We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big portions and free wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papaya Restaurant

Papaya Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Big portions and free wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

While wandering around Phiphi, we were looking for some good food to fill our stomachs. And we came across Papaya restaurant. The portions served were huge and drinks were great! Try the mango lassi! And I would recommend the pineapple fried rice too! Its really some great food there. There is also free Wifi there and the service crew is extremely friendly!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo'di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    314
    129
    50
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Food in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Have been recommended this place by fellow travellers and have been very impressed by the quality of service and also a quality of food. The staff were extremely helpful, gave advice/suggestions on various dishes. We have ended up coming back there the following evening again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jurga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kata Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“yami yami!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The green curry was the best I had in koh phi phi! Also the spring rolls are a must! Good service and good prices. It also has an AC which is an advantage in the hot island afternoons.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Extra point only for the nice service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was just bad. Everywhere are cats. I dont mind cause i like cats, But seeing the cook playing with one before preparing your meal is not nice.
coming to the food:
spring rolls seemed like the ones u know from the freezer.
Massaman curry was neither spicy nor had taste.
Pad thai was just oily and had nothing to do with the delicious pad thais we have already eaten.

Unfortunately it was all in all really bad. After 4 weeks in Thailand this restaurant was rated to our "Worst 5".
But the other one we ve been on Phi Phi also landed on this list. Maybe you just cant find good food on Phi Phi.

My recommendation: Go somewhere else!

Only the service was really nice although also playing with cats before bringing our dishes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anyang, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice people, good service, delicious food. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a few hours to spend in Phi Phi after a night trip so we stopped here to get a beverage and some food. The food is great- we ate a papaya salad (very balanced flavors), the masamun curry (yummy and came highly recommended, but a bit to thick, creamy and sweet for my liking), and the sweet and sour broccoli with chicken (very tasty).
All in all a nice little place with a lovely staff and good food.

Helpful?
Thank laweinkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaya Restaurant also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Papaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing