We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth. Must take a day trip to Phi Phi Lay!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The rooms were ok, and the bathrooms were very clean. BUT in order get from our bungalow to the restaurant/lobby area, we needed a map. It was very dark and scary, and negotiating the paths was complicated and confusing. I got lost more than once and wandered off for an hour until I finally saw the restaurant lights in the distance. Also, the staff are trained to tell you there is nothing outside the resort area, when in fact there is a tourist area full of restaurants and bars just behind the resort. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES TAKE A LONGBOAT TO TONSAI BAY BY NIGHT. It is dangerous and the place is terribly filthy and smelly, full of trash and drunk people. DO take a boat to Phi Phi Lay island during the day however, it's an unforgettable experience.
The location of the resort was beautiful, the breakfast was fantastic, the staff was polite, there were trees and flowers everywhere.
Not recommended for party animals, singles or families with children. It is a relaxing, romantic, quiet resort, perfect for honeymooners.
And don't forget your incect reppelant! Lots of mosquitoes on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christiana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,245)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,059 - 2,065 of 4,245 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Hi i am Prashant Thakur from Mumbai , India we have been there in may 2 nights and it's heaven on earth by all mean my 8 year old son just stayed in sea as much he can sky blue clean water . Amazing location . You must visit yong island and bamboo island for snorkeling . Long tail boat from hotel charged 1300 bath for 3 hrs + 200 bath for snorkeling equipment . It's must visit place .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prashant8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I were traveling across Thailand and spent just a couple nights at this resort, and wish we would have stayed longer. The experience was like a small Honeymoon! Absolutely beautiful and peaceful. This resort has a large property and large private beach on the island making you feel like you're on a private island. We staying in one of the private beach villas at the front of the property which was outstanding! Everything from the floor plan to the decor was perfect. As far as activities, it was very easy to hop on a longtail boat and venture to other islands or small towns on the island. The food was wonderful. The Thai restaurant on the property at the top of the hill is absolutely one of the best Thai restaurants we have ever experienced. I would highly recommend this resort for couples looking for their Honeymoon, or just some quiet romantic time together. It is top luxury and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlchisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Arriving on the beach at high tide is one of the great experiences. We caught the resort boat from Ao Po Marina (a bit pricey) and 1.5 hours later were drooped off on a beautiful white beach at reception (almost). Greeted with a complimentary pina colada and the experience just continues from there. Friendly staff and you really feel like you are on a magnificent desert island with a beautiful beach and coconut palms everywhere. The only downside is that it can be a long walk from your cabin to the pool and dinning area especially if its hot - which it is. It's been one of our great travel experiences. We also hired a speed boat that took us to all the unique, grandeurous spots on Phi Phi Don and Leh and bamboo and mosquito islands. 9000 baht for the day but but it was marvelous. We definitely go back

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmsvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. Paradise on Earth. Loved the little bungalows and although they are not 5 star in the Hilton sense of the word they were very quaint. They need to change the valances around the bed though (a little grubby). Loved the Village behind the resort very friendly people. The Knockout Bar served some awesome food. The villagers dont speak a lot of English but we managed. There isnt a lot to do on Phi Phi but this is the whole point. It is truly a place to go and relax and do nothing. The resort is so beautiful. The pool is just amazing but they do need to do something about the Swim Up Pool Bar Service it was non existent when we were there which meant we had to get out of the water and go to the bar for our drinks then come back to the pool. Oh and having to pay for Wi Fi was a bit off. other than those tiny flaws I would not hesitate to go back to PP again. 3 nights is probably enough.

Room Tip: Make sure you apply mossy spray. Try the Village behind the resort.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenflounders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We arrived at Phi Phi Island Village after spending a quiet 5 nights at the Tubkaak in Krabi - there certainly is quite a difference between the 2!
The Ferry from Krabi to Phi Phi takes 2 hours, you then board a small boat which transfers you around the Island to Phi Phi Island Village - on arrival that is what it looks like, a Village. The Place is huge, but certainly is beautiful.
The sea is very shallow here and you can walk out for almost a mile with the water just around your waist. Check around the sand before hopping in though! We went at the beginning of May, and on a couple of days there were a few jellyfish about! - If you see any around the shore, there are more further out. Most of the time it was fine though - I think they just got swept in from the rain further out.
In Krabi it had been raining, however Phi Phi seemed to be in it's own little bubble of sunshine - hardly any clouds, and so HOT!

The rooms are lovely, all on stilts with your own private balcony bit, however, if you are in a Standard/Superior room (like we were) you will notice that there are no photos of the bathrooms on the website... They are quite colourful (ours was blue and orange), do not have a bath, and no doors... Just white plastic curtains to close the toilet off from the bedroom, and a curtain again to close off the shower. They could do with a bit of updating.

There are a few Restaurants on site to choose from, and a coffee shop/wi-fi lounge next to Reception that also offers some good ice cream!

We received a 25% discount on any 'couples package' booked at the Spa is it was our Honeymoon, so took them up on the offer - the Spa was beautiful, private air-conditioned rooms that overlooked the sea, and the therapists we had were wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieDufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I know Koh Phi Phi Don is becoming more and more developed as the years go by, but this part of the island still feels "untouched" and almost like sacred land. You definitely don't get the same feel here as you would at a resort in Maui or the Bahamas. It is totally different (and MUCH less in cost!). Don't expect a generic resort, because that is not what you'll get at Phi Phi Island Village.

Value: Expensive for Thailand? Sure. Can you beat these prices for a similar experience anywhere else in the world? No. Take the price and multiply it by 10 for a comparable experience anywhere else.

Restaurants:
Dolphin - Awesome free breakfast buffet with beach views!
Marlin - Meh...not very good, but right on the beach.
Ruan - By far, the BEST Thai food I had in Thailand. So good. Don't forget to wear mosquito spray and beware of bats!
Coconut Grill - Looked nice, but never tried it.
Pool bar - Good lunches, amazeballs pina coladas.

Spa: Loved it. This is about as high end as spas go in Thailand and the prices are still half of what I what pay in the states. A driver in a cart picks you up from your room and drops you back off, which is really nice and convenient.

Rooms: Nice. Clean. Comfortable. Air conditioned.

Grounds: Well kept, nice pool, umbrellas everywhere (definitely come in handy), pay for internet access. WiFi available in lobby. There is a little village behind the resort. You can find the path behind the Marlin restaurant.

Activities: Lots of activities to choose from and you can charge everything to the room for added convenience. Definitely go to Koh Phi Phi Le. Maya Bay and Pileh Bay are absolutely gorgeous.

* THE CATCH * Getting there: Ok...when something seems to good to be true, it usually is. Here is the one and only problem about the resort. If you fly in from Phuket, the drive to pier to catch the ferry boat is 40 minutes long. ((WARNING- take an air conditioned shuttle bus to the pier instead of a taxi. Especially if you have never been on the roads in Thailand before)). The cab and ferry on the way there were both horrible. A monsoon hit while we were in the middle of the sea and it took about 3 hours in rough water to get to Koh Phi Phi Don. If we were to capsize, I doubt we would have all survived and Thailand is not the place I would want to be in the event of a medical emergency. After the ferry boat ride, we stepped off the boat and were harassed by a ton of people trying to sell hotel rooms, hostels, restaurants, long tail rides, etc. It was very annoying to say the least, esp. since I was still feeling sick from the ride. After all that, we had to take a long tail to the resort, which took another 20 minutes or so. On arrival, the hotel staff greeted us with cold towels and refreshments. It was a nice welcome. The journey to the hotel was long and stressful. I would not recommend it for seniors. Take seasick pills before going on a ferry boat. The way back was better because the ferry was bigger and nicer and we took a shuttle bus instead of a cab.


Aside from the treacherous voyage to get there, my husband and I had a fantastic time once we settled in. Like I said, you feel like you are on sacred land. We had the time of our lives! I will cherish the memories we made there forever.

May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisin_for_bruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear cruisin_for_bruisin

Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed report of your stay at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort and Spa. We're very glad to know that we compare favorably to places like the Bahamas and Maui and we are good value compared to there. We hope to see you gain soon. Sawasdee Khrap!

Mr Chao T, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
835 reviews
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $130 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing