We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay with caution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phi Phi Popular Beach Resort
UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stay with caution”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed here with 3 friends. We had two rooms, a superior and a deluxe.
Rooms were both adequate size with good bathrooms and showers.
Resort is at the end of a long beach on the same side as the pier so you can see lots of boats. It isn't quite the private beach I expected but this should have been clear if I investigated further. Hotel provides sun beds ad umbrellas and a roped off swimming area.
Service left something to be desired as wifi was not available at all during our 3 day trip , and whilst the room was being cleaned we watched the cleaner let a non resident into our room to use our bathroom! We complained there and then to the owner who did apologise and tell off the cleaner however this did marr our experience somewhat as this is simply unacceptable and we wondered what happens when we were not there to watch our room being cleaned. Breakfast quality is good but you are only able to choose 1 dish- eg museli , toast, eggs. This seems a little tight for the price of the bungalow. Also the breakfast menu seems to have been taken from another hotel. Odd.
And finally the monkeys.... On our first day they were a problem. Running up to our sunbeds, rugby tackling a tourists bag to the floor from her hand and stealing her gatorade. Incredible to watch but not something I would want to repeat. The subsequent days weeks not see them so perhaps it is hit and miss.
Overall, for this price bracket in
Phi phi this hotel is ok. Ten
Min walk from town. I would also suggest you check mama beach and nice resort, both next door for their reviews.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had two weeks in family room which was in the last building, right under the cliffs.
This made for an incredibly scenic position , ten minute beach walk from village and on a lovely netted private part of beach. Staff were helpful , breakfast was cooked on order and was quite nice. Room was basic , uncomfortable beds, good ac and bathroom even more rudimentary.
Big however.......
Monkeys were a nightmare. They were around our balcony when we checked in, we went to town to eat, my husband returned early with tissues and cold medication from pharmacy and was promptly mugged at our steps by the rogues.
We had a big glass sliding door and we had to keep it closed as over a dozen would be at our window at any given time so no drinks or snacks outside and beach tricky too. Carried umbrellas to get safely out of our room.
An interesting experience as we became the zoo but not the relaxing break we had in mind!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyliediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had a booking for Popular Beach Bungalows in early September. Arriving at 7pm at the hotel, nobody was there, and it was impossible to reach them. After two hours, we decided to check-in in another hotel next door. Later on, the hotel refused to give us a refund because they considered we did not show up!

We talked to other guests in the hotel: the bungalows are clean but not worth the price. The beach in front is very dirty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambrosiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We originally booked the Popular bungalow as it looked remote/rustic and had favourable reviews.
Our first disappointment was the location...there was nothing tranquil or remote about it but a mere 10 minute stroll from the main ferry pier. I accept part of the blame as a comprehensive map may have highlighted this.
Upon our entry to the reception area, we were greeted with a grunt from the owner, who was reclining on a lounge suite with a towel over her face. After a couple of false starts, she finally identified our booking and showed us our room.
The room itself was nothing flash, this is not a complaint however, it is as I expected & as it is depicted in the online photos.
What wasn't to our satisfaction however was the room servicing...or lack of it. We stayed 3 days and 2 nights & our room remained 'untouched' during that time. I certainly don't need to have fresh sheets everyday, but to have the beds made & fresh towels provided should be a given. On enquiry we were advised that the room is only serviced every third day & fresh towels are on request only. So 'I requested fresh towels'...which were provided at what appeared to be a great inconvenience!
The restaurant serving the daily breakfast (included in the price) was outside on a sheltered deck but was riddled with buzzing flies & numerous scabby cats. The tables and chairs also had colonies of marching white ants, no amount of sweeping could curb their migration.
The menu selection was good...just a shame that the food itself wasn't! It looked and tasted as if everything had been thrown in the deep fryer...including the eggs.
Needless to say we ended up paying to eat elsewhere.
Last but not least is the issue of the monkeys.
Be wary of these 'cute' visitors as they can be quite aggressive, especially if there is food involved. We found we could not even sit outside on our lovely baclony to enjoy the sunset, the monkeys will even come into your room if you accidentally leave the door ajar.
Unfortunately I have to say that this is the worst accomodation we stayed in during our whole holiday. Please consider carefully before booking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wentworth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We caught the ferry over to Phi Phi and my son asked could we stay the night as our destination was Koh Lanta . I said as long as we could under the beautiful cliff to the left of the pier. They had guys with fotos and cards waiting and you can pick a place We walked a long the beach front and ended up at the popular it was lovely and private .the room was like a tree house at the base off the cliff. Run by a friendly family ...you just have to watch the time as they stopped cooking dinner quite early. There are other places that were still able to cook , It is a much quieter part of Phi Phi but as a family that is what we wanted It is only about a 10 minute easy walk to town anyway. they only had air con which isn't my thing , hubby loved it though. The water out the front is crystal clear and netted off so very safe to swim and snorkel.The view was breathtaking and for the price about $50 a night for 3 , i have seen them on Agoda now so they are taking internet bookings.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cb1SandyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We discovered this after staying at a horrible place nearer the ferry.
We stayed in the very end of the beach, in a bungalow on stilts. We wondered why we had got the place so cheap...until we 'mugged' by a couple of monkeys !! Seems our 'monkey boy' was asleep !!
This guy sat under the bungalow all day with a catapult, keeping the monkeys at bay !
Large rooms, the typical 'wet room' was a bit 'poky', but was no problem really. Just the best aircon on the island ! Nice comfy beds.
Good tv reception for rainy days, although typically out of approx 80 channels only a couple in English ! Superb view, and right on the beach, nice little restarant too, with very helpful waitresses. All in all an excellent spot.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.9 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#11 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Good View
Phi Phi Good View
#11 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Beach Front
Phi Phi Beach Front
#21 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island
Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Islan...
#18 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chongkhao Resort
Chongkhao Resort
#18 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
PP Princess Resort
PP Princess Resort
#16 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Popular Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Popular Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Popular Beach Resort
Address: Moo 7, Tonsai Bay, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi Popular Beach Resort is a resort located on the island of Phi Phi. Ton Sai Bay. All bungalows on the beach Provate beach front resot is beautiful and suitable for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Phi Phi Popular Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popular Beach Bungalows Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing