We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star setting but definitely not 5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights. Upon arrival, we were seated for check in and given 2 delicious welcome drinks. And then the welcome wasn't so welcoming. I booked and paid for my booking 4 months before arriving. The booking was also confirmed by email by the hotel wi a reservation code. An irritated staff member told me she needed a printout of my booking. I didn't have one. I did remind her the hotel gave me a reservation code and that they had emailed me several times. This wasn't enough. She gave me a code for the wi-fi and I forwarded her my Expedia booking.
The standard villa was set in the furthest row back from the beach, which was not actually bad. Apparently, the resort was full although there were never many people around, which was very nice and relaxing. Breakfast was huge and very tasty - a large selection. Except, good luck getting a coffee. It is brought to your table in a thermos which you must ask for... if you can find staff. One morning, I couldn't get any.
The beach is secluded and very pretty - no other resort visible. Except, I liked the beach in Koh Lanta better - it was always swimmable. At Phi Phi Village, the tide was out in the morning and the evening. And by out, I mean far out. To get to a waiting long tail boat or resort boat, they drive you out.
We also received a welcome cocktail invitation on our first night which was only to try to sell us tour packages. The staff was very nice, however.
There are very delicious restaurants right behind the resort (not shown on any resort map) that also provide free wi-fi, which this resort surprisingly does not. That part is actually insulting - beautiful setting, nice rooms, premium pricing but, no free wifi. No paid wifi in my room either. I had to go to the reception area. Or to Padthai right behind the resort where I got a delicious meal for half the price of the resort and free Internet.
We ordered room service one night, left the tray out the next morning, returned to find the room cleaned and made up... and the tray still on the front porch baking under the sun.
Our finally night, we received an envelope with what we thought was the final bill and check out instructions. I went down to settle up and ask for the invoice to be in my name and not my partner's (the booking was under my name as well as the credit card being used to pay) and that took half an hour and a lot of confusion. And after being told that my credit card didn't work 3 times (actually, it did - the problem is the connection on the island). We were told to just leave our bags on the porch the next morning, return the key at 7:30 and go enjoy breakfast before meeting to leave the boat at 8. Wrong.
We were down at 7:25 only to be presented with an additional bill (apparently, for some reason they could not explain, they had not billed us entirely for a package we had booked), in my partner's name again. We went to eat while the lady readjusted the invoice. Upon returning, wanted to pay in Canadian funds like I had the night before and was told that I couldn't because my credit card wasn't set up that way. What? That's how I had paid the night before. Sure. At this point, I just want to leave. Nope - more papers to sign.
Honestly, this hotel is nowhere near 5 star service. I got better service on Koh Lanta on a nicer beach for half the price.
On top of it, nowhere in the literature in your room or atbthe welcome party does it tell you that there is a shuttle to Tonsai, that you can rent a long tail boat for 4 hours from the resort to do your own tour or how much spa services cost - despite giving you a brochure with the full spa services menu.
Would not recommend this place. A big disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aluminum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,244)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,141 - 2,147 of 4,245 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Wow!

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. This place is paradise!

GETTING THERE:
We paid for transportation to the resort which included pickup from our hotel in Phuket and transfer on a private boat. We didn't get the fancy ferry on their website, but the boat we got was just fine. It was a little pricey at $70 US each way, but worth it in my opinion.

THE WELCOME!:
After an hour long boat ride, we turned the corner of the northern tip of Koh Phi Phi to reveal a picture perfect, coconut palm lined beach with crystal clear water. Everyone on the boat was simply giddy at seeing this and we were all wowed by the welcome which included a cold towel to wipe of the sweat and salt of the journey, a friendly woman greeting us with a smile and a wai, a foot wash to get the sand off our feet, and a cool, tropical drink. From the moment arrive, you know you're in paradise.

THE REST:
-The bungalows are perfect. Beautiful, comfortable, with a private lanai.
-Food: Exceptional. Best green curry I had in all of Thailand, wonderful free breakfast buffet, and incredible lobster at the Thai restaurant up on the hill.
-The Pool: Gorgeous infinity pool next to the beach with a swim up bar.
-Cute little village behind the resort, perfect for dinner, a massage, or booking a boat tour.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaSteve312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I have just returned from 4 amazing nights here, and we are so glad we chose this resort. We were in Kuala Lumpur for business and wanted to try and fit in a break. The resort itself is entirely designed with the surroundings in mind, and it makes staying there all the more relaxing. We often feel that resorts like this can feel too 'man made' and spoil the natural beauty, however this resort was so sympathetically constructed that you really feel part of the island. The pool area is fantastic and the beach was simply stunning. Even though the resort was almost fully booked when we were there, it never felt crowded or busy, there were always free sunbeds and the private beach was never crowded - we feel this is one major advantage over other resorts on the island.

On quite a few reviews the service of the hotel is mentioned, during our stay we personally thought the service was excellent and we couldn't have been looked after better - from the moment we were greeted at the airport, to arriving at the beach and throughout our stay.

One thing I would agree with other reviewers on, is that it can be a bit overpriced once you are there, the gift shop certainly isn't value for money!

We had some massages at the spa, and they we wonderful. Although you can get cheaper options at the street behind the resort, the setting and atmosphere at the hotel spa cannot be matched.

The only problem we now have, is adjusting back to normal life in the UK, knowing that somewhere this breathtaking exists.

Room Tip: Try and request a room as close to the beach as possible, as the resort is so big, some can be very...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I've been using Trip Advisor to help me choose hotels for years, but this is the first time I have got around to writing a review myself - the least I can do given the phenomenal stay they provided us with for my 50th birthday.

We booked for 4 nights in a deluxe bungalow but were upgraded on arrival to a beachfront suite. It was certainly the nicest resort accommodation I have ever stayed in (although it would also have been the most expensive if we had been paying the full rate for it) - the private balcony looking out across the beach and sea was truly wonderful, as was the jacuzzi bath, and the manner in which it was presented was exquisite. I also very much enjoyed the trip to and from Phi Phi on the Resort boat, although my wife was not amused with having to transfer onto a smaller boat (and at low tide an "amphibious" land vehicle) in order to get to and from land - we had rather assumed that there would be a pier!

All staff were extremely welcoming and courteous at all times, and the food / facilities / service was top notch - sure it wasn't particularly cheap, but we didn't consider the on-site catering options to be too expensive (prices appeared to be comparable with many of the top Phuket resorts). On my birthday itself we booked a table at the Cocunut Grill and ordered the seafood basket for 2 - we then asked to see the dessert menu only to be told by a smiling waiter that "desserts had finished" (at 9.30!) which we thought was a bit off - only for him to return a few minutes later with accomplices and a birthday cake, which was actually very tasty. I don't know how we didn't "see it coming", but it was a nice gesture and very much appreciated. Wherever you were in the resort, it never felt crowded despite it being peak season (and presumably at, or close to, full capacity).

Could anything be improved? Well, the evening entertainment was a bit bland & repetative - we would have preferred something with a more local/cultural flavour, but in truth that was only a very minor issue for us. The gift shop, too, perhaps promised a bit more than it delivered, in particular the range of light refreshments it sold was very limited.

All in all, though, we absolutely loved the place, and I would certainly strongly recommend it to anyone willing to "push the boat out" when looking for somewhere special to chill out in celebration of a big occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pvfc819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2012 and loved it from the moment we arrived.

We were concerned at first that we would feel 'stranded' and forced to eat in the hotel restaurants but there are a few restaurants, bars and shops at the back of the resort which we used most of the time as the food and massages etc were cheaper than in the hotel. Knock Out Bar was our favourite, the food was really good and they give out board games for you to play with. The restaurant next door called Maya Bay was also really good, I even helped the cook make my Thai meal which was a real experience. On the occasions where we did eat in the hotel, the food was a bit pricey but very good so we really didn't really mind.

The breakfast buffet was great with a massive range of food available. The restaurant overlooked the stunning private beach so you couldn't be in a nicer spot to enjoy your breakfast.

We walked to Ton Sai Bay which took about one hour. It's a jungle path and quite scary in places with quite steep hills up and down so it's not for the faint hearted. We caught the hotel shuttle boat back as we didn't fancy walking it twice.

If you go to Ton Sai Bay, walking up to the viewpoint is a must and well worth climbing all the stairs.

The service at this hotel is second to none, as you would expect.

The only problem I had with this hotel is that you have to pay for Wi Fi and Internet. I would expect free internet at a resort like this where you are paying top prices. It was not cheap either (about £1 for 15 minutes).

Also, beware the mosquitos. I got bit so many times and heard a few other guests saying the same thing so they are obviously rife at the resort.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else if I ever I return to Phi Phi as nowhere else could live up to this place.

This really is a special resort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The facilities are lovely and the location is the best in the island. The staff is nice and willing to help. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay. But the hotel is definitely overpriced. For 200 EUR a night in Thailand, one would expect at least wifi internet and beach service (to serve drinks, snacks etc). Prices in the restaurants, in the spa and for the day trips are abusive in the hotel, one should be aware of that. I had a day spa (110 min) for more than 3 times the price of the same treatment in Phuket. Nonetheless, once you are there, the treatment is worth it and the spa is lovely. We only ate in the hotel in our first night (ridiculous price for 2 small pizzas and 2 beers). For all other meals, except when we were in day trips or in Tonsai, we went to the little village just behind the resort. Pad Thai was our favorite (great chicken pad thai, good service, really value). Also in the little village behind the resort, we hired Mote, a local tour guide who used to work for the resort. He had been recommended in another recent review in TA and we did not regret hiring him. He is excellent and the day trip is significantly less expensive than in the resort. We paid 2000 BAHT each, which is slightly more than other local guides in the village would charge you, but he is totally value. He snorkeled with us, showed us the turtles, snakes, calamars etc. I cannot swim very well and he held my hand so I would feel safer (besides the like jacket, of course). We went to Maya Bay first thing in the morning, before the crowds got there, and could enjoy a bit the beach. Then we followed to a wonderful lagoon where we swam and enjoyed ourselves. We also went to Monkey Bay and Bamboo island (really worth the visit, transparent water, beautiful). It was really a great day, one of the best in our trip. We also booked a boat with Mote to go to Tonsai one night. It was 1700 BAHT for 4 hours, but you can share the boat with other people if you want (and share the price of the boat). The visit to Tonsai was fun, it is well worth it. I would stay in this hotel again in the future, but would possibly look for more value options in other good spots in the island before booking it again.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms do not have a sea view, but are just excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerSPBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed here in Dec 2011 for Honeymoon. The location is fabulous. Bungalows are nice with walk in shower. Bed a little hard and I would rather better crispy sheets and comfy pillows. Food good and there was a big Christmas eve dinner and New Years dinner that was compulsory but really worth it. Amazing pool with bar. The hotel has its own activities would highly recommend swimming with reef sharks great experience. If you are a gym person which I am the gym is possibly the worst I have ever seen. Old rusty equipment up the hill in a little hut with a lot of mosquitos really awful not even 1 star gym. Unless your quite adventurous with a crazy walk,hike up the mountain at the back of the resort to main phi phi town (cant do once its dark as through forest) but really fun the only other option can be an expensive long tail boat. There are restaurants and bars at the back of the resort run by locals with great fish and cocktails local style and very reasonable instead of hotel options. Great memories would recommend.

Room Tip: I think the Bungalows at front facing beach have a bath I would request one of these.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
835 reviews
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $130 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing