We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Natures Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Amazing! A bit of a walk don't forget a flashlight and some walking shoes. The room is nice no place for our clothes but we managed. Breakfast after 3 days is a bit boring but still ok. Bug spray is a must!!!! The staff is really nice just be patient. Overall I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
There are newer reviews for Viking Natures Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hello, me and my partner have just returned from our holiday in Thailand. During which we stayed two nights at the Viking Resort on Phi Phi.

Overall we were happy with our experience at this somewhat alternative hotel...which is situated well away from the hustle and bustle of Phi Phi's lively night scenes.

The trek to the rooms can be a little tiresome but the views from the rooms are well worth the effort. Simply breathtaking; turquoise blue water, golden sands whilst being surrounded by jungle. The hammock each room has on the balcony was the perfect ingredient to help you kick back, relax and 'get away' from it all.

Whilst the rooms were on the small side, we found them comfortable enough (if you like to spend alot of time in your room then it may start to get under your skin a little). They were clean/cosy, but you must realise that you're in the middle of the jungle so all your home comforts, luxuries and five star treatment go completely out of the window. The only real complaint we had about the rooms were the showers. They are a complete disaster. Nothing more than a half-ar$ed trickle of cold water (no hot water).

The breakfasts are basic but OK. 150 baht per person for a choice of 3 items such as pancakes, cereal, toast, fruit juice, eggs, omelette, porridge, fruit. Tea and coffee were free.

Each night there is a free food tasting session between 7:00-8:00pm; there are 8 choices of 'tapas' style dishes to choose from, such as green curry, noodles, fried banana however we were left a little disappointed as most of the food got gobbled up quickly...leaving us with nothing more than scraps. We'd suggest giving it a miss and stroll into town for food.

The resort has it's own beach which is nice and much better than 'nice beach' on the other side of the island. It's a 5 minute walk/climb to long beach which is lovely but can be difficult for those who struggle walking.

Can't complain about the staff and service, they were very helpful and polite by taking our luggage to/from the room.

If you come to Phi Phi for the bars, clubs and boom boom lifestyle then this definitely isn't the hotel for you...we would also strongly advise avoiding this hotel if you have difficulty walking or are generally unfit.

If you want to 'get away' from it all but don't mind giving up on your home comforts for a while then this is a great place to stay.

Other notes:

DO NOT attempt to walk to this hotel from the pier with your luggage, it's about 20-25 minute walk through difficult terrain with many steps and obstacles along the way. There should be a boat waiting for you when you arrive...if not then it's 200 baht per person in a water taxi. Again, DO NOT walk to this hotel if you have heavy luggage.

The hotel requires 500 baht deposit for the room key, which is returned at the check-out.

On check-out you will be entitled to a handmade necklace which are available on the reception desk, however the receptionist may not make this obvious to you before you leave (we happen to notice a couple take one each whilst we were checking-in, so as we checked out and just before we left, we asked about the necklaces...to which the receptionist replied 'oh yeah, you can take one each'.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

we spent 2 nights here in a standard bungalow. Check in was easy and they provide a free long tail boat from ton sai pier, just look for the guy holding a viking sign. Beware as i was approached by a woman trying to charge me 1000 baht to get to viking.
Our room had a beautiful view with a hammock on the private balcony. We had our own shower and toilet. The shower was awful, zero pressure and hot water was random. There is no AC, but a fan is provided. Like others have said it is not easy to walk around this property, so if you have issues walking then this would not be for you. Its steep and alot of tree roots.
It was a short walk to town and a hop skip and a jump to long beach. I would definitely stay here again but for much longer!

Room Tip: we stayed in a standard and got an amazing view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joinkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Walking distance into town which is nice.
My friends got upgraded to a new room in the Treehouse area - which was awesome!
I got stuck in a tiny little hut about a 15 minute walk from the restaurant/lobby/beach area of the resort. The bathroom in my hut was covered in mould & walking around there at night was a little sketchy :(
Staff were very unaccommodating when I asked to change huts (even offering to pay more for an upgrade).
Food was not great either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagnoliaJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but our stay here was perfect for what we needed! Our room had lots of space and was such an experience! The resort organised a pick up from the wharf which was really easy and the whole stay was great. Good to be out of phi phi centre which is noisy and busy and the walk there and back was no trouble and well lit at night. Staff were helpful throughout the stay, good meals in the restaurant. This resort is not going to be for everyone due to it's location and style so keep that in mind if you are booking it!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a great stay at Viking Natures Resort. It was nice that it was a 20 minute walk from the crowds and parties. Still a bit noisy at night, however. The resort had it's own lovely beach and it was absolute paradise. They could arrange a day trip to The Beach. Clean and safe. Only downside is that it was sometimes hard to communicate with staff. But overall, I'd recommend this place on the island!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizTraveler018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Koh phi phi can get crowded but at Viking Natures Resort you'll get 2 semi beach coves which are pretty empty until about 13:30. The sand is white with clear shallow water, (some small fish),great for frolicking and sunbathing. Great for adults, couples, a girls getaway, and quiet for singles. We stayed in a large room at the top of the hill the first night, big but had no view. After going on an overnight excursion, we came back to Viking, selecting a small beach cottage, a smaller room, but it offered a deck overlooking the beach and a hammock- (we used the outdoor space a lot more anyway). I could have given 5 points but the food was not that great, but the same goes at other resorts. You could get to town easily via water taxi or walking via scenic trails, which were shaded most of the way. (Some friends stayed at a neighboring resort with a pool, they paid a lot more, it may have been more manicured, with cement walking paths, planted flowers, and white painted structures). I would definitely come and stay at Viking Nature Resort again, it's more natural!

Room Tip: we liked the beach bungalows- R9-12 are comfy, quiet, offer views
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank practicaltraveler411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
836 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Natures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Natures Resort

Address: 222 Moo 7 | Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $31 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Natures Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Viking Natures Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Natures Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing