We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice for Phi Phi Village Centre!”
Review of PP Insula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PP Insula
Ranked #1 of 66 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is a great choice if you don't want to splurge on a resort but you still have high standards - the rooms are very clean, there were absolutely 0 insects, and overall the rooms have a sophisticated look to them. You definitely want to ask for a room on the harbour side - the view is really nice! For being right in the centre of the village, we felt very safe and it was quiet during the evenings - the main door is locked at night and you get a key card for access when reception is closed. They don't have any food service here but that's ok because you have some great choices in the area. Just across the road on the corner is a great little breakfast spot called Pajay's bakery and one street down you can find Anna's Restaurant which I both highly recommend! It's just a short walk to both sides of the island for going to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jetsetter977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Room had a pretty hard bed, good a/c, tv, fridge, clean bathroom (shower was really good).
No real complaints.
Booked this for a few nights till we could find something cheaper, looked through over ten other places but this was significantly better even than similar priced places (did find an acceptable room for half the price with a/c, tv etc...)
Would recommend PPInsula if you can afford it.
It's handy to the pier as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim_499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel really is a great choice. It is clean, friendly and in a fantastic location close to restaurants and bars. There is even a sea view from your balcony.

With regard to the Andaman coast, I would not recommend it at all in the rainy season. I have been here for 8 nights and there has been no sun (not even a millisecond). EVERYDAY is overcast and raining. If you are dreaming of sunning yourself on a beach paradise this is definately not the time to do it. Even worse my trip to Maya bay was cancelled because of the weather. Come in high season only.

If I was to return (in the high season!) I would definitely stay at this hotel. It is double the price of hotels on the mainland but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shellowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

friendly staff, clean rooms with good beds and a private bathroom.
we had a twin room and payed 1250 baht. comparable rooms in hotels cost much more and we didn't want a wooden hut with an open shower, but some place to have a relaxed, clean stay after the beach or a party.
the place is a little hidden between shops in the center of the main village.
sometimes the stairways were a bit smelly, but the room was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank akjm3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I've been in Phi Phi 4 times and this is the best accomodation I've found. Very friendly staff, spotless clean rooms very well equipped and decorated, located in the very centre of the village but extremely quiet (especially the rooms at the upper floor in the back, no view but silence, a luxury in the crowded and animated Phi Phi). Nice touch the free wifi and the safety deposit boxes in the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Thira66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This place is quiet, clean and mostly away from the backpacker craziness that dominates Ko phi phi while still being centrally located. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a small balcony with a great view. The staff were friendly enough. All in all, we had a wonderful 4 night stay here. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandrazimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed 1 night in Room 305 double A/C room.

I didn't really like the location, it's kinda hidden (even though it doesn't matter in Phi Phi, it's all walkable) but it doesn't matter because they have beautiful quiet rooms with free wifi.

Wifi was so-so. I find most places we've been to in Thailand the beds are hard but sleep-able. Shower is cold in our room. Not sure if it's normal but we didn't mind. It was great to see it had a wall and curb to keep the water away from the toilet.

They had a lot of racks and desk/shelf surface to place your junk everywhere haha. Nice and big surfaces. There's a waredrobe and a safe.

Aircon was super good. Balcony there isn't really a view. You have to take off your shoes in PP Insula Hotel.

Overall, we had a comfortable stay and no complaints :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meileitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#7 of 66 in Ko Phi Phi Don
313 reviews
0 mi away
Panmanee Hotel
Panmanee Hotel
#3 of 66 in Ko Phi Phi Don
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Insula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Insula

Address: 194 mu7 T. Ao-nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $33 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your PP Insula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Insula Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing