We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Natures Resort
Certificate of Excellence
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not value for money”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The hotel has invested considerable effort in amassing plenty of totem poles and orchid flowers to make the restaurant/lobby nice and the 'resort' occupies it's own beach. However the level of service from staff is poor and non-attentive, the bamboo bungalows are perched up on the cliffside with good views but via in places steep dirt paths accross tree roots, and were comparatively small and with separate toilet/bathroom meaning a trip outside to the bathroom in the middle of the night. The fan was adequate in the room (no AC) but there were no fans or AC in the restaurant area which seemed very hot by evening time. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and mosquito-netted. In summary, we felt poor for the price demanded (2500baht/night for superir room). Finally there were noisy long-tail boats rounding the corner just offshore from the resort from early in the morning to 11pm or later at night which wasn't great either and we had a cockroach in the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddies36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    491
    239
    129
    103
See reviews for
134
899
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a collection of huts and treehouses in an inaccessible area of the beautiful Phi Phi Don island. Some are literally huts with a bed and outside toilet/shower, and some are very big treehouses built on stilts with nice sized rooms and fab views. None have hot water.

Access to the resort is via long-tail boat to its own tiny but lovely beach, or by walking 20 mins along a rough trail from the over-populated and reportedly over-noisy town (too many tourists). Immediately off the beach is a very relaxing bar with a great ambience and super food (though goodness knows how they do it, with no hot water). Access to the accommodation is via rough unmade paths, rocks and tree-roots, up and down the hill and through water (yes, you wade!). If you are in any way unfit or unsteady on your legs, you will struggle - there are no handrails, no proper paths, nothing, just a trail through the woods.

The room I stayed in was nice (on the top floor of a Makmai - one of the larger tree houses. 30 steps up from the path, decent size showerroom, then ladder-like steps to my room and a big balcony with hammock off. If you're nervous of insects, bugs, monkeys, snakes, noisy birds, etc, you'll not like it.

And although it's all supposed to be natural and 'green', they were building some new accommodation while we were there and just chucking plastic bags, rubble, pipes and building materials everywhere without a single thought to the environment.

Overall, a beautiful but slightly disappointing place. Really nice concept - slightly upmarket back to nature, but missing basics (like hot water), and rather expensive for all that. A unique experience, but I couldn't see myself spending more than a couple of nights there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelbrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We arrived at Phi Phi Don on the ferry and i was almost speechless at the beauty of this place. And thats in the ferry port with all the boats chucking crap into the water.

Once you get off the ferry you have to go through the gate and pay the 20Baht and then on the other side there are loads of guys waiting to take you to your hotel via taxi boat. A quick 5 minute ride and you are at the viking.

You pull up on the private beach with the water as clear as i have ever seen. Walk up the beach and right into reception.

The place is so laid back its almost horizontal but that is why we booked it. After a quick check in the boys took our cases to our room. I say room but as you probably know they are more huts but marvelous huts they are. There is everything you need to be very comfortable. Bed, fridge, electric. We had a seperate bathroom and a balcony. The room was C2 and after looking at other rooms i feel we had one of the best locations. 30 seconds to reception but that is all up/down a hill / track. Enough to have an amazing view from one of the many chairs on the balcony or my wifes favourite - the hammock.

The resort it's self is huge but it's all huts so you do not really get to see it.

TIP - if you are up for a walk it is ok to get into town but it's all paths and track. My advice would be to walk into town in the daylight and remember the route as it's not exactly sign posted. We decided to boat in on our first night, have a few drinks and then try and walk back. You will never find your way back, first trip, in the dark. It takes 10 minutes from the reception to hit the first shops.

The shops are your run of mill shops and there are a couple supermarkets near by and bank machines. We forgot to inform our bank that we were going away and also did not take our mobile with us on one trip into town and when we tried to get cash out it stopped us. So a walk back to the hotel and a further walk in and back (wife stayed in hammock on return) was made. Made a lot better by a chang beer. Love that stuff.

We went into town on one night for a meal and a drink but the hotel does such nice food that we ate there for 2 nights and also the atmosphere at the hotel is so relaxed. I say the hotel does nice food - in my opinion the breakfast was horrible. Be aware that you get up to 150 Baht for breakfast and you have to pay for anything over the top of that.

Without doubt the best bit about this place is the private beach. On arrival it looks tiny but hardly any people use it and there is plenty of space. White sand and the clearest water around. There are rocks either side which makes a good spot to snorkel.

You can wander over the rocks to long beach which is also stunning. The easier route is to take the track up the hill and down the other side.

All in all a great resort but the mattress was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poo7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We can't fault the Viking's location and overall ambience... it's situated on a tiny private beach just round the corner from the lovely Long Beach, and as such is very private and laid back - a bohemian island paradise with great views over to Phi Phi Leh. Our cabin was small but with a lovely private terrace with large hammock - however it was a rocky and hilly 10 minute walk/climb from the main building, across a second beach, almost half way back towards the main town (as our cabin was towards the far end of the resort we were able to hear loud music from the main town late at night but not too much to keep you awake - this did also mean it wasn't too far to walk in to town at night though, if you do fancy a change of scenery). We arranged a day trip round the island with reception, which was a great day out - definitely receommended. We also enjoyed the free taster menu offered each night, and the free internet access. However, as the weather was bad when we were there we decided to cut our stay short and move on - the hotel could not refund us for the last two nights but instead offered to book our onward travel and offset the cost against that, which sounded ideal. However we were not given correct ferry tickets, meaning we had to buy two new additional ones at the port in Phi Phi, then when we got to Krabi, no bus places had been booked for us - they knew nothing about us. When the company did eventually give us places on a bus, it dropped us off in the middle of nowhere at a disgusting cafe where the man in charge wouldn't help and swore at us when we asked how far away we were from the train station where we needed to catch a specific train booked for us. The train had been recommended by Viking as the most reliable and punctual, but after getting on it by the skin of our teeth it sat there for another four hours, meaning we missed our connecting flight in Bangkok. We also discovered the train ticket only cost 550 baht each but Viking told us they were 800 each plus 80 commission charge - over 300 baht extra per ticket. It was a shame that our experience of Viking was tainted by this 24 hour travel ordeal that left us out of pocket, as it was a lovely place to stay - just be wary of booking any travel through them, do it yourself or with an official ATA operator.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravelTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

If you are the eco-freak type to pay double the price for an "organic" tomato then this may be the place for you. 2500Baht for a bamboo hut, up a goat trail interlaced with roots, vines and rocks with no hot water, no chair to sit on,no screens or windows is seriously overpriced to say the least. We have travelled Thailand for the last 3 months and this, by far, was the biggest ripoff you could imagine. The 30minute walk down a similar trail to get to town was treacherous and would be hellish at night without a flashlight. Anywhere else in Thailand this bamboo shack would cost no more than 1000 Baht and thats streching it. The taxi boats keep you up most of the night and a cocktail costs 200 Baht (approx. $6US) where anywhere else in Thailand at the most exclusive resorts would charge 120 at the most is ridiculous. If you want to get in contact with "nature" go buy a tent and sleep in the jungle with the snakes, bugs and reptiles....you don't need to rent these rooms. Overall, give your head a shake before you consider this option.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a standard room between Christmas and New Years and we really enjoyed Viking. Our room didn't have air conditioning which we missed, but sitting on the deck and relaxing was awesome. We could hear music at night from the bars in town but it didn't really bother us. The location is about a 25 minute walk from the town which makes it an adventure to walk back to your room after a few Changs at night. I recommend wearing bug spray and bringing a flashlight.

Long beach is close by and is beautiful and the beaches at Viking itself are very nice. The snorkeling is quite good. We also did a long boat snorkel tour that Viking offers and it was beautiful snorkeling! The free internet and food tasting at night are a bonus. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The staff at this bungalow resort is very sweet, and the decor inside the rooms IS quite boho chic as it lists in the lonely planet guide book. We stayed in Makmai 5 which was farthest from the pounding noise of Tonsai, and very peaceful, except the trek up to the room was not so nice since they are doing construction and there seemed to be some trash around and no solid trail. It was nice in the morning to wake up to the sound of the birds. The decor is wonderful in the rooms, but the cleanliness and lack of a top sheet for the bed left us wanting. In the middle of the night we woke up to the sound of a large rodent in the room trying to chew on some of our tupperware we had left in a bag.... (maybe a rat??). There were lots of mosquitoes around also, it would have been nice to have been provided with a mosquito coil at least. Our friend stayed in Phi Phi Casita which I thought was a much better deal and had AC/hot water, a pool, better location where you don't have to pay longtail men, cleaner rooms for a lower price (albeit sewery smell and the loud music and retching into the night). The breakfast at Viking was a total ripoff, nasty whitebread toast and a piece of spam instead of bacon. Overall, I dont think we would go back to this place, since I don't want to get the hanta virus! My least favorite place we stayed!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkeleyites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,390 reviews
3.7 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Natures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Natures Resort

Property: Viking Natures Resort
Address: 222 Moo 7 | Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Natures Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Viking Natures Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Natures Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing