We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach, Old Rooms and Incompetent Staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Old Rooms and Incompetent Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

First of all, the beach is amazing. However, that isn't a reflection upon the hotel. The staff speaks zero english and does not care to understand what you're saying. I asked for a fork in the restaurant and it required 3 staff members to interpret what i needed. It took an hour for them to bring over a bottle of wine and then they got our food order wrong. Finally, we just walked out.

There were also bugs on the fruit during the breakfast buffet and the food was expensive and not good.

In terms of the rooms, they were really outdated and the shower broke twice during our 4 day.

Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jennifer G,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found our location to be recommendable. I am deeply sorry that you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the service received from our staff at dining. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that in the future you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    856
    293
    112
    85
See reviews for
445
1,365
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights after visiting Bangkok and staying at the Marriott Khao Lak for 5 nights. So this was an opportunity to visit an island. We had been pretty spoilt in Khao Lak but was glad we made the 'mission' to Phi Phi.

First of all arrival at the ferry - which always seems overpacked - was a little more less concerning as there were Holiday Inn staff there to ensure that they knew who you are.

It does take a while by Ferry but a much cheaper option than speedboat, but the journey is around 3 hours. Taking just over an hour to get to the first stop then you need to wait unload - reload then further up another 30/45 mins then you need to get the long boat. It is fine going there as your taking in the sights - going back its more tedious as you have to wait at the first stop for around an hour before the backpackers join the group.

Oh if you wasnt aware the Holiday Inn is at the north of the island far away from the main town. So you are quite cut off, i think the main town is the 'party' town so if your young and want to party thats where you need to head. You will be too far at the Holiday Inn if you want to party.

A mistake a few Australian girls made, also was a bit worried as they had a flight at 12.00pm to catch after we left - the ferry leaving at 7 never arrived back till the main port till after 10 - so i hope you got back fine if you read this :)

The resort itself is really nice, we stayed for 3 nights and have to say its very relaxing - we had a beach hut so literally got up and straight into the warm water. The cafe is nice too - you can sit and have a nice cool beer and watch the long boats come in of people visiting.

The rooms are basic but as others have said your on an island. But there clean and comfortable.

You are stuck really for eating and are reliant on the hotel - Khao Lak was 50% cheaper than here so this was a bit of a shock. The hotel restaurant is nice but quite slow. I suppose island life.

The problem is there is no alternative - unlike Khao Lak where there were gorgoues cheap clean restaurants on the beach. We ate at the sea gypsies one night - but ill be honest they dump all there rubbish right next to it (its a problem with the island - council tax doesnt go far it seems) so though the food is good - i dont know i just didnt feel great after it.

However that being said - I needed some laundry wasnt prepared to pay Holiday Inn prices and walked round literally were the rubbish tips were and ended up in a sea gypsies house and asked them if they would do it. There were kids washing and ladies sitting chatting a funny experience. They said name a price i think i said 150 bhat for a big bag (still double what i paid the locals in khao lak) and they did it for me - i did think that i saw it hangiing out on the washing line next to the rubbish - which made me chuckle - my calvin kleins and spurs shirt hanging there.

However picked it up and it smelt fresh and they did a stirling job.

You must go up to the sunset point for a cocktail which is really pretty - mind bugs though one went down gf's dress and she ended up stripping into her underwear and the laughing sight of some locals screaming.

The long boats you have to do - if you go to maya bay make sure that you go early before everyone else turns up - monkey bay is really good too.

If you go south to the hotel there is a path which is concealed - theres a few restaurants there and it takes you down to the next bay which is about 25 min walk - 5/10 min run. If your bored try that - be careful of the motorbikes though - but does make a nice run if your keen and into that.

I have very fond memories of being there. Its a bit far north of the island but gorgoues none the less and the reports I heard of the main town were not good so if you want to see Phi Phi and relax this is perfect.

Dont take the negative comments enjoy and sip a nice cool beer - there pizza's are rather good too.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Get on the beach side not the garden ones - could be a lorra bugs....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londondave91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, April 3, 2016
We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us in overall.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services. And I have shared your comments with our team members to continue motivated in delivering high standards of service.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel excellent. Choose rooms overlooking the sea and walk directly into the sand. Staff gentle. There is a hotel in the area to rent boats and organize tours for other islands and the price is not much different than hiring directly from the fisherman. You won't want to leave this beach. Wifi free and available throughout the hotel. I recommend to all.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SamBarbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, April 3, 2016
We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us in overall.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services. And I have shared your comments with our team members to continue motivated in delivering high standards of service.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having just returned from spending a week here, I'm sitting here wondering how a hotel like this can be reviewed so well. I think the reason is that (1) the location is just ungodly beautiful and people confuse the location with their experience at the hotel; (2) there are very few alternatives that appear better in the area; and (3) if you get stay here in the lower seasons when the prices are half the price I paid, you might find it a decent value. HOWEVER, let's set the record straight here -- this is a 2 star hotel in a 5 star location. This hotel missed every possible detail. Below is a partial explanation.

Bars/Restaurants: Expect to have the worst imaginable service. The bar is in a beautiful setting but we were often the only table there with three people working at the bar and getting a menu, a drink or the check required immense effort. The restaurants were just as bad and we often heard people around us complaining that they never received drinks they ordered, sending their food back two times before it was right, etc. If you do stay here, eat every meal next door on the beach at Jasmine. No bar service at pools or beach usually but once someone came by to take an order. We got our drinks 90 minutes later.

Rooms: The Coral rooms are far from the main area but offer nice privacy if you stay higher up. Best part of the room was the outdoor shower, which is a nice touch. Otherwise rooms are a bit grimy. Housekeeping does the bar minimum -- in 6 days our bathroom counter was never wiped off, shower drains never cleaned, etc. Balcony has a big wooden day bed but no cushion so it's useless. No minibar but you can buy stuff off the lobby at mini-bar prices (hotel pretends this is an advantage but appears to just be laziness).

Pools/Beach: The infinity pool (by coral rooms) and beach is gorgeous, but terrible towel service (run out, old and nasty towels, etc.), and almost no chairs. Even though the infinity pool probably had room for 25 chairs, they had about 8, so we'd commonly see people laying a towel down on hard wood floor and laying down. Beach is enormous, quiet and gorgeous. Probably the best beach of any hotel on the island. But they also only have about 20 chairs on the entire beach, a third of which are broken. The main pool has space for about 40 chairs but they only bought about 14. But the beach is incredibly peaceful. Almost no boat traffic, no one walking around selling you stuff, no one from other hotels using the beach, etc. You come here for the beach and it doesn't disappoint.

Fitness Center: They really don't have one. Not a single elliptical, not a single treadmill, and in a room you'd never want to walk in.

Internet: Use requires a long password and username that must be re-entered literally every time your phone locks or your computer goes into standby. Never experienced anything so frustrating. Who are they protecting the internet from? This is an isolated resort.

The Good: First of all, I doubt you will find much better elsewhere on the island. As I mentioned, you come to the hotel for the beautiful quiet beach and it does not disappoint. The hotel also has a sunset bar open for a couple hours each evening over the sunset period. This was a great touch. Beautiful location and well done. Also, while our rooms were far from the main hotel area, they offer breakfast and lunch at a location right by our rooms which was particularly nice for breakfast, and there is a nice pool by the rooms (and the beach extends down there as well). If only they had remotely enough chairs and any decent towel service by that pool we'd never have left that area.

Overall: if you know what to expect (have LOW expectations for the accommodations) and you are ok with the price for that (in our case we paid $450/night for what I felt was worth $150/night) then do it. You probably can't get much better in Phi Phi. Expect to be ripped off to spend a week in paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JML1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear JML1817

Thank you for uploading your review on Tripadvisor and for providing your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was not up to your expectations and would like to inform you some of the action we have taken to rectify some of the points you have raised.

With regards to the Bars and Restaurants, we have a new Food and Beverage Manager who has started on 7th January and with whom I am working very closely to solve the issues around service and food quality. I am most certain that as his extensive experience will show positive results in a short period of time.

Regarding the cleanliness issues in your room, our hotel prides itself of the highest cleanliness scores in the region and can only understand your findings as a personal performance problem with the maid that looked after your room. Please rest assured that the necessary training will be provided to ensure we deliver a consistent level of cleanliness.

On the subject of the pool chairs, it is our intent to keep these areas a relaxing place where everybody can enjoy some privacy too. Adding more chairs to both pools will definitely take this privacy away and clutter the space too much. But we most certainly appreciate your comment about the beach chairs and are happy to inform you that since your stay we have increased the amount of chairs on the beach and we have purchased 300 towels.

The treadmill that was not on the fitness centre is currently on mainland under repair. Unfortunately the company on mainland repairing it has been closed for the festive season, but they have promised to return it in the next two weeks. We apologize for the delay in having it back in the fitness room. I am happy to inform you, that we have also installed a brand new TV to the fitness room and that further enhancements are underway.

Thank you for your compliments on the Sunset Bar and the Coral Wing restaurant. The Coral Wing restaurant Chom Talay was opened recently to cater for our Coral Wing guests and there are plans of opening also a reception desk for our guests to avoid having to walk to the main wing for assistance. We are looking to complete this later in the year.

We have also received the Holiday Inn survey you have completed and will reply back to you on a private e mail.

In the meantime, I would like to offer you our apologies once again for any inconvenience and hope that we will be able to welcome you once again to our resort.

Sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I don't particularly like very basic backpacker hostels, but don't want to splash out too much on a luxury hotel either - I like to get value for money... okay so I'm like most people in that regard. Holiday Inn on Phi Phi is a well run hotel and beautifully designed (maybe it suffers, as do many large resorts, from lack of personality - but we knew that would be the case with hotel chains like Holiday Inn).

The rooms are spacious (and clean of course) and are set among a large tropical garden, which you access via gangplanks. The restaurant was good and so was the service, but it was a bit expensive. What annoyed me was that you have to pay for all extras, which amounts to quite a bit of money. F. ex there was an extra charge for Wifi, which I think should be a free service. Also the breakfast was pretty expensive and while there was a large variety, it wasn't the best quality.

When you add all that up the hotel is in my point of view a bit expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahVH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear SarahVH1982,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the rates that we offer. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights on this amazing island at the Holiday Inn Resort in a deluxe beachfront studio in December 2012. The room was very clean, well presented and literally a few steps off the beach. The water was warm but careful during low tide as the rocks with corals (and some sea urchins) are at knee depth, lucky the water is crystal clear so you can see where you are going. It is a snorkelers paradise. The resort is set in beautiful gardens with a lovely spa on the beach. There were two pools to choose from and the three restaurants have very affordable prices and excellent food (do not miss out on the seafood buffet). There is also a dive centre on the resort. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. For a special romantic night, don't miss the beach dinner setup for two, it was truly a magical experience. Absolutely gorgeous way to end a honeymoon. Well done Holiday Inn, we look forward to coming back one day.

Room Tip: The deluxe beachfront studios are excellent, right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenAndBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, April 3, 2016
We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us in overall.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services. And I have shared your comments with our team members to continue motivated in delivering high standards of service.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went there with our extended family and we had a fabulous time. Our bungalows were right at the beach front and the view was fantastic. We also enjoyed listening to the waves at night and watching the stars on the sky. Kids can just play on the beach outside the bungalow. Overall very quiet and relaxing. Kids enjoyed going to snorkeling at Nui Bay and Monkey Beach. We also took a walk (30 mins) to Lanah Bay and enjoyed waveless beach and white sand.

The service at the water activity was not all that friendly. Other staffs are very friendly and helpful.

Food was good in general but we also enjoyed walking 2 minutes to Jasmin next door. They have great Pad Thai and BBQ seafood.

Overall a great stay. We would come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
3.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
3.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Address: Lam Tong Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Water sports activities, including snorkeling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing