We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend ”
Review of JJ Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JJ Residence
Ranked #5 of 61 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would recommend ”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days recently and would definitely recommend it. Cheap, based close to both beeches and the pier and also most bars and restaurants but just far enough away to be quiet when you want to go to bed. Room was basic but very clean (staff seemed to be cleaning something in the hotel all day) and everything worked. Get the deluxe room with pool access as you have a gate off your balcony straight to the pool. No bar or anything but staff friendly etc. air con was Ice cold as well. Only downside is that you have to walk through where they're selling food to restaurants by the side of the road but not a big deal.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rm-uk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    117
    64
    14
    15
See reviews for
22
135
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Having read some of he views we we're a little sceptical, however we never needed to worry.

This hotel is well located in so far as it is close enough to the beach, bars and restaurants while still be in a quiet area. We found the staff very friendly and courteous. Our room was very clean and the bedding and towels we changed daily. The room had a safe, fridge and they provided two bottles of water each day.

There is a laundry right opposite charging 40baht per kg and they only took 4 hours.

I would recommend this hotel and pleased I went with our reviews, we are a 50 year old couple and stay in places from huts to hotels and is one of he nicer ones we have stayed in.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Apinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

it was highly unpleasant stay. Positives is that the room is clean and large.
Negative- need to take off shoes every time you enter the hotel, hotel is 4 floors with no lift, staff are rude, there is bad lighting in the room and the curtains mine as well not be there, hotel is in a random side street and need to walk past a terrible dirty and smelly butchery and food market (smell is horrific), there is a building site next door the hotel with noise starting at about 6am, pool looks good in pictures but wood around the pool is broken, there is hardly any space to sit and the lounges are wood with no cushions, they do not give pool or beach towels which is unusual for Thailand hotels and finally there is a big sign in the bathroom that says " fine 2000 baht if place toilet paper in toilet" (ridiculous)

Room Tip: bottom floor is better as there is no lift and bottom floor rooms have direct access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

There's way better places for the amount of money you pay. The sewage system is horrible we had poo come up the toilet, our room constantly stank like curry and poo! Not to mention the loud banging of construction day and night. And as a sweet topper we had a massive roach in our room!! The area is in the slumy parts of town. The front of the hotel looks nice but make sure u stay there not the back area. Or just go somewhere else...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in good location only 5 mins walk from the pier and main bar areas and someone is there to collect you on arrival at port. Because it's a 5 min walk to bars and the beach area it's quiet at night.Rooms are clean, we booked through booking.com and despite the confirmation confirming we pay during stay they charged our card over a week before our stay without notifying us. When we went to speak to someone about it there was no one on reception (7pm) when we checked out the following morning at half 8 still no one there and they've not responded to an email we sent them. We paid more for a pool access room and it wasn't worth the money, the pool is small and doesn't get much sun, no real need when there's 2 beautiful beaches less than 5mins walk. There are plenty of lovely guesthouses and BBs on Phi Phi for a lot less money with very helpful staff, one of which we moved to. We were in a ground floor room at JJ and it wasn't secure. The bathroom window didn't shut properly or lock! Definitely expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKGerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the JJ Residence in September 2013. The accommodation was extremely central and the ideal base for our holiday. We were met by a lovely gentleman at the pier who guided us to our accommodation. We were placed in the recently renovated accommodation which was of a great standard as accommodation in Phi Phi can be extremely basic. The accommodation was great value for money. The wifi was a bit hit and miss during our stay however the cosmic restaurant close by had great wifi where we dropped in each morning for breakfast. Close to all the bars and restaurants ideal location. We have very few negatives however we did find the cleaners quiet pushy and they tended to arrive at different times on different days. I also forgot a painting at the hotel and tried to contact the hotel to see if they would release this to my friend who was still on the island. After numerous calls and no satisfaction my friend dropped in both on the day we departed and the day after and was met with an attitude that she was delaying staff. I knew exactly where the painting had been left however the hotel denied all knowledge and were unwilling to leave her check where it had been left. For this reason should I return to Phi Phi I will be opting to stay elsewhere as I found after such a great stay to be met with such attitude was appalling and leaving the accommodation itself down.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Den100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is one of the more modest of hotels in the island. It is not on the beach but it is close enough that its a quick walk away from everything we wanted to be near. They cleaned the room everyday and provided new towels and linens each day. They had a great down comforter that was my favorite thing. The bathroom could use a bit of an update to the shower area but not bad.

There was a flat screen TV with satelite which was unexpected and nice to have.

We had a balcony and pretty great view. Oh and they also take credit cards which was nice.

Room Tip: This hotel is not on the beach but close enough. We had a room that was not in the main building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,379 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Residence

Property: JJ Residence
Address: 95 Moo 7 Aonang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — JJ Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your JJ Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jj Residence Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing