fresh.

There is a little village back behind the island that offers some cheap eats (get the pad thai at Pad Thai!) and colorful bars if you want to get off the resort for a few hours.

Would love to stay at Outrigger Phi Phi again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Outrigger review

While in phi phi we stayed at the outrigger hotel and resort. It is the perfect choice for those who wish to be in touch with nature without waiving 5* pampering and accomodations.

Since it is located right at the beach, on a secluded section of the island, you can enjoy a crowd free turquoise ocean, both to dip into and snorkling. That is obviously priceless!

When the tide is low and the ocean has too many rocks, the hotel pool is a must and the cherry on top is that the pool bars have a "buy one get one free" happy hour from 5 to 6 Pm!

I stayed in the superior bungalow and upgraded to the beachfront, because the latter has an outstanding gigantic bathtub whereas the other has a regular shower. Bear in mind that only the beachfront bungalows and villas have a bathtub. The rest of the occomodations only have a shower.

For the bathtub alone, plus the direct ocean view and private veranda where you can enjoy privately served breakfast with items of your chosing from the buffet - for no extra charge - the upgrade is obviously worth it!

There are a couple of restaurants to chose from and even though the setting tends to be amazing - particularly in the thai restaurant uphill and the coconut, both where attention to detail and presentation are remarkable - , the food falls beneath expectation. In fact, fish and sea food were always overcooked. They make the "catch of the day" taste not fresh! One thing is for certain: top quality fresh ingredientes are not a priority (eg: I have been served stale "dusty" icecream and their pinacoladas arent made with fresh pinapple as they use juice out of a can). They do have lovely fresh young coconuts, which I had all the time!

The staff is very, very friendly. Unfortunately, missing better training and language skills - which evidentely is not their fault -. In fact they go out of their way in order to make you feel special - i recall an ocasion where i asked them to draw a bath at 20pm and arrived to a bubbly frangipani flower filled tub! What a treat!
Only the staff in the thai restaurant was a bit unpolite, that i couldnt overlook.

Also note that the access to the hotel may be limited (only by boat!) so you cant go to town (Tonsai) whenever you please. Not only there are time limitations but also it can be costly. Do plan ahead for every outing so that you make the most of this experience. If you take daytours not operated by the hotel (which cost 1/2 to 1/4 of the price), make sure you get them to pick you up and drop you off.
That also goes to say that you can only have hotel food, and room service has a tight schedule...do carry extra snacks if you dont want to be constricted. Plus, since you always have to have dinner at the hotel - in my case I didnt know going to the village was an option- negotiating half board would be a good idea!

Needless to say: unless you want to fleet a private vessel and travel in the middle of the dark ocean in the hands of an unlicenced, uninsured captain, nighlife for outrigger residents is off limits... It would be nice if the hotel provided free Shuttle service to the main town and on a more extended period as thais take advantage of the fact that we go to outrigger and charge a lot of money to take you back after 3 Pm. Eg: in order to get back to the hotel, for a 15-20 min boat ride at 7 Pm we have been charged 40€/50usd (2 pax). That is just for one way! It also would have been nice to have know the hotel was right next to a village where you have a couple of options for restaurants, small bars and excursions. The hotel fails to provide you with enough information, both on its services and on its surroundings.

I would definetely come to this resort again and again, and hopefully a couple of these observations of mine have an effect on their service since this resort has all it takes to be perfect. Next time I come I plan on taking mt PADI!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moquinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have just returned from this beautiful resort. I don't know what to say other than, the friendly staff, perfect reception, paradisiacal beach and surroundings, excellent restaurants, fantastic tours, beautiful pool and spacious comfortable rooms have made this place somewhere I will definitely return to.

Room Tip: Any room here would be acceptable. the beachfront rooms are really something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltastic38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights during our Asia Tour and the only disappointment was that it wasn't for longer. The Outrigger resort is absolutely stunning and the food in the Thai Restaurant and the Grill is amazing, as was the breakfast buffet. The wooden huts on stilts are authentic and totally in keeping with the unique style of the development. The pool area was impressive and the beach just beautiful. Truly an idyllic location and a wonderful end to our tour of Asia. The only downside is the two hour Ferry crossing from Phuket to Phi Phi and then a 40 min long boat trip to the hotel, but the stunning location and the friendly staff more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Resort was the paradise I had expected from Thailand. Bungalow very well equipped, spotless and when the air con broke (we dropped the remote) was fixed within an hour. Infinity pool, several restaurants, customer service best I've experienced in a long time. Lovely beach. You pay for what you get - it wasn't cheap. It was also busy with quite a few families with young children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CVBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#11 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
281 reviews
2.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,422 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,785 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $157 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing