We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viking Natures Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed in Feb 2014. Makasai 3C property.

Wonderful room, clean, big balcony, large bed with mosquito net.
Great private beach.


Free transfer from pier to hotel at check in and back at check out.

Good food. Check out the long beach just around the corner. Wonderful beach and good restaurant (first from Viking side).

Room Tip: Choose bigger condos like Maksai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Scattered through the forest above a rocky headland on the path to Ko Phi Phi's best beach, Viking Natures Resort is a quiet retreat away from the madness of town, but has a lot of ups and downs, and not just in the terrain.

Despite its rustic appearance, it is a sophisticated operation with dozens of bungalows and dozens of employees to take care of them, run the restaurant and staff reception.

One result is that booking is farmed out to an agency and, while convenient, is inflexible and bureaucratic. We tried to reconfirm our prepaid reservation and received no reply.

We also had to contact the resort once we got to Phi Phi, but the phone number provided on the reservation receipt was never answered; it also was the fax number. Finally a tenacious tour operator found another number and got through.

The resort provides free longtail boat transfer to and from the pier in town, a great value, but to get the boat from town you have to find it. When we arrived, we could see no indication where it was - no person with a placard, no sign on the pier. So we walked.

It's a nice 15 minute walk in the daytime, but circumstances forced us to go at night.

The path is paved with cement and occasionally dips to the beach, until you reach the first Viking sign. From there it's a tangle of tree roots and hills - a broken ankle waiting to happen. And it's almost half a kilometer to reception. In fact you walk through nearly the entire resort before you get there, and you begin to wonder if you ever will.

Once we got to our bungalow, we found it to be one of the oddest we've ever seen.

The bed had no top sheet and no blanket. Instead it had two oversized rugs like you lay down in a mud room for people to wipe their feet. It had a fine mosquito net though.

The bathroom was two rooms, one with the toilet, the other with the sink and shower. To get from the former to the latter, you had to go through the bedroom, out the front door, onto the porch, then back in another door. The porch, however, was fantastic. With two chairs, a table and a hammock, it looked through the trees to one of Viking's two pocket beaches, with sand every bit as soft and white as Long Beach next door.

The restaurant, on the other pocket beach, was a bit pricey, but the large set breakfast, with free bottomless tea/coffee, was a decent value even at 150 baht. In the evening the restaurant offered free samples from its menu. Relaxing music played at all hours. You tend to spend a lot of time there because it is the only place you can get WiFi.

Service in the restaurant is unobtrusive. Staff English is pretty good. At your bungalow, you get two new water bottles every day. If you want your bungalow cleaned, just flip the sign on the porch from Do Not Disturb to Please Clean Room.

In the end, we found the ups outweighed the downs and we stayed a extra day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful time here. If you're umm-ing and ahh-ing about something from the negative reviews then this place probably isn't for you. We had all the negative reviews in mind when we came here so there were no bad surprises, only the good!

It's just far enough from Tonsai that you can relax away from the crowds and the thumping beats when you've had enough of the nightlife and feel like turning in. It's a longish walk but well lit. Just mind your footing. And if you're checking in or out and you have more than a backpack, take a long tail (free service for check in/out). I felt bad for the people with enormous suitcases trying to navigate the path to Viking.

We stayed in one of the Magmais (M4A) and it was an absolute pleasure. We booked a few months in advance just to ensure we had a great accommodation option.

Breakfast was included with a generous choice of small dishes of which you combined four. I recommend the pancake with fresh fruits and honey as one of the options!

Great snorkeling spot right in front of the restaurant and around the rocks to Long Beach. Snorkels and masks can be hired from the bar too so you don't even have to leave this Eco haven to have a good time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel was good. Clean and as advertised. Construction noise was not a plus. Service was ok but no one went out of there way to please. The real disappointment is the thousands of tourist packing into any vessel that will float.

Note to hotel---If you are going to have an email address on your website then respond to the emails. I should not have to spend money to call Thailand from the US when you can simple hit the reply button!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed 10 days at Viking Natures Resort and loved every minute of our time there. The location is fabulous: you have your own little beach area, which is quiet and beautiful. It is next to Long Beach and about a 20minute walk to town. The rooms are tasteful and clean. Note: this is a nature resort so please don't complain if there are bugs... you are on an island! Also, the walk to town is no problem. Yes it's a bit up and down, but it's well lit for those wanting to walk back in the dark. The Thai food is delicious in the restaurant and very reasonably priced compared to all of the other places in the vicinity. The service is friendly and accommodating. Yes, there English may not be perfect but it's a whole lot better than my Thai, that's for sure! It is one of the most beautiful and relaxing places I have been lucky enough to visit during my travels. I hope to come back one day. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very nice located with a small private beach or just jump two boulders and you are on long beach..
very beautiful small huts but cleaned, comfy bedding, clean sheets and towels ... food is definitely one of the best and not expensive ... best choice if you are want to see beauty of phi phi and not a fan of loud music and a barrel of beer, if you want to visit town than it is 25 minutes walking distance but during day light only ....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manik_Arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is the best place to stay on the island. Book early because it gets full.

Crazy tree houses and bamboo huts in the jungle. It has 2 private beaches. 10 minute walk to town. Good restaurant with food tasting at 7pm every night.

NOTE: IT IS IN A JUNGLE SO OF COURSE THERE WILL BE BUGS.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpacker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,438 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,300 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
3.7 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Natures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Natures Resort

Address: 222 Moo 7 | Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $39 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Natures Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Viking Natures Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Natures Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing