We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They know how to create FUN! - Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibex Climbing & Tours

Ibex Climbing & Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Ibex we offer a fun and exciting rock climbing experience. No experience is required! Our introductory climbing classes are designed for beginners and intermediate climbers who want to learn new skills in a safe yet challenging environment.Our experienced guides are there to help and advise you each step of the way, to your own abilities and strengths.For the most amazing view of Phi Phi Island from high above, we climb Tonsei Tower.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They know how to create FUN! - Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We found out about IBEX when I was looking into rock climbing tours on Phi Phi island. Their Fantastic 3 in 1 tour was very eye catching on the website, plus the price's so affordable. So we decided to give it a shot for 3 in 1 first to see if they were worth it for us to sign up for Deep Water Solo for the next day. It turned out to be a BLAST! Best tour I have ever attended! They have really awesome guides to keep us safe and entertaining all the way. It was just too much fun and surprises to handle within 6 hours. You can find our first hand detailed experience and pictures on my blog -

http://www.worldlytravelersguide.com/2013/02/fantastic-3-in-1-tour/?S=TA

The moment we came back from the private beach BBQ to the island, we immediately signed up for Deep Water Solo with them. They earned our trust by putting up with an indeed fantastic tour. The minimum headcount for Deep Water Solo is 2. We were lucky enough to be the only 2 ppl who joined this tour on that day. In other words, we were like VIPs guided by two awesome guides Art and Kit. No ropes, no harnesses, no carabinars, no rappel devices whatsoever, the only climbing gear we needed was rock climbing shoes. We climbed, we fell or jumped directly into the water. The most natural way of climbing on the gorgeous superstar island in Thailand with cool people absolutely hit the spot! For more details, check out my blog post -

http://www.worldlytravelersguide.com/2013/02/deep-water-solo/?S=TA

All in all, IBEX knows how to create FUN! Highly recommended!

P.S. A waterproof bag is recommended if you would like to join any of their tours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    32
    11
    18
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing 3 in 1 tour - you don't swim with plankton and beach BBQ was lame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Signed up for the 3 in 1 tour as it was cheaper than the alternatives but wish I hadn't. We went to Maya Bay and did some snorkelling which was fine but then we went to their private beach where we were basically stuck for 2 hours wishing we could go home. The BBQ was poor and small portions (a third of a potato each and a tiny bit of chicken), the fire show was the worst I've seen in Thailand and then to top it off to see the plankton we just waded out knee deep into the water. It was advertised as 'swimming' with plankton but they don't give you a snorkel and without a snorkel you lose so much of the glowing effect. Incredibly disappointing! Actually swimming with plankton is meant to be incredible and I know now other companies do it properly so I wish I had gone with them.

The first boat home left at 8.30pm and everyone was so desperate to leave from boredom they were jumping on from all sides, of course there were no lights on the boat so in the pitch black everyone fell on top of each other and a few people got hurt.

Although cheap it's really not worth the money at all.

Helpful?
Thank Lomy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEWARE - total rip off and dangerous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Beware if you are considering going on the boat tour with this company. Apart from the terrible organisation (even after allowing for the local laid back way of life) and the fact you don't get to swim with glowing plankton (they take away the snorkelling gear so you can only walk in knee deep) it is dangerous! The guys running the tour get really drunk then start getting aggressive towards anyone who questions all the stuff they are miss out. The worst though is drunk boat drivers take you home and in our case almost sunk the boat when we CRASHED into two yachts! Unfortunately I can't say anything positive about this company at all. Go with someone else!

Helpful?
Thank TMOreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“would recommend to everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Did a half day climbing tour in the afternoon (we wanted to sleep in)! There was four in our party plus another couple, six in total, and we got fitted for our gear in the store, and walked along the nearby beach to the cliff walls we would climb.
Two of our group were experience rock-climbers
Two were not.
The guys at Ibex are funny and courteous, and are happy to give you tips and directions no matter what skill level you are. They gave us water and fresh fruit which was awesome while you were waiting your turn. The climbs are varied in grade, and you can just talk to them about how hard or easy you would like to challenge yourself.
Our friends who hadn't climbed before had heaps of fun!

Things to note:
The views from up the cliff are AMAZING.
The guys can provide a carabeena to strap in your camera so you can take some shots. If you ask nicely they will also take photos for you/of you and your group.
TAKE INSECT REPELLENT. Unless you like being eaten alive. You're in the jungle/forest, you're going into mosquito territory!

By the end of the trip (i think it was a few hours) we were happily exhausted and hiked back to the office. It was a great day out, and cheap too!
Recommend!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank j_girl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Private beach was awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I only went to their beach party - a cool, secluded little beach just across the south bay. Good food, cool fire dancing; a very chill evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fruchle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ibex Climbing & Tours also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Ibex Climbing & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing