We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food poisoning”

Restaurant at Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
n.wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had one evening meal here and my daughter suffered severe food poisoning which spoilt 4 days of her holiday. She ate a prawn curry and had a violent response within an hour. All 5 meals ordered were served luke warm. I regret not sending them back and refusing to pay. We only ate there because of the setting and fairy lights, what a mistake. I wish the chef could have seen and experienced my daughters suffering. Ironically every other meal out of our 12 nights of travelling involved eating street food and eating in restaurants well populated by local people and we were all fine. This was the only evening meal eaten in a more resort type hotel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jevans10032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    58
    31
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, average food and grumpy staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location is amazing; situated right on the beach with candlelit tables. Food was average but not overpriced for the island. Staff were grumpy and thoughtless, my food was delivered within 5 minutes of ordering whereas my partners came out 30 minutes later, why not just bring them together?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice location, average food and service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Because this is the hotel's restaurant, it is convenient for all the guests.
It is also on long beach (IMO, the best beach on the island) which makes it a really great location.
Food is fairly priced, but very average. Pad thai, fried rice and all dishes are edible, but not nice.
Drinks are a bit expensive, but okay.
Only thing I can recommend are the fries.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food and drinks were delicious. I enjoyed the cocktails served in the coconut. I may have been a little tipsy but we shared the New Zealand mussels and they were the biggest mussels I had ever seen. This is another strong statement to follow, but they might have been the most delicious as well. They came with fresh coriander and chillies which caused a deluxe flavour sensation!! We ate here both nights we stayed in paradise pearl - we never do this as love trying new places but there was no reason the leave. The rice dishes and the Thai red/green curries with cashew nuts were great. The view is something else, I recommend getting there for sunset cocktails and remain there the rest of the night. Remember bug spray as the mosquito's were out in force.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xJMadzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“main hotel on long beach which is open for all the hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

used this hotel restaurant even though staying along at paradise resort. It has beach front views and despite seeming to be the only hotel restaunt on long beach open in an evening, they didnt over charge either.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Restaurant at Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing