We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Natures Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

best place on phi phi!
we had a bungalow on our own that was just beautiful!
You have to get used to the cold water, so better shower in the afternoon and not at night, but else the hotel has everything you need.
the restaurant is OK, but the best is to walk to ton-sai to get the awesome seafood there!
We made a lot of trips around the area and were enjoying it!
The resort has a small private beach and expands over several bays. You can walk to long beach, you can go for some hiking and they offer snorkel trips and stuff with the long tail boats.
The staff is very friendly and helpful even though their english is not exactly fluent.
All in all we loved it and would do it again anytime!

Room Tip: the best ones are the small ones next to the private beach. they have a private hammock on their tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaensebluemchen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    495
    241
    129
    105
See reviews for
138
903
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

When we first arrived in the Viking, we had one of the expensive rooms in the trees cause everything else was booked.
The room itself was amazing. Very luxurious with a tree right in the middle of the bedroom and a big bathroom. The only problem was coakroches in our room... Ok we know those little beasts are everywhere in Thailand and we got used to it, but there, it was just to much. As soon as I killed one, another one was coming... Still, maybe we got bad luck cause I asked the people next door and they had not seen one in a week.
We asked to move the next day in a very small bungalow they had in front of the beach (not presented in their website). Our stay there was quite nice, even tough we had to buy an insect repealant cause this bungalow was not protected at all, the room was cute and way cheaper.
Another bad point was the staff... really relaxed (again more than average) and managers not really easy going... For example they really did not care about the bugs problem, they just said "ok, so ?".
3/5 because the private beach was very pleasant (right in front of the other island "the beach" Koh PhiPhi) and the location was conveniant enough not to take a taxi boat anytime you wanted to go to the main village.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bastien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The resort is very beautiful with a beautiful private beach and little wooden huts in the jungle. This leads however to wildlife in the room and bathroom! Very big crab in bathroom, many cockroaches in the room and bathroom, and stool from other animals (...rats?) ! Nice little restaurant. Nice daytrips with boat.
If you are not afraid of nature and some wildlife, this is a very nice and romantic place. However for me a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanieNedergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I am reviewing the Traditional Standard room with no A/C and outside shower in the Hot Season. This is also the cheapest room they have.

I stayed for 5 nights in my bamboo hut in June, which is the hot season, and boy it was hot in there. The fan is good, but I would hesitate recommending this experience, as it is just soooooo hot. The rooms are nestled in jungle-type area and look out through trees to the water. You can hear the music from the town late at night.

I stayed in R4, the room is nicely decorated and cute. The mosquito netting is good, although the fan blows it around a bit. The toilet is accessible through a door in your room, but the shower and basin are outside, so you have to go out your front door to get to them.
My shower in R4 was really weak. I used my friends in R5 and it was far superior, consider this in room selection.
The hammock on the verandah is great, although the mosquitos are ravenous during the late afternoon so bring repellant. There is also a foot washing bamboo bucket at your doorstep with a cool coconut ladel which was a nice touch.
There are lots of creatures living around the room, and sometimes in the room with you. Like geckos and a small mouse joined me. The netting protects you from them during the night so that is no problem, you just have to get used to the noises they make. But this is what you stay in these places for - Nature.

The walk to reception from these rooms is about 5 mins and this can be annoying if you stay for more than 3 nights, as breakfast is served here if you want it, and dinner and the taxi boats and the tour office are all here too. And the WIFI is only here as well. And the path is very hilly and windey and steps are made from tree roots etc. And can be darkish at night.

The walk to town is nice the first time, as it is a little path that winds through the beach front and changes from beach, to tree roots to board walk etc as you progress. It is also very dark in some sections so bring some kind of light. Walking home from town drunk could be a test.
After walking this path at least twice everyday we got very tired of doing it. It's about 15-20mins to town and it just gets annoying. Taking a boat is probably best, but they only leave hourly at night from reception.

Long Beach is 5 mins walk in the other direction. Its quite nice to go there, I recommend it highly. Or stay in Long Beach itself.

The staff were mostly very friendly and polite, and the service is very relaxed.

The free Thai food tasting every night is one of the Great parts of this place. From 7-8:30pm every night, there are 5 dishes from the menu set up for tasting. This was excellent.

The music they play in reception though is pretty terrible :) It was mainly muzaky cover songs. But there are lots of instruments lying around for you to play and make you own music with too.

The beach out the front of reception is really nice, and there are kayaks to hire and snorkels etc and the tour desk will help you with whatever you want.

The beach out the front of our huts though was quite rubbishy as it is on the Harbour side of the point which was a little disappointing. They don't take care of this beach compared to the reception one, which is a shame.

So, I hope all this information helps you make your decision.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: R4 has a bad shower. R5 has better water pressure but no shower head holder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived to Koh Phi Phi with no accommodation booked but with a recommendation for the Viking Resort from a lonely planet guide. It was reasonably priced so we decided to go with it. They collect you by boat and we were dropped on the beach in the resort which was amazing. We had our own bungalow which had a balcony with a hammock that looked down onto the sea. There was no air con in the room only a fan but we knew that before we booked. The bungalow was very traditional which we liked but three nights was too long. The room was only cleaned when we requested it, this is difficult when you have activities planned.

It was a 25 minute walk to the town and was tricky enough to get around as there were a lot of hills etc which it wasn't easy to find, although the first night we walked there it was dark. Staff were not very friendly even when we tried to book tours or extend our stay for an extra night it was just hassle. They did provide little samplings of food every night which was a nice touch.

On a side note the insects in this resort were everywhere and we got bitten alive by mosquitoes. There were mosquito nets but there were holes in them and we did find a couple of ants in the bed.

All in all it's nice an idea but they have a lot more to do compared with what other resorts provide in Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Summary: Animals getting into the room (and destroying our stuff), really far from town, unhelpful staff, terrain unsafe for walking around

The details: I don’t often write reviews on here, and when I do, it is usually to praise an establishment for a job well done. But our stay at Viking was by far the worst experience I have had in some time. I spent 3 weeks travelling with my girlfriend through Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand, and we were finishing up our trip on Ko Phi Phi. We had mainly stayed in hostels and budget hotels along the way, and were excited to end the trip in our very own hillside bungalow at Viking. The experience started off fine, with an employee picking us up at the pier and taking us by longtail over to the hotel, which seemed nice enough with its small private beach at reception. However, things got ugly immediately. Upon check-in, we were forced to climb through the jungle, using tree roots as steps to make the vertical ascent to our bungalow. It was indeed private – far too private. It was all alone in the middle of the woods, a 30 minute walk to civilization and surrounded by the island’s wildlife. At night, we had to feel our way along the poorly lit “path”, taking care not to trip and to avoid the many bats, bugs and other creatures lurking outside our door. To get into town, we had to pay 100 baht each for our hotel to take us by boat. To get back, we had to hope that one of the hotel’s boats was at the pier. Usually they weren’t, so we tried to hire a taxi to take us, which led to additional expense and many locals scamming us along the way. One night, we tried to get someone to take us, but he would only drop us off at the next beach over – an additional 20 minute walk. Once back in the room, we had to deal with the mosquitoes. A net was provided, but the heat was unbearable with it surrounding us. On the morning of our last full day, we awoke to some of our belongings scattered across the room and my girlfriend’s wallet having been chewed apart. It was clear something had gotten into the bungalow – I feel lucky not to have been attacked by whatever it was. Nevertheless, we sucked it up and went out for the day. We returned only to find a giant 2 foot iguana roaming around our room. At that point we had had enough. We went to reception and promptly checked out, which seemed perfectly normal to them even though it was 6 pm. Nobody offered us any consolation or tried to get us to stay (although I guess they already had our money for the night we didn’t use). They simply got our bags and put us on a longtail into town. which they again charged us for, just to rub salt in the wound. We got to the pier and said yes to the first hotel we saw. Do the same and you’ll be much happier

Room Tip: Whatever you do, do not choose Makmai 5. They claim it is "quiet" and "peaceful,"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Vikings Resort is a wonderful hotel for those who love the wild. Everything about it seems as though mankind barely touched it and let nature do the job to make the tree houses (the hotel rooms), lobby, and restaurant. It's even located right in front of the beach. The staff there is just great, and they try their best to make the guests feel at home.

However, those who are more used to the civilized area will probably have a harder time finding this place enjoyable. The rooms are very dimly lit, have no TVs or air conditioning, and is located in a more isolated, rocky area. It's very hard to find something to do when it's raining or dark, as you cannot just walk into the city easily. Reading was also hard to do as the hotel rooms have very dim lights. Mosquitoes were also a very big problem for me. With no air conditioning, sleep did not come to me easily as well.

All in all, this is great for those who want to relax or can appreciate nature and don't mind being isolated from civiilzation. But if you are interested in the nightlife and more exciting activities, I would suggest to book something right in downtown Phi Phi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
830 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
665 reviews
3.7 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,766 reviews
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Natures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Natures Resort

Property: Viking Natures Resort
Address: 222 Moo 7 | Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Natures Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Viking Natures Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Natures Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing