We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge, excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Huge, excellent resort”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This resort is really great. There are loooooots of bungalows (so if you like to have few people around you, go somewhere else) and all of them are great. We stayed at the cheapest ones and they were first class. Really spacious, comfortable and not so close to each other, so even with the crowd you can have some privacy once you're inside.
There's a nice bar at the top of the hill, with an amazaing view, and food at the restaurants is very good. And they'll lend you snorkel gear and kayaks for free.
Couple of downsides: after 3 weeks around SE Asia, prices here will drive you crazy. You're paying for 1 night what you paid for a week in Vietnam, and for one meal what you paid for a plane ticket. So don't expect to come here and save money (I guess most hotels must be the same... blame DiCaprio for that).
Another one, not so bad. Once you arrive at Ko Phi Phi, the hotel is on the other end of the island, and you can only get there by boat (there are no roads inside the island). It's about 30usd to get there, and another 30usd if you want to go back to the port, say to go around the town. So it's not all that comfortable if you're planning to do that, even though for what we've heard there's not much to do there. If you just plan to stay at the resort, you can save that expense by booking the ferry from Phuket directly with the hotel, since the ferry will drop you right there.
So, suming up... we spent here the last 2 of our 23 day experience around SE Asia. It's different from anything else you'll see around. It's a honeymoon place, basically though to lie under the sun before a tepid sea with no waves. If you want to spoil yourself a little bit before going back home, this is a great place to do so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Juan R,

Thank you for your nice comment and compliment our hotel.

Comments like the one you have provided give our team continue motivated in delivering high standards of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    881
    301
    116
    89
See reviews for
466
1,416
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel presents itself as a luxury resort, but the truth is that yhe hotel we found was tired, outdated and simply not worth the four stars rating or the price we paid.
The resort is located in an isolated bay, reachable only by boat, which doesn't turn it into romantic and exclusive but into expensive and boring. From the ferry, the visitors are taken to the entrance by a truck, which is hot and uncomfortable. Also, because it is isolated, everything is more expensive around - food, diving, taxi boats.
The room was quite big and nice, but the bathroom needed some renovation.
The amenites were basic.
The public spaces were nice and reminded of luxury resorts, but were in need of some grooming.
So, in conclusion, although the place is categorized as a luxury resort, it is not more than an average, poorly located hotel, with a lot of potential, but not worth tbe money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 778moni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Monique O,

We thank you for sharing your experience about your stay on Tripadvisor

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services.

I appreciate your comment and compliments that our resort is luxury, public area very nice,
and the room was big and nice.

We would have informed you. Our rooms are currently undergoing soft renovations, like the re-tiling of the bathrooms. Decorations and flooring will be done thru 2014. Nevertheless, if for your next stay you prefer a more contemporary design in the room, I would recommend you to choose our newest Coral wing.

I am glad to share with you that actually the ferry will stop in front of our resort then we will pick up the guest to the resort by longtail boat. Nevertheless from December until end of February someday front of the resort very windy longtail boat cannot reach to the ferry that why the ferry will stop at the back side of the resort and the guest need to take a truck.

I have shared the comments about the public spaces were in need of some grooming with our Gardener team to ensure that we provide a more attentive service.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights in a beachfront bungalow.

The hotel is located at a very nice area. Our room was obviously not new and could use some maintenance here and there. However, it was clean, had all we needed and the bed was very comfortable. The location was beach front as advertised. From our terrace we stepped almost directly on the beach and from there straight into the sea. Good idea is that the room has no expensive mini bar. A refrigerator is available and you can buy your own stuff from a small shop at the resort at a reasonable price (at some local shops next to the resort, everything is even cheaper).

Besides the great location, one of the very strong points of this hotel is the staff. Everywhere you go, the staff you meet is friendly, smiling and very helpful. Breakfast is served as a buffet and has something for everyone. We had a dinner buffet one time which was good as well.

The swimming pools were well maintained. Everywhere, chairs and beds are available to use on the swimming pool and beach. Towels are available and you can get free snorkel and life vests if you want. We spent a lot of time scuba diving through the Sea Bees diving centre located at the resort. We can recommend this diving centre to anyone who wants to do some scuba diving!

One disadvantage was the huge amount of mosquito's everywhere in the resort (I am sure you will have that problem everywhere). The room had protection against mosquitos on front of the windows but despite all serious efforts, many of them managed to get in. We had an electric machine in the room against them, but that did not really help. One day our room was sprayed which helped a lot. A tip for the hotel might be to put one of these electric tennis racket type of insect killers inside each room....

Despite the mosquitos, we had a marvellous stay in the Holiday Inn. We have no other hotel in PhI Phi Island to compare it with, but can recommend it to everyone! For sure, we will go back here when we return to Ko Phi Phi.

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalow is really nice. It is just separated from the beach by a narrow foot path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, April 3, 2016
Dear Rob,

We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us in overall.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services. And I have shared your comments with our team members to continue motivated in delivering high standards of service.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Service was 13/10 ... Nicest people I met. Paradise would sum up this hotel and surroundings ! Only disadvantage is it's a boat trip to phi phi village. Perfect for relaxing is paradise !!!!!! Staff couldn't be more helpful !!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie2013h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, April 3, 2016
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It is the first impression that lasts, and for us, we did not have the car waiting there for us when we landed in Krabi. We waited 25 minutes and on the threat of missing the ferry, bought a taxi ticket, when the driver came rushing along.

It is a long and arduous treck to the Holiday Inn, but you arrive at an old, tired and 30 year old property, that is well, well beyond its prime.

Check in was a quick affair, but then there was no one to take us to our room as we stood there in the sun, and finally we were able to get someone to do the needful.

For a US$ 300+ tag, the room was miniscule, and the toilet was as big as a fair sized wardrobe.A small room as it was, it was designed in a split level, which meant the lower level "just" had enough space for the bed.

Stubbing toes on the corner-posts and tripping on stairs at night became par for the course.

The bed creaked like high heaven and I wonder what our neighbors thought while the AC hissed and wheezed all day and night.

But it was right on the beach, even though the beach is narrow, has a fair amount or coral, but was an enchanting view. Worth US$ 320 for that view - nah.

The sunset bar was nice, but then the check in staff decided that we did not deserve to get an invitation to the cocktails there ............. apparently, reserved for long-staying guests.

The pools were miniscule and very basic while the single Thai restaurant served up very very ordinary fare.

There is a nice lounge by the sea, but again tired, and surprisingly, hardly anyone frequented it or listened to Paloma sing her music.

This is a hotel that generosly says is 4 star but should never be more than 3, and the rates they charge are extortionary. It needs a serious renovation...........

I'd long wished to go to Phi Phi - this was our 25th anniversary, but I cannot say I made a wise choice in either the location, but certainly not the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Arjan V,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

I am truly sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations; especially the room therefore your comment has been passed on to the Project to take appropriate action.
By the way, I am glad to share with you that our rooms are currently undergoing soft renovations, like the re-tiling of the bathrooms. Decorations and flooring will be done thru 2014.

Thank you for noticing that check in was a quick affair and I have shared your comment about no one takes you to the room with front office team to ensure all our guests receive the same welcome.

I was sorry to hear that you have had problems with the car to pick you up; I have reported to the transportation company and they will investigate for this incident.

Regarding to your comments about the air con, I have asked our Engineer team to re check it, to ensure other guests are not inconvenienced by it.

With regards to cocktails at Sunset Bar, every Monday we are organized this event for IHG Rewards Club Member and returning guests. Nevertheless if some guest would love to join, we are always welcome and offer complimentary drink and snack.

I have shared your comments about the restaurant served up very ordinary with our new Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Manager who are currently working on the service issues you have highlighted.

I truly hope that you will be able to return to our hotel for your next anniversary and notice the changes mentioned. In the meantime, if I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Like many other reviewers, we wish we had longer on Phi Phi (in fact, wish we were there right now).
The island is just stunning, and the most beautiful place in Thailand. Very quiet if you are not staying at Tonsai where the ferries come in. The coast is stunning. The snorkelling is lovely, although the coral is severely damaged in popular places due to indiscriminate anchoring by the many boats. The beach is clean, with a fringing reef teeming with baby clams.
On a sunny day, the water is the most stunning pale blue. Has to be seen to be believed. Postcard beautiful.
Our stay was as we have come to expect from Holiday Inn. Great service, friendly staff, beautiful rooms. We had interconnecting beach view villas which were sensational and spacious.
Breakfast each day was positively regal. An enormous selection of high quality hot dishes, pastries (the worlds BEST donuts. Really), fruits, dim sum, etc.
Excellent service? On the day we left (which was quite a rough day on the water) the hotel ferried us to a waiting long tail into the water, with two porters, waterproofed our bags, provided towels, rode with us all the way to Tonsai (more than 30 mins) and then carried our bags through Tonsai (another 20 mins) and onto our ferry. Above and beyond.
Seems pricey..but consider that there is a huge breakfast each day, snorkelling gear is free, day trips are dirt cheap.
Easy to get to. We booked a speedboat transfer in advance, but the ferries are more than adequate and very cheap.
Not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, April 3, 2016
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We got married on the beautiful beach and it was like all the staff was there for us to make it perfect, relaxed and happy. Our children was practically adopted. And when we left we were followed all the way on board the ferry. Wish we were there!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristoffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, April 3, 2016
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
3.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
818 reviews
2.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,269 reviews
2.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,730 reviews
3.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Address: Lam Tong Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Water sports activities, including snorkeling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing