We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment!”

Sunset Cruise and Plankton Tour by Maya Bay Tours
Ranked #13 of 39 Tours in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy Maya Bay without the crowds. You will get the chance to Snorkel with the amazing Plankton when it gets dark. See the amazing underwater light show right in front of your eyes. Jump of our boat and watch the colors! You will find other Sunset tours on Phi Phi but we are different becausewe go later than the other tours. We leave at 3:00 pm and arrive out our destinations as the other tours are leaving. Sit in Maya Bay and watch the crowds leave.We have a 15 meter cruiser with music (bring your IPOD,Plenty of sun baking and shade areas. We have a toilet and fresh water shower on board. We limit our numbers to a maximum of 30 people.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A disappointment!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked on this trip after hearing all the good things on trip advisor. Well all I can say was it was a total disappointment! Minimal snorkelling in a busy area. Tour guide seemed totally disinterested in the exploring snorkelling/swimming/Viking cave. When we got to Maya bay it was so full with tourists we had to anchor around the other side of the island. This entailed us crawling through small caves and up what I can only describe as a steep net! After 10 minutes of walking we came across the infamous Maya Bay. It was lovely, and when the sun was setting it was a sight, however the guide was no-where to be seen and we were left on the beach until the tourists cleared. (A good 2 hours) Food was very good and well recommended however, if you want to drink Alcohol buckets and smoke joints this is the trip for you! After food it was all about getting drunk and stoned before returning to the boat at 2230. Evening swimming was much better with the glow in the dark Plankton, a really beautiful sight. We went to bed on smelly pillows and sleeping bags which I doubt had ever been washed (taking your own is great shout) An uncomfortable nights sleep (the weather wasn't great) and an early to start to well swim and look at nothing and we returned. Well recommended if you want a drunk and stoned night, definitely not for couples who want a good experience or families.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    77
    23
    21
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool for 5 minutes, (wait for blackmoon)”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The people with us on the tour are very friendly and I'm sure many families would find this great when on vacation. But this hardly is worth the hefty cost.
We had already done sunset and day trips before so we only did this for the plankton.

We did it around full moon so the light from the moon actually made it harder to see,. Generally the darker the better so wait for blackmoon to get the most out of it..

The plankton thing is cool for like 5 minutes then it's more of the same however swimming at night was equally cool for another 5 minutes.

I'd recommend doing the sleepover on board. That is way more value and you get to stay on the beach until 22-23 alone.. Very cool. Also plankton is visible on the beach shore as we'll and you can swim after midnight at your leisure so way more cool.

If you are afraid of sleeping on boats then the regular plankton cruise is fine but expensive and if possible do it around blackmoon for more coolness.
Otherwise do the live aboard and bank a better experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jxales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The night on Maya bay was my favourite experience in Thailand. I loved the people, the food, the atmosphere and the genuine experience. I already have and will continue to recommend Maya Bay camping.
Thanks so much for the memories
Erin and Andrew
Canada

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magical, out of this world experience!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

got to be the most under-rated activity on Phi Phi! I was skeptical as hadn't heard of many people doing this, but the luminescent plankton sparkled as i moved all around me and was literally magical! I highly recommend this if you want to experience something you've never experienced before

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for...and more”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First of all, it has been a dream of mine for ages to visit Maya Bay. When we got to Koh Phi Phi we really wanted to find a trip that avoided the droves of tourists, and even considered heading out with a private long tail boat in the early morning. We decided to give this tour a go and were not disappointed! Staff were really friendly and laid back. The tour is really well put together, not a rush to go from place to place. For the sunset plankton tour you get a decent amount of time on "The Beach" and to see the sunset (if you do the Maya Bay Sleep Aboard trip run by the same people you get even more time there). Expect to see some other boats come into the bay in the evening hours, but for the most part it will be quiet. And for us, like they said, you'll still be there when they leave. Swimming with plankton was amazing as well and, again, not rushed! We would definitely recommend this tour as great value for money! The Maya Bay Sleep Aboard tour seems well worth the money as well, will try that next time we're back! Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cruise and Plankton Tour by Maya Bay Tours also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Sunset Cruise and Plankton Tour by Maya Bay Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing