We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay.... however could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay.... however could be improved”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of June. To get the the hotel we went on a ferry from phuket to the Holiday Inn resort where we were greeted by long tail boats to take us to the resort ( a great way to reach the resort however not very well organised on the ferry as we had to wait around 20 mins till our holiday inn tail boat collected us). On arrival we were given a welcome drink and a cold face towel to help us freshen up, this was definitely needed!

We only had to wait 10 minutes for our room to be ready as we arrived early. When we went to our room (sea view coral studio) it seemed slightly worn and not cleaned properly. Upon further inspection the air con did not work properly and someone had left a plate of half eaten fruit outside our door attracting ants. I called reception to complain and they immediately offered us a new room which was great customer service, When we went to our new room three doors down it was a lot better with an even better view. Our balcony steps led straight onto the beach (i think we were upgraded to a beach front coral studio).

The resort overall was clean. well maintained and the staff did look after us especially a man called Diamond. The infinity pool was very nice and the beach was magnificent, One issue i did have was that it was difficult to order food by the infinity pool as the staff were not always around it especially at lunch which was annoying.

In the evening we had to eat at the hotel restaurant as not many place near by. The food was good and we even tried a couple of their buffets (asian and thai) which were surprisingly tasty and good quality. However, we did start to get bored of the food towards the end of our stay and not everything was available on the A la Carte menu as they were out of ingredients due to their market boat coming once a week.

The entertainment in the evening was more suited to older couples and was the same every night as it was a man and woman singing songs mainly oldish songs.
Mosquito's were a big issue for us whilst we were there especially in the evening as when we woke up the next morning we would have been bitten throughout the night and would of found new bites which was not pleasant. Maybe the resort can make sure that they spray rooms every night with mosquito spray to help prevent this occurring.

Overall we did enjoy our stay, it was very relaxing and we were looked after. If you are looking for a relaxing few days in Phi Phi with your partner then this is the place to go but if your looking for entertainment on a evening and restaurants nearby maybe this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfresser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear bigfresser2014,

Thank you very much for taking the time to sharing your experience about your stay and for the positive comments made about our hotel like room, food and beverage and service of staffs,
especially Khun Diamond. he will be delighted to know his efforts and personality have been recognized.

Regards to your comment about organizing the longtail boat pick up from the ferry to the hotel, I'm glad to share with you that Leamtong beach have four resorts and all the guest of each resort need to take longtail boat from the ferry and also one longtail boat can carry the passenger for 8 person.

I have shared your comments about the room, air-con, empty plate out door and service at the Infinity pool with our Housekeeping, Engineering, Food and Beverage team to ensure that we provide a more attentive service.

I'm also glad to share with you that our hotel conducts bi weekly pest control visits and sprays against mosquitoes each time.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    883
    302
    116
    90
See reviews for
470
1,422
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for me and my boyfriend's anniversary. It was an enjoyable stay as the resort is well maintained, nice room and beautiful beach. However, we felt that it was overpriced in general. There was no choice but to eat at the hotel and we felt that it was quite boring as there's no proper place to party (maybe it's more suitable for old couple). After a while, we get bored with eating in the same restaurants. On the plus side, the sunset view from the sunset bar is amazing and the swimming pool is nice.

Do not do the private dinner by the beach as it was really overpriced and we could've gotten the same experience elsewhere with much lower price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear jnovia,

We thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services and appreciate your comment that our resort is well maintained and nice room.

I have shared your comment about eating the same restaurant and the price with the Management team to take appropriate action.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We got married here, and it was just amazing! The staff, the location, the wedding and price! The resort did everything, from music, fireworks, hair and make up, photographer, food, drinks, ect! we just had to show up! I would highly recommend it to everyone! Absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridiepapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Bridiepapa,

Thank you for your nice comment and complement about our hotel and staff!

We hope you will be back to our resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

1. We didn’t know Koh Phi Phi was so big – so we didn’t imagine that going from the hotel to the mainland could take more than one hour, and a very difficult mission. We are a young couple, and we believe that the hotel is more suitable to older couples, or to families with kids, rather than to people who wants also wants night life and restaurants (there are only two on this part of the island)
2. On the other hand, this part of the island is the definition of heaven on earth. The beach is absolutely stunning.
3. The hotel is very expensive in Thailand standards. Therefore, the fact the breakfast Is not included is outrageous, especially when there aren’t any good substitutes around. We went to a store nearby and to by snacks and soft drinks for breakfast.
4. A must see in the hotel is the sunset bar. A breathtaking view of the sunset, don’t miss it.
5. The rooms were rather poor for the price tag, and seemed a bit old. The bathroom needs a renovation, and there was a weird smell in the room. But the view was amazing. Just sitting on the porch, relaxing, and enjoying the colors, was nice.
6. Looking for a place to dive? The hotels on this part of the island offer a very expensive dive trips. We found a little cabin, with a guy called Tan, who offers more fair prices, especially for more experienced divers.
7. As the hotel’s restaurant was expensive, we found a restaurant nearby, called Jasmin Restaurant. excellent food, the Papaya Salad is a must.
8. Not just that the hotel is expensive – because it’s located very far, everything else is very expensive. Consider that when you calculate the prices of your vacation. Arriving to the main beach will cost you few hundreds Bahts.
9. It’s a holiday inn experience, for better and worse. Everyone knows good English, you’d feel like you’re not in a hotel in the far east. The best thing in it is the beach, but we’re not sure it’s worth the money.

Room Tip: we stayed in a king coral seaview studio. great view, requires a bit of walking, as the club carts o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Mayanr,

Thank you for feedback about your experience at our hotel.

Regarding to your comment about the room, I am glad to share with you that our rooms are currently undergoing soft renovations, like the re-tiling of the bathrooms. Decorations and flooring will be done thru 2014.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of making things right for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, the island is stunning, absolute paradise if you are coming from staying at Phuket or Bangkok previously - you'll quickly realise that this is paradise.

Secondly the hotel.

Positives:
- There is nothing wrong with the hotel as such as it's the location that you're going here for. The outside grounds and beach are beautiful. Staff are very friendly and will help with whatever you need.
- The 4 or 6 hour excursions to see various sites around the Island and Phi Phi Leh on long tail boat are a must and highly recommended.
- Free snorkels and canoe for use on the hotel beach
- Cleanliness of resort was very good

Negatives:
- Our room was a bit tired, with cracks in the walls and damp looking patches on the ceiling but I'm sure nobody who goes here wants to spend much time in the room.
- I got bitten to death by mosquitoes but not sure what you can do about this on a tropical island.
- Restaurant - overpriced. Decent food but not worth the money at all.
- Overall price of hotel - definitely not worth the price-tag and doesn't come close to the quality of other 4/5 star hotels we've stayed at in Thailand but for a couple of nights it's okay and probably the best option on Phi Phi Don.
- SeaBee's diving (NOT HOLIDAY INN) - extremely overpriced. Go to Tonsai, there are 15-20 dive centres there and you'll dive for half the price.

In view of all of the above I complained and the manager (Jay) came to our room straight away. I have to say he was absolutely amazing, he took on board all of the points that I made and I expressed I was a little disappointed. He put it right by discounting our hotel bill (meals and drinks) which made it good value for money in the end.

Not a lot to do on this side of the island and if you want to have a look around in the evening you'll have to get a long tail boat to Tonsai which will cost you around 1500 Bhat (return).

Thanks to all of the staff, especially Jay for making our stay a positive one.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MRPrice89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear MRPrice89,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

I appreciate your comment and compliments about the staff were very friendly and will help with whatever you need. and also the cleanliness in our resort. Our staff will be delighted to know their efforts and personality have been recognized.

Regards to your comment about the room, our rooms are currently undergoing soft renovations and decorations will be done thru 2014.

With regards to the mosquitoes, our hotel conducts bi weekly pest control visits and sprays against mosquitoes each time.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. Should you decide to return to the island, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly, so I can personally take care of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location with its own beach which you could snorkeling, kayaking, swimming or just stay there do nothing. Hotel provides free snorkeling equipments include everything (this is great !), kayak for free (1 hour every day) .
And the sunset bar should be a must-see for each and every hotel guest. It is a gorgeous view for sunset.

It is an expensive hotel but the beach and snorkeling worth it. Breakfast is great but lunch and dinner soon get tiring as there are not too many options.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit the sunset bar !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear a10jliu,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

Regards to your comment about lunch and dinner, I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef who is currently working on the service issues you have highlighted.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of making things right for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived at the holiday inn resort at around midday, the staff were quite happy to let us check in early. They took our bags and shown us to our room which was on the back row near the gardens. I thought it was going to be far away from the beach, but it was literally a minute walk if that. The beach was amazing! This is where we chilled out for our 3 day stay. It was very clean and very quite. There were activities you could do that the hotel arranged for you. But we did not do any of these. The buffet breakfast was very nice a good selection of foods but we found it expensive. We booked it on arrival and it was 400 TB per person and if you just turned up on the day it was over 500 TB per person. But what could you do? There were a few other restaurants on the beach but only a few and we didn't find them much cheaper. That's the only bad point I would say is that the food is too expensive. There is 2 pools but we didn't use either as we were there for the beach and it's amazing green coloured sea, but I would say that the pool did look more dated than the pictures give off. The rooms were very nice all in your own bungalow hut. The bed was comfy and spacious and the aircon was good too. The bathroom was clean and the shower was ok. It lacked a bit of power. Just be aware that this hotel is on the other side of the island from the ferry port and you have to pay 1,500 TB for a long tail boat to take you to the hotel. This was an expense we didn't know about which was pretty annoying and the same price back.

Room Tip: Don't worry about paying the extra Money for a hut overlooking the sea. Trees are in the way any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieran_elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Kieran_elise,

Thank you for your nice comments and compliments our hotel about the food was very nice and good selection and room was very nice! Especially the staffs were prompt service. They will be delighted to know their efforts and personality have been recognized.

We would have informed you. Our hotel is currently undergoing soft renovations and decorations will be done thru 2014.

We hope you will be back to our resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
3.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
821 reviews
2.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Address: Lam Tong Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Water sports activities, including snorkeling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing