We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - what a nightmare!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuphaya Seaview Resort
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My friend and I booked this resort for a 6 night stay through a travel shop in Bangkok at a cost of 18000 baht and it looked stunning on the website. What a shock when we arrived at the pier for our transfer to be faced with a good 20 minute hike, initially through the little lanes of the resort and then up a steep path through what appeared to be a residential area which included piles of very smelly rubbish and stagnant pools of water. The level of steepness increased until we were met by a motorbike driven wagon to take us and our luggage up the final incline to the resort. At this stage, before we had even checked in, our hearts were dreading the thought of having to undertake this trek a couple of times a day to access the town and the beach. By this time it was 13.00 hrs and we were told by the sullen receptionist that we had to wait an hour before we could check in to our bungalow. My friend and I sat on the terrace, and despite the lovely view, had to admit that it simply wasn't an option for us to stay at this location with the steep hill, no lighting on the path and being faced with the rubbish tips and piles of old tyres (god knows where from as there are no cars on the island) every time we wanted to leave the resort. We asked the 'sullen' receptionist if we could come to some sort of compromise ie: we pay for two nights and get a refund for the other 4 nights as we would not be able to make the trip up and down the hill because of a knee injury. We were faced with a completely blank stare and told that under no circumstances was this an option. We reluctantly decided to bite the bullet and cut our losses and asked them to call the Anduman Beach Resort to check availability for our stay as my friend had strayed there previously. This they kindly did and then tried to get us to pay THEM for the hotel with an additional 5 percent credit card charge (it's 3 percent everywhere else). Obviously we refused and a poor young lad transferred the luggage to the another resort. This was an expensive mistake and we should have made sure to have checked Trip Advisor before confirming the booking; we would never have considered this resort based on the mainly poor reviews.

Room Tip: We didn't actually check in!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anniekentuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 190 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved it here ! The staff was very friendly upon greeting us. Helped us with our bags and even took them to our room when we went out for the day. They helped with tours, places to eat and even talked about the island itself.

We stayed in the bungalow which was perfect. Sure you can hear the noise from the beach but it wasn't bad. There is a slight climb to the hotel but its very short and only 5 min walk from town.

We did book one more extra night and we had booked the wrong date through expedia. However, they totally worked with us and obviously switched the date.

The rooms are cosey, clean and close. I would reccomend staying. It really was a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sankeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at around 6 different places on Ko Phi Phi and this was by far the best.

Yes you can hear the noise of the late night bars, but its the same for most places around the beach. There is a reasonably steep walk up from the beach but not as bad as some of the other hotels on the island.

Breakfast was the best value, the view was the best we found and the rooms far nicer than similar priced accommodation.

We had a mosquito net in our room which worked fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We made a booking for the wrong night, admittedly our fault. All we asked was to have them switch the day, the room has been pre-paid. They had available rooms & while waiting there they also had a cancellation that evening for a pre-paid booking. They still refused to work with us in changing the booking date. We had booked through Expedia, who also mitigated on our behalf. We understand that they have their policies enforced, however, it was their demeanor that was off putting to us! They were unrelenting, rude, and openly greedy, by saying "We are trying to make money now that it is high season!" We witnessed their rudeness to other guests as well, ignoring their small requests, e.g. requesting for extra towels for kids.
We second the motion on previous reviews, which is don't book here, there are other better accommodations on Phi Phi Island!!!

Room Tip: Be aware that Phi Phi Don (Tonsai Beach) is very noisy as this is a party haven. If you want more pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank spuntanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Phuphaya for one night in December 2012, we had been planning to stay on the island longer but decided to head straight to Koh Lanta after our night at Phuphaya...

Pros:
- As everyone else has already said the view is fantastic
- Phi Phi is a real party island and a lot of fun to visit

Cons:
- There is no mosquito net and even with repellant on we were both bitten multiple times (worse than anywhere else on our trip to Thailand)
- The room was incredibly basic and could get you something much nicer on other Thai islands
- The noise from the bars can be heard into the very light hours
- The walk to the beach/town involves a large hill
- The staff are very unhelpful and despite us booking our boat tickets to Koh Lanta through them and being told it included a baggage transfer to the pier a member of staff drove our bags to the bottom of the hill and left us to make the rest of our way on our own

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zurich_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night during our honeymoon travels. Firstly expect to walk to the other side of the island when you arrive on the pier- allow 20mins. It is in a quietier part of The island. Great views, good service. Rooms are small bungalow style with basic features. Use the mosquito nets! We made the mistake of sleeping without and woke up in the middle of the night covered In bites. Breakfast is small and you can hear the partying of the island until 2am. This hotel is nothing flashy but nice with this setting.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungerTravellersOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

in the heat, you do not want to be hiking up to this hotel. Then a second hike up to your room. Remember you may want to return to your room several times a day, and this location makes you dread returning.
The breakfast is also a big disappointment. Very stingy. You may choose, one of 4 or so choices. If you you choose, jam and toast, you will receive 2 pieces of toast, and a small pat of jam. You may have a small glass of juice OR a coffee OR a tea. Not good compared to all the buffet breakfasts I had at all other Thai hotels.
I was also very annoyed they only supply 2 bottles of drinking water on the day of your arrival. They would not supply us with water after the first day. Not impressed.
Finally, the hotel is covered with security cameras throughout the grounds, that are huge eyesores - at eye level - and pointed directly into the front window of our bungalow!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#29 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#24 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#19 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuphaya Seaview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuphaya Seaview Resort

Address: 9/1 Moo 7 | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $24 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuphaya Seaview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Phuphaya Seaview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing