We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but there's a catch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful but there's a catch”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stunning location, resort is beautiful with great facilities. Please be wary as staff unhelpful and much cheaper at the beautiful village behind the resort. Our air con wasn't working, no clean towels, accused of using the pool and not staying at resort. Buffered our food orders every single time with no apologies. Overall, stay somewhere else as service is dismal

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlust2222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,380
    1,131
    399
    142
    95
See reviews for
550
2,607
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for 5 days in the beginning of December and wish we would have spent our entire vacation there. The hotel itself is great. People who complain about having to walk a far distance from the deluxe bungalows are lazy. Why on earth would you come to a remote island if you don't like the outdoors and to be active. If you for some reason don't feel like walking you can always call the front desk and someone will escort you on a golf cart to your destination. We stayed in a deluxe bungalow while here an loved it. We never heard our neighbors even though one might think you would considering everyone there seemed to be on their honeymoon. The rooms seemed as if they were brand new. We did breakfast in the morning which was awesome. They did a great job rotating the items so there always something new in the morning. If you are a plane jane and just looking for bread, eggs, and fruit those are staples. We went on a snorkeling trip organized through the hotel which was fantastic. Bo our guide was so sweet and helpful throughout the day. We honestly cannot wait to go back. I have traveled all over the world and this was one of the most outstanding places I have ever been.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmy3m4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and from the moment the long boat started to turn towards the resort it was impressive. The service throughout was superb with the staff helpful and friendly throughout. There are various different restaurants on site offering great choice, and for a resort, reasonably priced. The combination of the private beach and pool area gave the best of both worlds on the door step and provided some stunning views throughout the day. The room (superior garden bungalow) was clean and spacious with everything you'd need. The resort offers day trips, scuba diving, spa - why would you ever leave?! All of which were well managed & organised and very easy to book - given the choice I would be back in a heartbeat for another stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Adam S

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your staying here. We will pass your good review to our team to try the best to do more. Thank you again for your feedback. We looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Amazing resort. Very spacious bungalow. Booked a transfer through the resort from my resort in Phuket, to the Rassada Pier and then to Tonsai bay and lastly to the resort and everything worked out perfectly! I really enjoyed the beach, the palm trees, the free wifi and the food and beverage outlets. However, please make sure you DO visit the village behind the resort!!!!! It's great!!! Good food and very cheap, I recommend Buffalo Head, Oasis and Blue 'Lagune' hehe.

The only thing was that we had booked a tour to explore the beaches around the island the next morning at 9am. The next day we got a call at 8 saying that it was cancelled because there weren't enough people :(. They ended up helping us to organise a long tail boat for 4 hours which was alright.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon and enjoyed an excellent stay! Phi Phi Don was definitely our favourite island and it is beautiful, Outrigger is an ideal base to explore.

Make sure that when you travel to Outrigger that you arrange to be picked up by the hotel by long tail boat from Ton Sai as we were ripped off for 1200 baht!

Pay a visit to the local village and Knock Out Bar with Chet and Don, lovely food and friendly people!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Lex M

Thank you for taking time to share your experience and we are very happy that you had Excellent Stay! on your honeymoon. For your next visit with us here, we recommend to book the land and sea transfer with us which will be very convenience for your traveling to the resort. Thank you again for staying with us and wish you come back soon here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

One of the more attractive resort hotels on Kho Phi Phi. Very nice setting on an almost private beach. Excellent dining options (especially Ruean Thai Restaurant and Coconut Restaurant). Excellent and very smart new rooms (superior garden bungalow). Excellent breakfast buffet.

However, there are some limitations I wouldn't expect at a hotel of this category/price: Equipment in fitness studio old and very dirty; staff ignored our recommendation to clean equipment completely. Sea kayak charged 350 THB/hour; at other places offers like these are free of charge. Spa with good offering but overpriced (1 hour massage for ~ 1800 THB ++).

Whole resort probably a litte bit to big; confusing layout of rooms/bungalows.

Room Tip: Ask for new superior garden bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Outrigger Ko Phi Phi for the first half of our Honeymoon in August 2013. From the moment we stepped off the transfer boat, we were impressed. We stayed in one of the secluded villas on the hillside and it was wonderful--nice furnishings, very open/large spaces, comfortable beds/linens and we loved our private pool. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job at maintaining our room whenever we stepped out. The included breakfast buffet each morning is extensive and the food is good. Very close by there is a little village that you can walk to (5 mins literally) if you want to experience a bit of local food/people outside the resort. We really liked having this option and ate most of our lunches & dinners there. Oh and that little village has several massage places that we tried and enjoyed. My only complaint about the resort is the very high cost of alcoholic drinks. If you are $$ conscious, go buy beers for your room at one of the markets in the adjoining village and keep them in your mini fridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,390 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing