We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i would come back, iffff....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Natures Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viking Natures Resort
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“i would come back, iffff....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Nice decorated and naturel resort with some excellent rooms.
Room C4 is one of the best.
Good food in an extraordinary, really nice looking restaurant.
Great flowers, candels, decoration and good music also.
The beach is small and nice, the walk to town is not to much problems, about 25 minutes.
The staff in the restaurant is something for this resort to instruct, they are friendly, but they just don't know how to operate in the right way.
There are only a few broken wooden chairs on the beach in which you will get
backproblems!
If there were some nice lounge chairs on the beach i would think of return to this lovely place...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaopadkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    469
    227
    125
    96
See reviews for
127
862
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stay away of this resort! It's a rip off and very noisy. Sheets and blanckets were dirty altough we stayed in the 4000 baht/night room Makmai 1A. Smaller rooms like superior and standard are as big as the bed, there is no extra space. No warm water in the whole resort. Construction around all buildings even during high season and the most unfriendly manager we have ever met.
The only plus is the nice restaurant.
Enjoy your trip to Koh Phi Phi and stay at another place, the island and the beaches are beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeguard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was our first stop on our 6 week holiday. We loved the location, 20 min. walk to the town and partying but quiet and relaxing place to be. Able to also get to town by longtail; 100 BHT per person, 150BHT at night. Great Value on the Island. We met other travelers who were paying more for a room in the middle off the loud town center.WE stayed in a simple bungalow with shared bathroom, which we seemed to be only people using it. Everything was super clean. Small private beach and massage for 300 BHT. If you want a larger beach, Long beach, known as the best beach on the island, is only 5 min. walk. Food was okay a bit over priced, although they have a "tasting menu" at 7pm every night, which was great to wet our appetites for dinner. We mostly went to town and ate at local stalls, "Soda's" was our favourite, suggested by a local. Head straight off the pier about 50 meters down take a left. The thing we liked best was the staff at the Viking. Very freindly and helpful. Often played music at night and socialized with guests. Would stay again when we go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateahugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

In advance of my arrival I contacted the resort via email and asked best method of arrival from the dock at Kho Phi Phi. No response. I walked/hiked through town and then a long heavy hike with luggage (following 3 other travelers going to same resort in same feeling lost situation). Finally upon arrival via land we pass cabins, more cabins, crazy steps, walk ways and horrible terrain. Reception desk & restaurant is at the last possible area - after you have passed most of the cabins, and walked up/down steep wooden steps w/out railing, through a beach, etc. I can't make up how crazy the terrain is... Staff was just nice but not overly helpful. After checking in we head back through the forested area up/down up/down past a beach, etc back to one of the first set of cabins - can't a reception area/person be stationed here or ANY SIGNAGE (like leave your luggage....). The beach is really nice, snorkeling from shore is good (fin/mask rentals avail at front desk), and the restaurant on site is good. The cabins are thin walled and you hear all your neighbors business at night. Once the area gets dark it is not well lit and challenging terrain.
My best advice - visit during the day and spend the day at the beach - have lunch but leave before dark. The cabins are cute, small but well appointed with oversized furniture. Hammock on the desk of the cabin is a nice touch. Biggest drawback is the terrain, and difficulty climbing over roots, rocks, etc. I'm a good hiker and this was a crazy maze (mostly unmarked) especially in the dark (actually dangerous). Nice idea but pass and stay someplace in town. PS - best way to access the resort is vial boat for 100 bhat each way. Finding a boat to take you can take some time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

It is so pity that such a beautifull resort situes in so noisy location! You don't have 5 minutes of calm because of terrible noise which make long tail boats! They pass 10 meters from the beach all day and night so even the most costly bungalows are not situated in calm area! We stayed in the deluxe rooms and paid 6 nights and runned away after 2! Luckily the manager gave us back our money because he was conscient of the problem!
Staff in general isn't friendly and nice like in other places. The restorant is really interesting and they paid attention to all details, but in some strange way you have feeling that you are in the bus station! People are coming and leaving all the time and you can't relax in such environment! If you want peace in Phi Phi go to remote resorts don't stay near Tonsai Village! Even the Long Beach don't offer escape from long tail boats, but it is a little calmer then Viking beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Nice decorated and naturel resort with some excellent rooms.
Room C4 is one of the best.
Good food in an extraordinary, really nice looking restaurant.
Great flowers, candels, decoration and good music also.
The beach is small and nice, the walk to town is not to much problems, about 25 minutes.
The staff in the restaurant is something for this resort to instruct, they are friendly, but they just don't know how to operate in the right way.
There are only a few broken wooden chairs on the beach in which you will get
backproblems!
If there were some nice lounge chairs on the beach i would think of return to this lovely place...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaopadkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We loved our stay because we like nature and don't like busy tourist places and the rooms are nicely decorated and the cottages blend in with the trees. It's not really quiet, not only because of Ton Sai, but also because of their own music and guests and the terrible long tails...
We didn't find it scary to walk back at night from Ton Sai through the "jungle", just bring a torch and be prepared for a little hike.
They provided free food tastings at night, which was nice and they also have free internet on their laptops.
The thing that did bother us is the fact that they don't seem to have a proper waste system, the smell was horrible at times! And the staff was pretty indifferent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherdeGeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#13 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Natures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Natures Resort

Property: Viking Natures Resort
Address: 222 Moo 7 | Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Natures Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Viking Natures Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Natures Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing