We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the most amazing holiday Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. We had a wonderful time and we can't stop talking about it.

We stayed at the resort for 9 nights (it was supposed to be 10, but Virgin Holidays stranded us in Phuket for a night) and it was super. The resort is beautiful, everything about it is stunning. The pool and beach are amazing. Free bottled water and beach towels were delivered to our room daily and on our last night the house boy decorated the bed with flowers, it was a lovely touch.

We ate at all of the restaurants during our stay. The food was very good and we didn't have a bad meal the whole time we were there. We ate everything from Pad Thai to spaghetti carbonara! The pool bar was great for lunch and we ate there everyday. My husband favoured the Hawaiian pizza for lunch. I loved the coconut ice cream. In the evenings we split our time between Marlin, Coconut, and Ruan Thai. If you're there on a Tuesday night definitely book a table on the beach at the Marlin restaurant for Bounty on the Beach. That was a lovely experience.

I know some other reviewers have commented on poor service, but I can't understand this as we received nothing but impeccable service throughout our stay. Yes a minority of the staff speak limited English, but they immediately go and get another member of staff that speaks better English so we never had a problem. Thanks to the reception staff for arranging a late checkout for us on the last day, it meant an extra hour by the pool for us.

The Wana Spa is a must. Yes it's more expensive than a massage in the village, but it is an amazing experience. We loved the cold tea we were given before the massage and the sweet biscuits we were given afterwards.

Do we have any grumbles? There is a culture of reserving sunbeds with towels at the resort, which means if you're not there first thing you don't get a bed and it is annoying seeing lots of unused beds when you don't have one.

We also got a bit irritated when eating at the Coconut Bar for the first time. On arriving we were presented with menus, yet as soon as they found out we were full board, staff whipped away our menus and presented us with another more limited one, and of course what I had previously chosen wasn't on that menu. I wouldn't have minded that so much, but at the end of the meal we were asked to sign for what we'd eaten above our full board allocation. If that was always going to be the case why not let us choose from the main menu?

We'd definitely stay at the Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Garden bungalow. These rooms are some of the newest in the resort so are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,295
    1,102
    391
    135
    91
See reviews for
527
2,531
63
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Thenumber one thing about this hotel is the location, it is simply paradise on earth. The bay that the hotel is locatd is wuthout doubt the best beach in Ko Phi Phi.
The arrival process in the hotel is fantastic, you are greated with a cocktail and made to relax through the whole process.
We originally booked a "superior" room but found this room a bit dated, so we upgraded to a junior suite - the junior suite was just majestic, situated 20 yards from the ocean the room is pure luxury,loads of space inside and lovely external eating area and balcony -if you can afford it then please book this room.
The hotel food is excellent, buffet breakfast offers loads of choice and each of the restaurants serve really nice food - the food is a bit pricey compared to the Thai village out the back but nothing crazy.
The hotel offers good activities and at fairly reasonable rates.

There is a fantatsic local Thai village situated outside the gate of the hotel, 5 minute walk from reception - here you can get fresh Thai food cooked and served in quaint litttles restaurant at very low prices, our favourites were Mint & Pad Thai restaurants. Some nice bars out there also.

The only minor negatives in the hotel is the staff seem very unmotivated and bored, they have no real interest in the job and there seems ot be a lack of supervision - however this didn;t really affect our stay. Also, the cost of the hotel per night is slightly excessive but really you are paying for the location.

Room Tip: If possible avoid booking the "superior" room as this is actually the lowest class room, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed at the Outrigger Phi Phi from 1/3/14 to 15/3/14 as we wanted to experience the magnificent diving that Phi Phi has to offer. Everything about the resort is beautiful. We stayed in a deluxe garden bungalow ( highly recommended) that are situated at the back of the resort. Yes there was some walking involved to get to the pool, breakfast etc but we didn't mind this and there were always staff with buggies driving past to offer you a lift if you wanted it. The pool is amazing and very clean as is the beach. There are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas to choose from and beach towels are provided daily in your room along with free bottles of water.
After some deliberation ( as they are not the cheapest dive company) we used the dive shop on the resort to complete our Padi Open Water Certificate. Our instructor Jill was excellent and took us to some fantastic dive sites where we saw black tip reef sharks and turtles. She was extremely patient and guided us through the theory and under water skills so that we passed with flying colours.
There was a great choice of food at breakfast in a lovely setting with friendly staff. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, choosing to walk to the little village behind the hotel instead where there is a good choice of bars and restaurants. We would highly recommend Mint Restaurant who serve fantastic Thai food at very reasonable prices. The owners are very friendly and can't do enough for you.
We took a long tail boat to Tonsai Bay, and the boat trip was excellent. However, we would not recommend Tonsai Bay as a place to visit as it is dirty with lots of tacky shops and bars. There are lots of people around the streets and it felt a little unsafe.
We had a lovely couples massage in the Wana Spa and although it is more expensive than the shops in the village it is worth it due to the setting and the staff that see to your every need.
We didn't find any of the staff rude so cannot understand some of the reviews written. You have to remember that although they can and do speak English, they cannot always understand.
Would we go back to Outrigger Phi Phi? Definitely. However we probably would not stay as long as although there are trips there is not that much to do unless you purely want to relax. Most people that stay there do so for a few days and then move on.

Room Tip: Deluxe Garden Bungalow recommended but some walking involved. Set in own private gardens and more m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Slightly disappointed with the Outrigger Phi Phi Island. We stayed there for 3 days, the overall experience was pleasant enough, several items made the stay not so perfect.

Service: some staff members really did excel with customer service, others made the general rating poor.

We dined at the Marlin restaurant for lunch, excellent views and right on the beach front. We seated ourselves and waited for someone to bring us menus, this never happened, we collected the menus ourselves, then when we tried to order the meals we had to walk to the waiters station to place the order, no body came to us, we also had follow up when the food and drinks order would serviced to us as the waited over 30 mins. Not pleasant - when we did ask for a follow up the one lady waiter really didn't seem interested. We even had chase for the bill to settle.

Then on the other hand, the guest relations manger, Karrina if I remember correctly, really bent over backwards to make sure we were being looked after when we near the reception area as we had a lady friend traveling with us that injured herself and needed medical assistance. Some of the staff were brilliant and then some not so good, no consistency on service.

The feeling of luxury ended once we stepped off the taxi service ferry to Island.

Also when booking a long boat for snorkelling you want to stay clear of Bamboo Island, dead coral, litter on beach and the payment of 200bhat really isn't worth it. I would recommend spending extra time on Mosquito Island and Rantee Bay, beautiful snorkelling experience.

Overall ratings:
1. Food, Marlin and Coconut Bar & Grill and Full Moon Buffet, nothing special. service not great and prices inflated for what you get, very upsetting.
2. Customer Service, no consistency amongst staff.
3. Lodge and accommodation, stunning views, well maintained gardens, clean facilities.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GrantOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you are looking for a secluded spot, it’s a perfect choice! Hotel can be reached only by boat from Tonsai Pier, situated on a long white sandy beach. Villas are located in such order that it seems like you’re walking inside exotic tropical park. Despite large amount of villas, it doesn’t look overcrowded. Swimming pool is large enough to hold hotel guests and to be comfortable for them. Rooms are spacious and very clean, nice and comfortably furnished. Breakfast is extensive and tasty, with wide variety of fruits and bakery.
You can have a good lunch near the pool for a moderate price. Happy hour at 5pm, when all drinks have 50% discount. Dinner buffet costs 690 baht (~$20)/person, variety of tasty food guarantied. However, there is a much cheaper option – go to the satellite village, which is right near the hotel. Hotel’s restaurants – for better service quality, village’s restaurants – for Thai authentic atmosphere.
Excursions and diving tours also can be booked at the village for less price. I almost sure that hotel and village sell same long tail drivers. It’s up to you, do you want pay higher or not for extra guarantee. For instance, we’ve booked a tour by long tail boat to Maya bay from hotel (2 times more expensive comparing to village prices). Boatman took us from hotel and we walked by foot to the opposite side of island (10 mins along the road), where boat stands. He didn’t speak English. Summarizing, tour service quality from hotel didn’t have any advantages.
In my opinion, hotel’s location has only one big disadvantage – beach has a low shore and it takes 100m walking to reach at least 2m depth. This wouldn’t be a problem if not a low tide that lasts from 13 until 16. Water goes far away and you lost ability to swim at the sea, sea view becomes not so pleasant. If I’m going for vacation to enjoy swimming at sea I want have it available all the day.
Overall, it was a wonderful place for vacation. However, next time we’ll be looking for a new island and hotel in Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My girlfriend and me took a trip to Thailand in february and ended up at this resort for 4 nights. The stay was excellent from the moment we arrived of the ferry up until we left. The staff is very polite and genuinely interested in creating a good experience for their guests. The three restaurants offer excellent thai cuisine as well as a great steak for that day you might need a break from all the curry. In regards to activities, they offer what you would expect. I can't give feedback on all of them, however the diving was great. Clear waters, lots of life and the staff found lots for us to see. They offer a day trip including 2 dives going by Phi Phi Leh for a visit to "the beach".

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrithjofCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.8 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing