We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rantee Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #48 of 66 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our worst 1 night there. Actually we booked 2, but after the first night we just wanted to leave (and we did). We arrived by longtail boat but the waves were so big we had to jump into the water (with clothes). Electricity is often gone, the staff were bad, unkindly. There was no mobil signal and you can approach the resort only by boat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tOcikA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Basic lino and tin roof accommodation right on beach in quiet area, taxi is only 150 baht to main beach if you want. Cold showers, patchy mozzie nets, uncomfortable bed really hard mattress. Great staff, good food, friendly atmosphere and wifi after 6pm. A little overpriced.

Room Tip: some rooms are right on the beach, but all are good and within 20 metres
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

These are basic bungalows but clean and everything you need. The beach at rantee is quiet, and cleaned daily. The staff here are so nice and helpful, and food is delicious. If you are looking for a 5 star resort it's not the place, if you want a basic bungalow I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

No electricity (well after 6.30pm), no wi-Fi, no hot water, aggressive mosquitos (although there are nets in the rooms) but a great place to spend a few days if you're looking for a minimalist place to relax.

Staying in a little beach hut and being able to sunbath or swim out to the reef, or go for a walk up to the view point when you want whilst the waves come right up to your hut is just perfect if you're willing to skip the luxuries. Food was great with the chef's massaman curry a treat and evenings spent playing beach volleyball or cards with friendly folk without the tourist hoards made this a great hideaway !

Thanks momo !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Bugs in the bed, no toilet paper, electricity only some of the time, beaten up looking furnishings. Still reading? OK, this is the type of place that makes you question your choices in life. The huts are on the shore of a stunning beach with the high tide meters from your doorstep. The staff are relaxed and friendly: you'll find no tourist touts or scams here. I suppose that's what happens when you live your life on a tropical paradise island with no cities or even roads.
When we arrived at Ko Phi Phi we were offered a snorkelling tour for 1500 Bhat each: we refused, but the next day we saw the tour operators turning up to just off our beach with a herd of tourists to come snorkelling next to our hotel. We hired kit from the hotel for 50 Bhat and joined in.
The restaurant is good as well and very cheap. The chef has changed since some of the negative reviews so maybe give them another chance.
In high season you must book in advance or you won't find a place. In low season however you'll get a better price if you just show up or maybe phone ahead.
Sunrise will suit the type of person who loves nature, relaxation and a return to the basic. If your thing is more neon lights and shopping then I recommend you steer clear.
Oh and one more important thing: call the hotel beforehand to arrange a free boat transfer from the port! This will save you 600-800 Bhat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayners123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've just returned from a 5 day stay at Rantee Sunrise...wonderful beach away from the madding crowds and daytrippers of Tonsai, which is just what I wanted. I travelled with two children under the age of 10 and found the location just perfect. Yes, you have to get a longtail boat and pay 600 baht to get to the beach, but then that puts off the hoardes of day trippers who have ruined Tonsai, in my opinon. Once you're here you can just get out your book, suncream lotion and relax in a hammock. Bear in mind, this is a really budget style of accommodation.

Plus points: the above, plus clear crystal waters, a bungalow literally on the beach, no noise at night after 9pm, a clean beach, which was swept every morning, mossie net had no holes, cupboard in room had a lock, fun Reggae style bar and cafe decorated with shells, coconuts and white linen lanterns, Island Dream cocktails, and last but not least Momo who worked his cotton socks off to make our stay a pleasant and comfortable one. My daughter was ill while we were there and he helped me a lot. The breakfasts were great - muesli with fresh fruit, pancakes, french toast and honey etc etc.

Downsides: the food was expensive compared to other cafes on the beach (but the neighbouring cafe had filthy water flowing out from the toilets onto the beach, unlike Rantee which was cleaner). The BBQ seafood was overpriced and not brilliant.
Bed was hard but sheets and pillows were clean. No sink and the toilet had to be flushed with water from a bucket - think backpacker again!!

I've stayed in budget accommodation all over Asia and this place was just fine, given the price (900 bht). I'd come back again, thanks to Momo's hospitality and the perfect location.

Room Tip: bungalow number 4 right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarcube247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place through one of the tour guides, as it was recommended in our guide book. Big mistake. While the location is quite beautiful and secluded, you're also stuck here. First, they need picked us up from the docks, costing us a 600 baht boat ride, in which they lied about sending their driver to get us. Second, the accommodations are the worst in all out travels throughout south east Asia. Terrible service. Horrible food, service, and you're stuck here. We prepaid for 2 nights, and left after just one. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymakesmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
0 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,872 reviews
0 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
344 reviews
0 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rantee Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rantee Sunrise Hotel

Address: Moo 8 Rantee Bay, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rantee Sunrise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rantee Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing