We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled Out!”
Review of PP Red Tuna

PP Red Tuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled Out!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at Red Tuna Hut and took home some of our best memories from Phi Phi. This place is more of a relaxed place compared to the party atmosphere of Tonsai. The rooms are clean and comfortable, however please pack some mosquito repellent as you will need it. There are two ways to get here; via boat (800 Baht) from Tonsai Pier, or a tricky 2.5 hour hike through the jungles, all the way past viewpoints 1, 4 & 5. We took the hike!! If you do intend to make the hike, please ensure that you follow all the signs towards Laemtong and/or Phi Phi Village. The initial path goes uphill towards Phi Phi viewpoint, and the rest are basically small, tricky, and scarcely marked paths. When you arrive at Phi Phi Village, just ask for the Outrigger Hotel, and Red Tuna Hut is just behind it. A plate of fried rice here will set you back by anywhere between 100 - 180 Baht, while a large beer at the grocery store will set you back by about 80 - 100 Baht.

Finally, please do make friends with the owner of the place, Mr. Tuna, for he is an excellent person who is both friendly and knowledgeable about the island!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nighthawk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    23
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome authentic Thai food”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great experience . We didn't get a chance to return because they were closed on kings bday but the lady that cooks is awesome! Great cook , descent service . It does take longer since everything is made from scratch and I think she is the only one cooking. If in a hurry then don't stop here but definitely make a visit at some point during your stay .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suezq5385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal on Phi Phi Island”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place! If we were staying longer I definitely would go back. The staff were hilarious and friendly. The food was delicious...fresh fish right out of the sea. Definitely a must go for anyone in Phi Phi Island!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank blouiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Fantastic fresh food, wonderful service but very slow.
They cook & prepare from scratch.
Recommend going when not so busy as we waited over 30 mins from ordering.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody6717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Fresh from the sea seafood, a cold Chang, friendly staff and all for little more than what you'd pay for a pizza back in the states- fantastic. My personal favorite at the village behind Outrigger and one of the best meals I've ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirdum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PP Red Tuna also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to PP Red Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing