We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the appearance fool + tip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Outrigger resort just last week. The bungalows, beach and pool are great but the service is very poor compared to the usual Thai hospitality. The staff actually looks unhappy :-( The best service we got was from the outsourced tour company's employees on our snorkeling tour. More over all the small things that make resorts like this great are missing at Outrigger. For example At arrival we weren't given information about breakfast or daily program at the resort. Housekeeping had forgotten to put beach towels and an ashtray in the room. Staff at the recreation center weren't speaking English and the lady was actually rude. Tip: go to the little village behind the resort for food (Knock-out bar), supermarket stuff and snorkeling trips (Knock-out bar's Mr. Chet). Here you will be given service and for a fraction of the price!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tainak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Tainak

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We're sorry that aspects of your stay didn't meet your expectations. We are constantly training and trying to improve and upgrade skill to meet all guest expectations. Thank you again for your value feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,238)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 4,238 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I spent 6 amazing days in this beautiful resort.
We were upgraded to a deluxe seaview because we mentioned that was our 10th year anniversary !
Great start for a holiday!
The resort is really beautiful with all amenities that you need ,great swimming pool and very nice bungalow , also very clean .
The food was to my opinion excellent, and I don't think it was very expensive,people tend to forget that you are on holiday and you have to pay for your food and drink everyday which can add up at the end of your stay ,specially if take into consideration the VAT charges .
The buffet dinner is a great deal if you want to save some dollars at only 600 bath per person and you get as much food as you like and is really good!
Also we hate at the coconut grill on our last night which was more expensive but really good!
Still if you think it's too expensive just walk to the village behind the resort and you get as many cheap restaurant as you like and the food is great!
We hate at pad thai restaurant 3 times ,oasis once and the blu Lagoon once, but pad thai was definitely the best one and cleaner.
The staff at the resort were always very friendly and polite but they could spoke a better English .
The only negative point was the smell that you get sometimes in some part of the resort which I think is related to sewage,and the beachfront could improve with a more regular rubbish cleaning.
On saying that it wasn't as bad as it may sounds and I will definitely go back again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cristiano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for 5 nights, we booked a beach front villa but we were upgraded to the pool villa room 505. I would book the pool suite every time, It is worth ever cent. The view was amazing, the villa was massive and the pool just topped it all off. To look at the bright blue water from your private pool while drinking a beer or a cocktail... ahhh take me back!
The staff were so pleasant and happy, from the lady raking leaves outside our villa every morning, to the restaurant staff at dolphins.
One let down (if I'm being picky) was the staff in the "fine dining" restaurant on the hill near our villa, the service there was ordinary to say the least as the staff clearly just didn't want to be there. In saying that... the food was amazing.
There is a little village out the back of the resort and it's very cool, the people in the village are very friendly and service is amazing. I did not hear of one person getting sick from eating there but I did not eat there myself. Make sure you pay a visit to Jumbo and the boys who own and run Oasis bar. Loved that place, so happy to see you every night they literally hug you and high five you.
The manager of the dolphin restaurant (older guy, his name has slipped my mind) is a key player in the success of this resort. He seems to work 24hrs a day every day and always smiles/laughs/has a chat, he seems to know everyone's name and is always willing to help or answer questions.
If you're looking for the perfect place to relax and enjoy paradise then book here, it may be slightly more expensive than the others but if relaxation is what you want... this is where you'll find it. The recreation center can book any tours for snorkeling or diving but I warn you... if you've been diving or snorkeling on the great barrier reef you need to be prepared for disappointment. My fiancé was in phi phi in 2010 and she claims the marine life has diminished drastically. I was expecting barrier reef as people on the island had told me it was amazing.... it was not!
If you are thinking of going to the actual bay and beach from the movie "the beach" (maya bay) be prepared for a let down... the water has a slight oil slick on it, the beach is covered in boats and people. At least 300 people were on it when I was there and as one boat leaves, another takes it's place.
I loved the resort and the environment they have created.... It's a long way from the crazy party scene of phi phi and it's worth every cent.
I fear the virus that is the commercial leech sucking the paradise out of the natural beauty of phi phi may one day spread to this secluded part of the island but for now it's literally paradise. I've travelled all over Europe and Australia.... this resort is my favourite beach resort thus far.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank AlexMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

great place to spend time together in love before the resentment and animosity sets in. great food,the swimming pool was ace,the little town behind the resort was awesome for massages,booze and food . paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The water of the sea is just fantastic, transparent turquoise 28C. The bay is beautiful. The food at the resort's restaurants is varied and of good quality. The pool area is very well made also.

However, 3 important things to notice:

1. The bathrooms are a joke, they need urgent upgrade/renovation
2. The sand of the private beach is regularly dirty, full of metal cans, plastic bottles and broken glass. The management obviously doesn't pay attention despite the complaints on the spot and online...
3. The resort is supposed to be exclusive for its guests. However, many of the guests of the neighboring resort 'Villa 360', as they dont have a good pool not even a beach, come and enjoy the resort's infrastructure, making it unnecessarily crowded.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our second visit. We mentioned it and we're upgraded to hillside pool villa. Thank you. Amazing scenery - snorkelling from beach to little reefs. Only downside -food better in little restaurants out the back of the hotel. Tip - use the hotel shuttle boat from phuket. An hour back on speedboat. Great service cuts out a lot of faffing about. Looks like a full scale renovation of rooms will draw us back again one day..

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jeoff42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel in the beginning of December and had a very nice time. The direct ferry ride offered through the resort from Phuket was very nice and is worth the extra expense. We sat in the sun on the ride over and enjoyed the beautiful views. And before we knew it, we arrived at the resort. We transferred from the ferry boat, to a smaller boat, and then to a cart pulled by a tractor as the tide was definitely out.

Even though the ferry was full, the check-in process was a breeze, and we were quickly taken to our room. Our room/hut was a couple rows back from the beach, and from the balcony you could see the beach and water (partially blocked but still appreciated). The room was nice, with a very large bed and a separate bath and dressing area. While the appointments were somewhat dated, it was still rather nice.

Breakfast was included in our package. The food was really good and there were a lot of options. We typically had lunch by the pool each day, but have to say that the servers at the pool bar were the least customer service oriented group of people that we experienced in all of Thailand. It was very disappointing, but it was the best option for food at this resort on a pool day. We split our time for dinner between the hotel and the village behind the resort, and have to say that the meals we had in the village was just as good as the resort, for less money.
We had torrential rain most days while on this island, but even with the bad weather we had a very nice time. We wish that the weather had been nicer so we could have enjoyed some water tours.

Please take the time to explore the village behind the hotel. We really enjoyed meeting the folks in this area, eating some fantastic food, and have to say the massages near the bridge in the back were fantastic.

The gift shop staff deserves a mention for their friendliness and customer service. We were quite impressed with the variety offered in this rather large gift shop.

We were sad to leave the island, with its peacefulness and relaxing vibe, and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: A beachfront room is worth the extra money for the unobstructed views/
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
836 reviews
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,775 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $129 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing