We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Natures Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viking Natures Resort
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel has 3 private beaches - the main one fronting the reception was magic. Crystal clear aquamarine waters and tropical reef fish nipping at your feet a few feet into the water. A small coral reef separates this beach from the larger Long Beach to the left. We have visited most islands in Thailand by now and I have to say I have never been able to step off a hotel's private beach and snorkel over to a coral reef barely 10 feet away. Wont see as many fish as you would on a large reef, but still, for us it was magic.

Would choose this hotel purely for its location. The food was average. The pathways to Long Beach and the town were "challenging" to say the least - wouldn't like to be on them in the dark and less than a 100% sober. The service was patchy but generally cheerful.

The speedboat tour to Phi Phi Ley ( Pi Le, Maya Beach, a couple of other great snorkeling spots ), booked through the Viking, turned out good.

All in all, some of the best waters we have ever seen and the Viking gives you great access to that.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VinzzIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    468
    227
    125
    96
See reviews for
127
858
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We traveled Thailand for 3 weeks on honeymoon and I can honestly say viking was top of our experiences! We were a little worried at first because of some of the bad reviews on trip advisor but those people couldn't have been more wrong! Wr stayed in c4, deluxe bungalow, I think one of the best. Location was great! Right next to the beach and very close to the restaurant. The attention to detail was mind blowing! Great decor! It can get a little noisy and don't expect to sleep in because the taxi boats start at 7am. We never saw 1 bug during our stay! And the "treacherous" walk into town is actually an easy stroll along a lit paved path... The staff were great and the restaurant was awesome, the complimentary breakfast in the morning was scrumptious! The only bad thing I have to say is there on no 'no smoking areas' in the restaurant which made our meals unpleasant. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tbird00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

When we first arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the two beautiful private beaches, a large dining area with natural wooden furniture, bungalow with large balcony over looking pretty blue water and with a hammock. They provide a lovely coconut shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom. A lovely setting. The path is definitely rugged, caution with flip flops, and a long way from the front desk if your bungalow is toward town. Far enough away from town that it is quiet and feels more secluded. Very close to access Long Beach which was very nice.
Negatives: the room itself was small inside and the shower drained poorly (R6) but nice view and balcony. We had a number of visitors (cricket, roach, lizard, spiders) but to be expected and did not mind much. Wifi was only in dining are so a trek for any internet access. Roosters were very loud first thing in am. Second room (MangoA) was tucked back behind in the bush, but was very spacious and comfortable (cheap too).
The front desk did not communicate with each other and other staff well causing us an inconvenience when we decided to stay three more nights. They were very accommodating at first by finding a room for us but then there was miscommunication about transferring our bags to the new room and giving us the key that we had to trek back between room and to the office three times before we got it sorted out (taking up about an hour of time).
The power went out three times while there.
Overall a nice and relaxing environment. The walk to town is fine. Its actually a good location because its close enough to walk to pier but far enough away that you are not annoyed by the bustle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Let me begin by saying I NEVER post such ill spirited things, but this experience is an exception to my rule. We booked this hotel as a honeymoon destination, and we were VERY excited! Unfortunately, our room that had been booked had been booked by another guest unbeknownst to us. What did they do to to fix this? Have us traipse around for about 2.5 hours looking at other accomodations that were less than acceptable. They told us that they were really sorry, but there was nothing they could do, since we apparently didn't book directly through them-we did it through a less legitimate site. (YES, this one, Trip Advisor. Did I mention that they proudly displayed the Trip Advisor sign at their reception counter?) After it was ridiculously late, ,they finally got us to another room, which was, again, crap.) THEN they tried to make us pay for the room. Really nice. Finally, we did some research on our own, and we're in a much better place. BTW, if anyone is looking for a BRAND NEW IPhone, 5, check out the Viking! one of the staff asked to look at it to access where we could go, and lo and behold, it magically disappeared! I'm not thrilled about that, but Karma will always win out in these instances.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed there 7 nights, easy walk to town, 1 minute to long beach which was probably the best we seen here. Stuff was really good especially Azim from office. Resort is really cool, good breakfast. We stayed in cheapest hut cause our budget backpack holiday but it was more then enough. 100% recommend it!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in A5 hut with fan, close to beach and restaurant...for us perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelizko83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here, attracted online by the reasonable room rates and the beautiful looking treehouse hut accommodation. Upon arrival, after a 10 minute boat taxi to long beach ( the tide was too far out at the resort so we were dropped off on the next beach) we had to trek up an almost vertical hill wearing 15kg backpacks. Exhausted, we arrived at the reception only to find it had been moved, another 10 minute walk away along path through a jungle, the walkways made up of rocks and tree roots, with tropical flowers and amazing views of the bay. Rule number 1, this resort is unsuitable for those with walking difficulties. Reception staff were friendly and spoke reasonably good English. Our baggage was then taken back the way we came by one of the staff (who did this barefoot, carrying 2 bags) to our treehouse, room 18. The room had a large double bed(we wanted a twin but I think we did the booking wrong - but wasn't a problem), a wet room and a large covered terrace on stilts overlooking the bay, it was stunning. Bad points were that the drainage was poor and the electricity occasionally cut out, but we accepted this, as the design of the resort (an Eco friendly resort) meant this was an inevitability. Similarly, we accepted that the room wasn't cleaned or the towels changed unless we asked, to save on water and power. There were very noisy insects and other critters around the resort which sometimes woke us up, but also added to the atmosphere. The walk into town was an up and down windy series of paths, beach and rocks which took about 20 minutes, which was inconvenient on an evening. Rule 2 - bring a torch. Despite the distance we still heard music fr the beach parties in our room until around 1am, though this must have been worse in the town itself. The resort toilets at the restaurants were often out of order and blocked. Now for the good bits...food was good, breakfast was a good selection of fruits, toast, eggs, etc, and there was free Thai food testing every night in addition to a seafood BBQ and an extensive Thai and international menu which was reasonably priced. There is a massage platform on the beautiful private beach. We had foot massages and fell asleep listening to the waves lapping the shore. There were lots of activities from the beach such as snorkelling and fishing trips. The staff were friendly and attentive though the language barrier could sometimes be a problem as with most places in Thailand. The scenery was stunning. Very romantic we thought, it would be a nice retreat for couples. There was free wifi in the bar and two computers. The bar itself was very traditional Thai beach hut style, very pretty. Overall I would recommend this resort to couples and those seeking a peacefulish retreat away from the main town. Rule 3 - if you are a girl (or guy) who cannot live without hot showers and hair straighteners, this resort may not be for you. A laid back approach to grooming is required! I would definitely stay again, but next time with my boyfriend for a romantic break!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went to Thailand for our honeymoon and this was our first location. The Viking Nature Resort was lovely, it was out of the main touristy area but you could walk there in about 20-30 minutes (or 15 if the tide is out you can go across the beach). We stayed in one of the tree huts, our tree hut which we ordered was not available for the first night as there was a mix up with something so they upgraded us for the first night at no extra charge. Our hut we stayed in was lovely with a hammock outside with I loved and close to small little cove beaches.
We were able to have a longboat take us to and from the pier when we arrived and left which was handy, you could also use these as like a taxi service every hour or something if you wanted, we didnt as we enjoyed the walk.
Breakfast was basic but satisfactory, service sometimes slow for food but you will find that in the whole of Thailand service for food is a bit slow and your meals will not all come out together, we just excepted that this was the laid back way of Thailand.
Wifi usage in the bar area was useful and free. They carried our bags to our hut which was also useful esp in the heat, every night they put out taster foods for you to try which I thought was a lovely touch and I have not seen this anywhere else in Thailand. Overall lovely stay and I would stay here again if I was lucky enough to return to Phi Phi Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#13 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Natures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Natures Resort

Property: Viking Natures Resort
Address: 222 Moo 7 | Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Natures Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Viking Natures Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Natures Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing