We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals on Phi Phi!”

Pum Thai Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 101 Restaurants in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School - open throughout the day. Daily cooking classes available.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had lunch twice at Pum Thai on Phi Phi Island. This restaurant was clean, had a great, hip ambiance, and had amazing-tasting, fresh food and drinks. The selection of food was small compared to the overwhelmingly thick menus you get at most other places, but it had a great selection of noodle, soup, & rice dishes along with a few others. I loved the unique selection of fresh homemade juices available. My first lunch was Vegetarian Fried Noodles with a fresh Roselle juice and on my next visit I had the famous Green Curry & an amazingly fresh homemade lime juice. This was truly one of the best Green Curry's I've ever had! It could have been spicier as I requested EXTRA, extra spicy, however the flavorful blend of herbs and spices made up for it! This is one of Phi Phi's best restaurants, and it's also CHEAP. Dishes are 99 Baht or less! Don't miss out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HollyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PumThailand, Propriétaire at Pum Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear HollyAG, you've said it all! Thanks for appreciating our cuisine and drinks, and taking your time to share the experience on tripadvisor. Ìf you want to cook our curry by yourself, it will soon be possible because we will very soon have our online boutique, where you will be able to buy our curry pastes and other ingredients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Pum Thai Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 236 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had such a fun time at Pum, our hostess/chef was brilliant! She even sang to us while we cooked! The recipes and method are so easy to follow and you learn about Thai culture too. Would definitely recommend if you are looking to learn some quick and easy Thai dishes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tinkerbobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PumThailand, Propriétaire at Pum Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Tinkerbobble, thank you for your kind review. Recipes of my Lazy Cuisine are indeed simple, to allow you to cook at home without stress! But don't forget to smile and sing while cooking, it is important to ensure a great result. Remember the curry paste song? Pok pok pok, Touk touk touk...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had dinner in Pum's and we really like it, was delicious and atmoshere was really nice there. We decided to take cooking classes and it was great expirience. There was ingredients introduction and we cooked 3 simple meals, there was also a little chat about culture and life in Thailand which I really like it. At the and we eat our meals and got book with few recipes. It was nice kind spending of time, don't expect that you will be Thai chef after 3 hours course.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank iwona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PumThailand, Propriétaire at Pum Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear iwona k, thanks for your comment. Indeed our aim is not to transform into a Thai chef, which would not be possible in one course anyway, but to teach you simple recipes you will be able to cook easily when you are back home. You will nevertheless impress you friends, because they don't know how easy it is! Hush! That's our secret...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Was a great afternoon at Pums. The staff were amazing & had us laughing the entire time. The produce was so fresh & the class is very hands on. The cook book we got to keep too was fantastic & I've used it a few times since coming home. You will not be disappointed!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashleelara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've spent few hours in Pum's cookig school and had a wonderful time! Great chef, very funny and helpful, good food and interesting recipes, I highly recommend! Not so much for the cooking because it was too short to learn many things, but for the hanging out with great people!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank AnToniaS3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pum Thai Restaurant also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Pum Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing