We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phi Phi Chang Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here back in September of 2013 for four nights. We had booked another place but there was some confusion in the booking so we decided to find another place. It was a pretty cheap place so we were like "why not". We chose to stay in one of the nicer villas but it really wasn't that nice. The air conditioner doesn't do an efficient job of cooling the room. We would have it on full blast the entire time while sleeping and we would constantly wake up sweating. You walk everywhere on the island and the walk to and from the resort is awful. One of the routes walks right past some sort of waste facility and the smell is just beyond description. The hotel staff seemed pretty clueless to the operations of the resort. We had ants in our room and they did very little to remedy that. They sprayed some bug spray and that was it. There is a lot of construction taking place around the resort and it's quite noisy.

Room Tip: The villas don't cost that much more than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    34
    24
    47
See reviews for
6
65
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

You can walk here (only way as there are no cars on the island) from the pier in about 10-15 minutes. If anybody offers you a free map when you get off the ferry, take it as although it's basic it does help as Phi Phi is a bit of a maze.

You'll walk past hundreds of English, tattoo places and bars but this hotel is a bit further out, the one positive was it was quiet. Take a torch if you go out as it's dark with not many street lights.

We arrived at the hotel paid cash on arrival think it was only about £17 per night, pleased we only stayed one night and were moving on the next day.

The room did not look like the pictures. We had a glass sliding door which didn't shut properly and had a dodgy lock. The bathroom stunk of sewer and only had dodgy looking soap dispensers. You couldn't put any paper down the toilet.

Really disappointing wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimbojones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. They never cleaned our room once in thoose 3 days. The bathroom had a stank that was discusting. The breakfast was not good. They gave us the wrong key, several times.

When we checked out they had to take a look at the room before we went, fair enough. But then he was saying the hairdryer was missing. And I told him, there never was a hairdryer. And he started to say he had to check our bags. But then all of a sudden, everything was good and we could leave.

I would never live here again. Theres other hotels that are cheap and much nicer!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasmira87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Well... I was expecting a little better given it wasn't the cheapest place. The 'garden view' room had a sliding door at the front but no other windows which meant the room was very dark if you wanted some privacy. And the garden although green was more of a random piece of scrub. The hotel is at least a 20 min walk from Tonsai peer. Wifi was slow and weak and the reception staff are just downright unhelpful (please learn some customer service!). Just stayed for one night and didn't have the breakfast so maybe this was the redeeming feature. There must be better options for places to stay in Tonsai or even better, take a long tail round the coast to a quiet beach resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've read several reviews on this site which are sensationalist and emotional - this review is neither. The below is a true representative view of the accommodation and the only review of this hotel worth reading.

Pros:
- Slightly better than sleeping on the beach.

Cons:
- We booked two single beds and were given one double bed. It took then twenty minutes to find a second bed - we strongly suspect they took the bed from another room and didn't change the sheets as there was sand in the bed.
- After promising the washing would be returned in 24 hours it took almost two days, we had to consistently chase it. We think the plan would have been to sell it if we hadn't insisted on getting it back
- "Garden view"is a patch of scrub land looking onto a shanty town
- Based on other reviews we didn't even try the breakfast - strongly suspect it was horrible (AVOID)
- Terrible value for money
- Rude, unorganised staff, reception not manned 24 hours.
- Many workmen on site updating the villas - noisy, hazardous
- Manager had the key to all safes so security was a huge issue. We countered this by setting some elaborate taps when we left the room
- "Bell (end) boy" could barely carry our bags which is surprising as the hotel is next to a boxing gym. Stronger staff required.
- Strong suspicions the manager was a full on bender

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a trek from the port if u have backpacks its a good 15/20 mins!
We booked on the internet and paid around £30 for a standars room.
We were taken to our room and got settled when thw pipes started banging constantly, we got the guy to come listen and he swapped us rooms the next room had an ants nest in the room which we descovered when the all came running up the wall, once agao the guy came and sprayed the ants cleard the mess and we stayed in that room for the night! It had a fridge tv (300 thai chanels no english) air con and one spare plug! The safe had a master key so not totally secure from the staff! Our room was over looking the shanti town! It has no spa and grounds are ugly next to a boxing gym!
Breakfast was egg toast cold chips amd a chicken leg?? But the person who served us was nice to us and kept my fella mesmerised as it was a lady boy! After one night we went down the road to another hotel for 500 bhat a night instead! The beaches at phi phi are ruined beer bottles and rubbosh on the far beach and the front beach full of boats it wasnt the paradise we expected and as an island accomodation is crap but expensive, food and drink expensive although i would suggest buying beer at the 7/11 and taking it into the beach bars on just on to the beach and party

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Firstly there was no evidence of any spa at this hotel! We were originally set to be staying nearer to the harbour in a 4* hotel with a nice pool, this fell through and we were offered this hotel instead. We were shattered so we accepted, here's what we found
Good points
Beautiful airy rooms with lots of natural light, four poster bed and superb shower

Bad points

No pool
Having to hand in your key every time you left
Unorganised staff loosing keys or giving you the wrong key
Disgusting breakfast
A hike to everywhere past the smelly waste way
After spending £75 a night at this establishment you'd like to think that they would offer a carrying service down to the port with your bags (other hotels offered this)

The rooms were lovely but the setting and service just wasn't too great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uglyscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#25 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#27 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#18 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.0 mi away
Natacha Hotel
Natacha Hotel
#29 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Chang Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Chang Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Phi Phi Chang Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 197 Moo 7, T.Aonang | A.Muang Phi Phi Island, Ko Phi Phi Don 8100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Chang Grand Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phi Phi Chang Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Chang Grand Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Chang Grand Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing