We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rantee Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #47 of 66 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2014

First of all, we booked this hotel at the Kraby peer with a local agency. They show us beautiful pictures. What's a scam. We paid 2400 bts for a night plus 100bts for commission. They told us that it is a new bungolow on the beach. When we discover the room, my girlfriend cried. The room was horrible. There were cockroaches on the bed, hundreds flies and mosquitoes in the bathroom (of course the bathroom is like outside with a roof). The bed is really strong (it's a board with a sheet). We decided to stay only one night so we wanted to speak with the boss. She is an horrible wife, she said that it's not her problem. Moreover, she said that this room cost normally 800bts (and not 1200bts as we paid). If we wanted to complain, we could go to the peer to talk with the agency (of course, only 3 hours to go there). We leaved this hotel after one night. A piece of advice : do not go to this hotel and never trust local agency to book a room !!!!

Room Tip: Bungalows on the beach are horrible ! It's better to sleep on the beach directly !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesglobetrotteurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Not only is the hotel over priced compared to the amenities, the rooms are bad and just not worth it. The bathrooms are horrible and beds are hard and terrible. We had initially planned for spending 4 nights, but cut it short to two on the day of arriving at this hotel itself. No wi-fi, and even connectivity to the main market places is not very easy. Food served is extremely mediocre and overpriced. Though the beaches are good and beautiful, the water was strwen with jellyfish, which kept many swimmers away. By far my worst hotel experience till date !!

Room Tip: My recommendation will be to simply avoid this hotel, even if it offers a great deal.. Just not wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsnroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our worst 1 night there. Actually we booked 2, but after the first night we just wanted to leave (and we did). We arrived by longtail boat but the waves were so big we had to jump into the water (with clothes). Electricity is often gone, the staff were bad, unkindly. There was no mobil signal and you can approach the resort only by boat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tOcikA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Basic lino and tin roof accommodation right on beach in quiet area, taxi is only 150 baht to main beach if you want. Cold showers, patchy mozzie nets, uncomfortable bed really hard mattress. Great staff, good food, friendly atmosphere and wifi after 6pm. A little overpriced.

Room Tip: some rooms are right on the beach, but all are good and within 20 metres
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

These are basic bungalows but clean and everything you need. The beach at rantee is quiet, and cleaned daily. The staff here are so nice and helpful, and food is delicious. If you are looking for a 5 star resort it's not the place, if you want a basic bungalow I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

No electricity (well after 6.30pm), no wi-Fi, no hot water, aggressive mosquitos (although there are nets in the rooms) but a great place to spend a few days if you're looking for a minimalist place to relax.

Staying in a little beach hut and being able to sunbath or swim out to the reef, or go for a walk up to the view point when you want whilst the waves come right up to your hut is just perfect if you're willing to skip the luxuries. Food was great with the chef's massaman curry a treat and evenings spent playing beach volleyball or cards with friendly folk without the tourist hoards made this a great hideaway !

Thanks momo !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Bugs in the bed, no toilet paper, electricity only some of the time, beaten up looking furnishings. Still reading? OK, this is the type of place that makes you question your choices in life. The huts are on the shore of a stunning beach with the high tide meters from your doorstep. The staff are relaxed and friendly: you'll find no tourist touts or scams here. I suppose that's what happens when you live your life on a tropical paradise island with no cities or even roads.
When we arrived at Ko Phi Phi we were offered a snorkelling tour for 1500 Bhat each: we refused, but the next day we saw the tour operators turning up to just off our beach with a herd of tourists to come snorkelling next to our hotel. We hired kit from the hotel for 50 Bhat and joined in.
The restaurant is good as well and very cheap. The chef has changed since some of the negative reviews so maybe give them another chance.
In high season you must book in advance or you won't find a place. In low season however you'll get a better price if you just show up or maybe phone ahead.
Sunrise will suit the type of person who loves nature, relaxation and a return to the basic. If your thing is more neon lights and shopping then I recommend you steer clear.
Oh and one more important thing: call the hotel beforehand to arrange a free boat transfer from the port! This will save you 600-800 Bhat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayners123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
0 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,847 reviews
0 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,720 reviews
0 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rantee Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rantee Sunrise Hotel

Address: Moo 8 Rantee Bay, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rantee Sunrise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rantee Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing