We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to say perfect paradise but its hard to look past the food poisoning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Natures Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I booked 5 nights at Viking as part of our semi package honeymoon. Unfortunately the flight that the tour operator booked landed at Phuket airport at 2pm which was too late for the ferry to phi phi. So after a ghastly stopover in Phuket town (see our review of Twin Inn.) We took the 8:30 Sea Angel to Phi Phi. The islands are simply stunning and we were taken by a long tail boat to Viking for free which we were expecting to pay 150baht each for. On arrival our room was not
Yet available as we'd arrived before checkout time so we had lunch at the reception/dining area. The food was great and we both really enjoyed it. Our bags were carried to our superior tree house where we were blown away by the view and by the incredibly spacious room.

The room is a wooden tree house set into the jungle. The rooms are fan cooled and are not sealed at the ceilings to allow heat to escape. We were expecting critters of all shapes and sizes in the room. Over the 4 nights we didn't see anything larger than a mosquito in the room. I was surprised by how few Mosquitos there were to be honest. On the balcony there were more creatures ranging from 2 humming bird sized wasps living in the bamboo supports, several lizards and the odd frog that seemed to like jumping into the windows.

For a relaxing trip that's as close to island life as possible but with the bonus of electricity this resort is simply brilliant.

The paths are a little tricky to navigate and would not recommend if you have young children.

We both enjoyed our time at Viking very much for 3 of the 4 nights.

Unfortunately on our final full day we had breakfast at the restaurant and we were both sick for over 48 hours.

So apart from the food poisoning at the end we had a great time. Would strongly recommend if you have a strong stomach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
There are newer reviews for Viking Natures Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I just left the Viking Natures Resort today and could not be happier to be away from this place. My friends and I stayed for 1 night in M1A which had 2 king beds with a bathroom and shower outside the room. We were all well aware of the fact that this hotel is not your typical 5 star resort but we wanted to try something different. We went to grab lunch at the restaurant in the lobby and soon after, all 4 of us became sick and we spent the remainder of the day taking turns throwing up and sleeping in the heat with just a couple oscillating fans to cool us down. The staff was also not very friendly and the Internet was not working the entire time.

If you're into really simple places like this, go for it. But beware, getting sick here was one of the worst experiences of my life.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Viking Resort during a trip throughout SE Asia this winter.

Pros:
Location- The resort is an easy (but sweaty) jungle walk from town - it only took us about 10 minutes. We were thankful to be outside of town and away from the blaring techno music at night, while still having it accessible without having to pay for a long boat for each visit.
Setting - the bungalows are perched in the jungle over several beautiful secluded private beaches. You wake up to blue water every morning - what more could you ask for?
Price- the area is expensive and the rate felt fare given the setting

Cons:
Rustic bungalows - we knew going in we would not have AC or an airtight room but boy did we miss it during our stay. It was really hot and there were tons of mosquitos. We actually put the fan inside our mosquito net on our bed each night to have the air blast on us. We had a hard time sleeping because we were just too hot.
Mosquitos- bring your Deet, these guys are everywhere - the paths, the beaches, the restaurant, and the rooms. Not much the hotel can do about this except make their bungalows more airtight.

I would recommend this resort to people who don't mind sacrificing a few creature comforts for a great price/location, but people looking for a real "resort" and luxury should book elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I just came back from Phi Phi vacation today. We stayed there for 2 nights and we had superior tree hut. The staff and workers there were very friendly and helpful. The room was beyond expectation with bathtub and spacious wash room, bedroom and balcony with hammock. But, the walkway to the town a bit dangerous since no lamp for certain area. At the beginning I thought to give full star rate for this resort but unfortunately, on our last night, my friend was bitten by a kind of poison insect on the way to the town and after received treatment from the island clinic, he had to pay 10,000 ++ Baht!! So, think carefully before u choose this resort. To solve the matter, better prepare some torchlight or just go to the town with shuttle boat. Be extra careful if you have children with you.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing to the sea will give you a nice view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakersem310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

-arrived to be told our room (tree house)was unavailable despite booking 10months in advance!
- relocated to a room (bungalow tiny & no hot water) which we were advised was the same price
-room not ready so we hiked into town
- next day told we had to be out of our room by 11 but had no replacement room to go to so we had to leave our luggage in reception (which is also a restaurant)
- returned TWELVE hours later to find our luggage hadn't been taken to our new room and found it in reception and one thing was stolen and never returned
- every other guest we spoke to had massive booking issues, some were relocated to other hotels, they overbook then give the excess guests to their neighbour hotels
- basically terribly rude staff ignored our complaints and hide behind language barrier when it suits them
- you have to ask for your room to be made up & to get replacement towels (which we did) and neither were done
- room not cleaned once in 4days nor fresh towels
- blood stains on sheets
- rats on our balcony eating and leaving huge mess which I swept up myself so we could use the balcony
- giant cockroaches everywhere
- it's a tourist trap, overpriced and hideously bad service to the point of ridiculousness

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights, the traditional huts for 3 nights and the tree house on the beach for 4. The traditional huts are a five minute walk from the main bar/restaurant (over rocks & tree branches but this wasn't a problem for us) they are large with good balconies with a hammock & chairs, the bed was large (king size) & very comfortable, decent bathroom with cold shower (it was so hot in December you really don't need hot water). We stayed in R15 & although we could hear music from the town the trees sheltered us from the noise & it didn't stop us from getting a good nights sleep.
The tree house on the beach is lovely, the bathroom & the bedroom are separate with the balcony in the middle (two chairs and a fridge the hammock is underneath the hut). The bed room was small (king size bed but not enough room for both of our bags). As the tree house is on the beach you are directly opposite the main beach & the music is loud, we had ear plugs but still struggled to sleep until this went off (2/3pm most evenings).
The food here was nice, breakfast was good & the wifi was slow mainly due to lots of people using it ! The two private beaches are lovely with not many people on them during the day. Long beach is a short walk away with some more lovely restaurants & bars.

Room Tip: The traditional huts are good value if you don't mind the walk to the restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopwoody06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here with a friend in April and had a mixed experience. The good: We choose to "splurge" and get one of the villas and it was well worth it! It was so gorgeous -- beautiful wood, spacious deck, and amazing semi-outdoor bathroom. It was absolutely stunning. The location (at least of our villa) was pretty close to town, so you could kind of hear some of the noise, but not too bad (although we were there in low season).

The not so good: It is a sprawling resort, which meant for us that to get to the restaurant and "lobby" it was nearly a 15 minute walk. The restaurant itself wasn't that good. And any reviews that mention the Tracy Chapman CD on repeat? It's true.

The bad: The mosquitos! Even though I doused myself in bug spray and used the mosquito net, I was covered with bites after our four-day stay. And... well, this is a semi-outdoor hotel, so be prepared for all that comes with it. I had a mouse get into and ruin one of my bags. I can't really fault the hotel for that, but just be aware and ensure all of your stuff is kept off the ground and anything a mouse can chew through, it will.

Room Tip: Take a look at where the rooms are located on their map, as it can mean the difference between a 30...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProbablyTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
836 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Natures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Natures Resort

Address: 222 Moo 7 | Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $31 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Natures Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Viking Natures Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Natures Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing