We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under new management :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of K House 2

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Phi Phi Don
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
K House 2
2 reviews
“Under new management :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Please don't let appearances put you off, the rooms are as clean as any you'll find on this island, just not luxury.

Having said that, awesome air con, fridge, tv, ensuite, and decent beds.

Insanely friendly genuine staff, the new manager is great and seems to have turned this property around judging by past reviews.

They put on free food every night in the common area. We weren't charged for late checkout or for bottled water in the fridge when we offered to pay. They didn't want to accept our tip and gave us cold water as we left!

I've been travelling Asia for 2 years and this place is my favourite in phi phi.

Young people especially should give it a shot.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Masseeh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    3
    1
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

As we are a lazy travelling group, we turned up to Koh Phi Phi without having booked accommodation. Having wandered around for the best part of an hour, finding no hotels with 3 bed rooms, we stumbled across the K House 2. The staff there at the time didn't speak much English, but we learnt that at the exact time they didn't have anything available, but would have if we gave them some time to organise the room. We decided to brea the bank and stayed on the beach that night, returning the next day.

When we returned, they showed us to the room and we decided to take it because it was very good value. The third bed was a mattress on top of a mattress, but my friend didn't complain once that it wasn't comfortable. The other two beds were standard singles.

The room had a fridge, excellent air con (we coined the term 'baltic' for how cold it went), warm shower and a secure door. Toilet roll and soap was provided, as well as a bottle of water each when we moved in.

The staff were fantastic. Every time we saw them they smiled and said hello, and were always on hand to answer any questions we had. They were very relaxed and we didn't actually pay for the room for two days; they trusted us.

If you don't mind having a laugh with Thai massage ladies, then this is right up there, as it's located next door to a parlour. They are funny and also very friendly, saying hello and recognising you when you walk past. We felt secure staying here, and the staff/Thai locals played a big part here.

Proximity wise, the hotel is a 5 minute stroll to the beach, and the same to the main bars and restaurants of the island. You're also practically next door to a great Indian restaurant, we spent quite a lot of time eating in there.

We didn't have any complaints, in fact when we returned to Koh Phi Phi a week later, we stayed in the K House again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disco_lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've been in Thailand for over 10 years now, I've seen some shady stuff hotel wise but this one wins 1st place for the most horrible place in Thailand . Bed sheets full of yellow stains and brown stains resembling blood or maybe they used them for painting, moldy pillows, broken toilet, useless shower with 2 settings scolding hot or freezing cold. Furniture is broken down and moldy. The entrance door can easily be broken into. Small bar close to it playing insanely loud music until 4 in the morning. Strong pesticide odor which made us fear of being the next people dying of mysterious deaths in PP. Needless to say we ran away really fast from this hell hole. When we needed assistance there was nobody at reception from 6pm to 9am !

To top it off no WiFi and all this for 1500 thb a night ! Do yourselves a big favor and stay far from this place, heck don't even look at it, it might be dangerous for your eyes.

You will get much much better deals elsewhere if you are luckier than us and the island is not booked tight. We would rather sleep on the beach instead of having a place like this!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thailandstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Broken toilet. Dirty shower. Smelly room. I paid $40. Not sure what else you can have in that range but probably something cleaner. Look for something else. Skip this one. This is all I have to say but I'm told this space needs to have 200 characters.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilaWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have travelled to over 30 countries and stayed in all sorts of accommodation – this is possibly the worst place I have stayed. Dirty, unkempt, and unclean. The sheets were not only torn and gray; they had cigarette burns as well. The toilet handle came off in my hand when I tried to flush it – and the toilet itself had not been cleaned. The shower had almost no water pressure to speak off, the AC roared, and the bathroom didn’t even have a mirror. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: There are many cheaper and cleaner alternatives - arrive as early in the day as possible and just tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry86262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

In one word: disgusting. Terrible service. Nothing works in these rooms, including the safe. They're disgusting and dirty. Our air conditioner dripped, which was a given; however, it was molding underneath the AC unit and the staff dealt with the problem by covering the moldy area in masking tape and painting over it. There were cockroaches (also a given in Thailand) but there was a surplus in this hotel and found them everywhere- including in my bed. Linens and towels were dirty as well. There was no water pressure or temperature control with our shower head. It was extremely low and always scalding hot.

This place is a travelers nightmare. I'm not a picky person, but I do expect cleanlieness when I pay for a room. Bottom line, don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

For 700 bath, you could have in low season, a double room with A/C and TV. The staff is ok but not so helpy. The room was ok but in our bathroom we found a big dead cockroach because the ventilation trap didn't have a screen. We were staying at the second floor so by the trap we could see the attic ... The second day, we found another dying cockroach in the bathroom. We met some people who stay to the same place before us and says that there was a lot of mold in their bathroom. So if you want to stay there, ask to see the room before. And don't be surprise by the dump in front of the house ... There is no breakfast and no internet.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
B Place Guesthouse
B Place Guesthouse
#12 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baia Baia
Baia Baia
#54 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Uphill Cottage
Phi Phi Uphill Cottage
#9 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pirates House
Pirates House
#13 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beacha Club Hotel
The Beacha Club Hotel
#16 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dee Dee Beach House
Dee Dee Beach House
#3 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K House 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K House 2

Property: K House 2
Address: Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing