We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure with a central location”
Review of PP Insula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PP Insula
Ranked #1 of 64 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This place is right in the middle of the Phi Phi tourist village, a short walk to everything, including the two main beaches. The rooms were well designed, everything worked properly, there was a safe in each room, and the whole property was very safe and secure.

I haven't given it an excellent rating for two reasons - the mattress was too hard for my liking, and I was asked to pay a deposit in advance. I have no problem with paying a deposit, but the demand that it be done through Western Union was a hassle, and cost me quite a commission. I would have been quite happy to pay a deposit via credit card or bank transfer, but they don't allow i.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mysteriousmose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 334 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed at PP Insula for 5 nights over NY 2012 (we paid 1800 Baht/night for high season for a twin room). I’d booked well in advance (Sep) and had to pay a deposit via Western Union which was a bit of a faff and extra expense, but worth doing considering it was high season and I wanted to secure the room. The reviews on here swayed my choice and it didn’t disappoint. Yes, it is pretty basic, but also very clean and in a great location. Only a 5 min walk from the pier so not too much of a trek with luggage, and far enough away from all the bars to be able to get a good night’s sleep (if you want it!). There’s also a great market just opposite to grab food from, and a couple of supermarkets next door. Room was cleaned daily, there was a safe and a fridge, good wi-fi connection, and we had a little balcony overlooking the bay. The guy on reception was very friendly and helpful. We had some friends staying at a nearby hotel and paying more and after seeing our room, said ours was much better and cleaner. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor, wi-fi connection was good, little balcony overlooking the bay was a nice touch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angel_Delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is on market street, which makes a stay a bit noisy, it's a 5-6 minute walk to the beach. Rooms are rather large (for PP) and what is extremely great about this hotel - it has a good and clean shower with very hot water (it's rare for Phi Phi). The beds are comfortable, condition is not noisy, so you can get a really good sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diana_Di_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

You get everything you get from a hotel at pp insula, except things like pool and breakfast (who needs a pool on phi phi??). Solid and nice room with a/c. Friendly and helpful guy in the reception, we borrowed snorkeling equipment for free. Hotel is very central in the town, but good distance to the noisy bars. I can't remember hearing the bars actually.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quieter and has better view than 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just arrived & walked five mins from the pier. They had two rooms left so we took one. 1800 bahts due to the islands high season and lot of other places were full. 3 day minimum stay. The bathroom had new fittings / tiles and strong hot shower. The room is cleaned each day with strong wifi. I can't hear any clubbing.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lux-hotel-consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed at the PP Insula with my finace in December at a cost of 1,500 THB per night. This was more expensive than accomodation in Phuket but seemed to be a reasonable price compared to other guesthouses / hotel on Phi phi.

My expectations were high as my fiance told me we were staying at the best rated guest house (per Trip advisor) on Phi phi. Because of this I was a little disappointed when I arrived - however, there are terrible reviews of other accomodation on Phi Phi and so this may be the best on offer for a reasonable price.

The decor in the rooms is very basic - there's definatley no luxury feel, although our bathroom looked recently refurbished and was very clean. We were on the 3rd floor and had a partial sea view and small balcony which was lovely.

Staff try to keep the hotel as quiet as possible to allow a good sleep. There are signs asking you to remove shoes before walking in the corridors - I think this really works.

The location is great - just a few minutes walk to all the bars and action but far away enough to be a little quieter. It is on flat ground so no hills to climb to reach the guesthouse, unlike some of the other accomodation.

There is no food served at the hotel but right outside is a food market full of street vendors and opposite are a couple of particularly good seafood vendors. The 7-11 next door is also useful for water / snacks.

Due to the peak season, we had to pay a deposit via western union which cost a few pounds extra.

All in all an ok hotel which does what it says on the tin - somewhere to sleep and keep your belongings safe.

Room Tip: Due to safety on Phi phi it's better to ask for a room off the ground floor - however, bear in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sj272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Okay so the price is a bit more, but it is so worth it. There is a local market below you on the street, which means you are straight into the non-party zone and you can sleep at night without that horrible boom boom (okay so now I sound old, but what the hell I am nearly 40 and I hate that music!). The staff are very friendly, helpful and polite. We stayed for two weeks and felt at home. Third floor looking over the market are the rooms to ask for (nice views and great for people watching). - if you enjoy a walk head out to Long Beach on the land, there are lots of idealic beautiful quiet beaches before you hit Long Beach and if you get a longtail boat you miss all the heavenly places! Enjoy

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking local market
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DawnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
875 reviews
0.0 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#5 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panmanee Hotel
Panmanee Hotel
#3 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,660 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Insula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Insula

Address: 194 mu7 T. Ao-nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your PP Insula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Insula Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing