We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Pluses: Rooms, service, views, beach and the transfer by speed boat. The whole resort is beautiful and secluded. The decor is lovely, the ambience is great and you get all the privacy you want. Loved the bar. Breakfast spread was also pretty good.
Cons: Seriously over priced. Even the restaurants are quite pricey and while food is good in all the restaurants, there are cheaper and better alternatives in the village (which I was too lethargic to try and found out a little late). The check in took over an hour - saw a lot of guests losing patience over this. Cant even understand why check in took that long considering each guest/ room was assigned a separate customer care rep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingParomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,981 - 1,987 of 4,494 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

- great bungalows, very modern, comfortable, luxurious, spacious and private. You can really feel like you are on a private cabin on the beach.
- there is a spacious terrace with 2 deckchairs, you can have a drink and feel like you are in the woods
- the beach was very private. You don't see boats coming from other beaches filling the coastline. You don't hear any party music.
- the resort is quite large so it may take a bit of time to go from one end to another, or to go to the reception
- you can only reach the resort by boat, so we felt locked inside it. There are a handful of restaurants outside the resort, but the hotel staff won't tell you about it
- no wifi in the rooms, weak wifi signal at the reception and restaurant areas

Overall, our experience was pleasant. We loved the private bungalow experience. But the fact that we felt locked and couldn't easily leave the hotel, and had to use their restaurants and facilities was a bit choking. Nevertheless, this is what you get at koh phi-phi, and I wouldn't expect other hotels to be different. We would recommend it as a one off experience, but not for a regular and recurring experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Phi Phi Island is like God's little piece of heaven. We stayed for 5 nights at the Outrigger Beach Resort for our honeymoon and had the time of our lives and wish to thank Nora and all the staff for making our stay perfect. Let me list a few of the reasons why you want to visit this resort and what I suggest you to do:

Firstly take the speed boat to get to the Island it takes about1 hour and 20 minutes and is better cause the water can get choppy and the other boats take around 3 hours, so it's more expensive but more convenient.

Check in was quick and took around 15 minutes to get to our Villa and you get a nice cold beautiful smelling cloth and a welcome drink. After this you are taken to your Villa by golf cart with a Bellboy. The poolside Villa is breathtaking and if you can afford it, is a must. It has the most amazing views and is very private and you can tan and swim at your own pool without Anyone seeing or bothering you.

You must take the speedboat trip to Maya Bay which isaboout 3000 bhat for two people and you can book at the aquatic ceter at the resort, this was a fantastic trip and real value for money and the snorkeling was incredible, was like watching NEMO live!!

I strongly suggest ordering your breakfast at the Pool Villa via room service assist free of charge. We also had a private barbecue at our Villa one night with our own Chef which was well worth it and thoroughly enjoyed the Dinner on the beach option that the Beach Bar arranges. Food is good but it's better to eat at the Village behind the resort if you are on a tight budget. We ate at the resort and we loved the food and thought it was great value for money. We did eat at Pad Thai on the Village and the seafood and restaurant was superb and strongly suggest one nite here for dinner.

The Knockout our Bar in the Village was brillaint and we spent many nights with the owner Satchi and his brother watching English PremierLeague soccer and drinking cold cocktails.

Overall one of the best vacations I have had and will be back very soon as me and my Wife Robi fell in love with Phi Phi Islands the people and the resort and give you a 11 out of 10!!!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beautiful rooms and grounds at the resort. It's far from the main part of the island though (30-45min by boat) so you're stuck with the dining choices at the resort, which are quite pricey. The pool area is awesome, though the beach is pretty ugly at low tide and is not really a swimming beach. If you stay here, be sure to do the 1 hour hike to the lookout for Tonsai Bay.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in DEC 2012. This was a very nice property. We stayed in one of the newer garden view rooms inn the back of the property. It was a very nice room, with a comfy bed and great bathroom. We were very happy with our room. Our room had a nice patio where you could sit and read, listen to the birds. The property faces the windward side of the island, so it was pretty windy some days and the beach wasn't great for swimming. However, we hored a long tail boat for cheap who took us to several snorkeling spots. That was great. The property has a great pool, and good food. The resort is away from the craziness of the two bays, but again, you can take a long tail boat to party if you so desire (although you would probably need to walk through the water to get there, so wear shorts!). There is a cute little village in the back, behind the property for other food/drinking/recreation options as well. Overall, we were very happy with this property, and if I went back to Phi Phi Don again, I would probably stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleJenny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this resort for 3 nights in December 2012 with our two boys of 10 and 8.

check in was a laborious one hour and a half as we were offfered a supposed up grade from our two superior bungalows to a hillside pool villa. My wife went to view the villa which was a long walk from the beach, smelt musty, had only one bedroom and easily determined we were better off as originally booked. We were then offered another supposed upgrade to a deluxe garden bungalow, which again my wife turned down as the distance from the beach was too far for the boys to get their easily. They seem to have overbooked the type of room we had had confirmed.

The room was clean and comfortable althouh rather close to the other bungalows which meant one sleepless night listening to our neighbours talking on their balcony until the early hours. The amenities were Ok although having creamer for the tea and coffee was thirty years out of date and remimiscent of a low end hotel.

Breakfast in the Dolphin Restaurant was just fair . The service was poor. The coffee came in a thermos flask (!!!) and was often cold. Tea was tea bags and water. In general the whole tenor was of a three star restaurant.

Our dinner in the Marlin Restuarant was a disaster. we were placed next to the rsident singers who sang toneless songs all night until we asked to move. By then ( there were only 8 people in the restaurant to 7 staff) another 45 minutes passed with no one coming near to serving our table. When we enquired as to where our meal was an embarassed waotress said they had lost our order. When the meal came it was poor. the service got worse as the staff were more interested in talking to each other than looking to see if customers needed service.

Our meal in the Coconut Bar and Grill was excellent although it did not start well as the Maitre D semmed to ignore the fact that we had reserved us a table and tried to place us on the deck when it was raining. After a protest tables were shuffled together , the Maitre D disappered ( thank goodness) and we had a pleasant evening.

The pool area was good as was the Beach Bar but the food at the Beach Bar has to be sent by buggy and was invariably cold

The beach was very narrow and fume filled from the boats at high tide and rather ugly and coral strewn at low tide.

The snorkelling was well organised but poor in terms of fish variety and numbers. There was too much litter evident in the lanscaoed gardens, there was no sign of any management around the hotel and indeed the manager we complained to about our disappearing meal was never to be seen again.

We would not recommend the hotel nor indeed the island itself as its just too touristy . We had better value and experiences elswhere in Thailand

Room Tip: The superior bungalows, whilst the cheapest, were good value and very comfortable. Its not worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had nice time there. The beach, if sunny is a real dream.
Specially if you consisder the other beaches and all the hectic of Ko Phi Phi.
When it is so nice and beautiful, you just notice some rare bad points like those:
1- they come and get you at Ko Phi Phi harbour (Tonsai town) but the first thing they ask you once arrived is 200 Baths per person for the transfer to come, and also 200 to return.
Why don't they include these 2 rides in the price of the hotel??! Viewed its position you don't have alernative. You just feel screwed as soon you arrive.
The attitude of the staff is not natural. I wonder if they are happy. This is not applicable to the members of the boat crew.
The wine list was very poor and not up to date. A few wines were not available.
The staff of the coconut bbq grill was very unhappy and not nice.
The breakfast people were nice, but we wondered if they got a bonus for each plate they took from us.
The Marlin restaurant was the best option in the resort.
We did the walk from the resort to Tonsai Town. It is 2km (60 min) but be prepared, take good shoes. It is nothing a healthy person can't do. But be prepared to cross a litlle jungle, we liked it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $157 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 189 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing