We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Le Grand Bleu

Le Grand Bleu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Amazing restaurant. I lived there for over a year and would have eaten there every night if I could have afforded it.

Not the cheapest but amazing food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    113
    29
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice dinner, but a bit expensive”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Grand Blue is a busy place with nice thai food. Is was a bit on the expensive side compared to other places we ate, but the restaurant had a nice feeling to it and was very clean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Favourite Resaurant on the Island”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have returned to Le Grand Blu every time we've visited PhiPhi and was never disappointed! Gorgeous restaurant very peaceful and charming. Staff are lovely and helpful. I get the Muscles to start ever time it's my favorite dish, I'd eat it every day if I could! The mains are very nice too, amazing mash and they do a lovely chicken casserole. desserts equally delicious. I'm getting hungry thinking about their food now!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelOzAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely went twice!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Four of us ate there,fish and meat dishes.The restaurant is lovely and the staff polite and really motivated.We all thought the food and atmosphere was so good that we went back again next night and it was just as good! really recommend this restaurant

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“It's about the food, not just the presentation and ambiance”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We ate at "Le Grand Blue" at the recommendation of our hotel staff, who cited that a lot of travellers are asking for direction to this restaurant.

While service was rather efficient, and the location / ambiance is pleasant the food at this place was truly DISAPPOINTING: stay away is you look for anything that is actually remotely Thai-food tasting (and the "French" food dishes were not much better).

Tagliatelle with Mushrooms, Cream and Onion were indeed home-made, but completely undercooked, drowning in cream and with rather tasteless mushrooms. Coconut satay-like, staff recommended starter was OK, but again nothing special. Tom Kha Gai totally tasteless - just coconut cream, nothing of the delicate flavor balances that this soup should have. Simple fried rice with chicken was again bland. Creme brulee had a good taste, but was still ice-cold from fride, with only the caramelized sugar flamed to heat it up.

On the positive side, all food and drinks were presented nicely, and portions were very generous - but then: what does it help to have more of so poor food?

When I commented to the head waitress about our disappointment (my partner is Thai, and I travel & eat out frequently across Europe and Asia) she did not even notice, or apologize in any way.

So - stay away. Even though this is Phi Phi (and therefore most choices are not great choices) there are much better places to eat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gourmetflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Bleu also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Le Grand Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing