We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, value for money could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mama Beach Residence
2 reviews
“Good location, value for money could be better”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Location very nice. Quiet end of the beach, lovely views on to the Bay. Good sized rooms, clean and comfortable.

Negative points :

Not all rooms had a great view. Some behind trees or other buildings.
Small annoyances, the umbrellas they lend you were mostly broken. And you will need them if it rains! They ask you to take your shoes of in the room and Wear the slippers they provide but the rooms had no slippers. Neither of these things are expensive so it seems like cutting corners to not have them and the hotel isn't cheap!
Overall, good but could be better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    275
    115
    42
    51
See reviews for
102
506
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Jaq Dropping...these are the words I have to describe the location of this resort. I was there for my honeymoon for 2 nights and was blown away with the breathtaking view around the resort.

On arrival via ferry from Surat Thani a person ahd been stationed at the pier to pick us up. We had a lot of luggage and it would have been impossible for us to manage without him. On reaching we were greated with a welcome drink while we waited for our room to get ready. The room, in itself, was beautiful. Unobstructed view of the sea through the glass doors was amazing. You could just sit there and watch the crystal blue water all day long.

Food- Did not try the food at the hotel so cannot comment on that.

Room Service- Room Service was satisfactory.

Location- This is where this resort scores over all the others in Phi Phi. I had done considerable research before going and we were glad that we chose this place over others. On one side is a towering cliff while on the other, in a line, are other resorts. This is the last resort on the island and so the noise is lesser.

Room Tip: Select one of the front rooms facing the Sea. The glass doors give an unbelievable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth71286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We (a couple at 50ies) stayed 4 nights in this hotel at the end of September and really enjoyed a staying. Staff was helpful, room was clean and well kept. This hotel is not so suitable for those who like to stay just in hotel - no swimming pool, no room service or gym but for those who like quiet staying at a beach, good french style food and polite service - it is the place. Hotel located in 10 min walk from center of Tonsai village and pier and has luggage delivery service (Koh Phi-Phi does not have any cars).
Hotel restaurant and bar are good even by European standards.

Room Tip: Hotel located just a few meters from the hotel private beach so sea front rooms have better sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergiy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had heard mixed reviews about Phi Phi - some people saying it was paradise, others saying to avoid as it's the Ibiza party island equivalent in Thailand. We loved it, and we put that down to the location and standard of Mama Beach. As some of the other reviews have stated. It's about a 10 minute walk from the pier/central area, however the walk is along sandy paths along the beach shore so it's a beautiful walk. The centre is very crammed and busy and at night you can hear the loud thud and beats from the music from the party side of the island (the opposite side to Mama Beach) so I would say the further out the better. The island is tiny anyway so everywhere is accessible and within walking distance.
The hotel itself is the further point along the beach and when we approached by boat, we actually said to each other 'hope we're staying there' - so we were delighted when that came true.
It's right under a gorgeous cliff face where you will see rock climbers daily. Monkey's come out from the forest area surrounding which is just gorgeous to watch.
The hotel rooms are of a good standard - better than basic, but not over luxurious. Clean, modern though with air conditioning, fridge, safe, free wifi, cleaned daily. The bathrooms are probably the worst feature. They are open with curtains and no where near as modern as the rooms themselves. Showers aren't great, but do the trick. The doors to the bathroom are more like shutters so we were always paranoid about mosquitos coming through at night when the lights were on.
Nice touches from the hotel include meeting you off the boat at the pier, free luggage carrier to and from the pier, also every evening a lady comes round and knocks on your door and sprays bug spray in the bathrooms and rooms which we thought was good.
There is a massage area at the hotel, bean bags and padded loungers out the front and even yoga on the beach!
Bar area is really cool and occasionally there is a live band. You can dine at the restaurant right on the breach front - although we never did so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Top tips - definitely request/pay for a beach facing room as the view is stunning and you have a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had experienced difficulty when originally booking our room here. Anyway we eventually got this sorted (after numerous emails!!)
When we arrived at Mama Beach we were greeted by a nice girl. She wasn't exactly overly friendly and didn't seem to be the chatty type...anyway she was ok. Another man 'hid' behind her in the office and did not greet us once while we were there. For instance, there were times when we wanted to ask questions about the island. When we asked the girl at reception, she would call into this man in the office (I presume Antoine?) and he would call back out to her giving her the information. I would have thought the least he could do would be to come out to us himself and speak to us. Again though, not a big deal. One man (unfortunately cannot remember his name...think it begins with 'R' was very friendly and introduced himself one night at dinner saying to ask him if we needed anything but we never saw him again...)

We had booked a sea view room. What we got was a room facing the sea with a huge tree in front of the balcony so we could barely see the sea...not a sea view in my opinion! In terms of aesthetic location, the hotel is gorgeous, right by the cliff with a private beach. Although, they do yoga here in the evenings so we were asked to get up off the sun loungers so that could start...a bit off putting.
The hotel is a long trip from any action. Although 15-20 minutes doesn't seem too long, if you are doing it 4/5 times a day in 30 degree heat, it is long!! Beach bar was lovely (nice man serving there too) but cocktails were expensive, as was the food. Breakfast in the morning was awful!!! I appreciate the fact that Thailand has lots of flies / bugs but they were literally crawling all over the food. We also ate dinner here one night and were driven CRAZY with the flies. This didn't happen in any other restaurant with ate in in Thailand. I had the pad thai and my partner had a rice dish. Mine was unbelievably spicy. Again I appreciate that Thai food is spicy but it was ridiculously spicy!!! I couldn't eat any of it.

Our room was fine, basic. Bathroom was fine too. The water was turned off for one full day when we were here, very inconvenient but probably nothing to do with the hotel itself. Cleaner came into the room in the evening to spray for mosquitoes which was nice.

Really our problem was that this hotel was the most expensive out of all hotels we stayed in in Thailand and it just wasn't worth the money. We would return for the beautiful location but not for anything else.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lots of pros and cons to this place so it depends what you want. Very nice beach and excellent breakfast. Location has great views right under the cliffs and even saw monkeys right on the beach (see photos). Room was nice but not extravagant. Bathroom was open to air with a curtain which was ok but not my preference. A/C was in the middle of the room and did drip on the couch but they took care of that. Staff was great and room was well cleaned and had a nice deck and chairs (we were on the first floor. While the area was beautiful and the grounds spacious, it was a good walk to dining and clubs (figure on about 12 minutes to the pier and another 5-15 to where ever you are going). Also, the walk was on packed sand so no heels or dressing up, but that was consistent with the island anyway. Note that walking is the only way to get around. Finally, I could not decide between 3 and 4 stars, in part because while there were drawbacks - I still think its a step up from the other places in the bay area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just had the worst experience reserving this hotel for an overnight stay in December, and I thought that other travelers should be aware of how unreliable the management of this hotel is.

The manager of this hotel, Antoine, e-mailed us back on a two-night minimum for our reservation, a requirement that was (at the time of booking) not stated anywhere on the hotel website or the reservation website.

The two-night stay did not work with our flight schedule, so I offered to pay more money for the one-night reservation which we ALREADY MADE successfully.

This manager then proceeded to charge us the difference between what I offered and what the room rate was (to the tune of US $30) and to CANCEL our reservation, and e-mailed us that he did both. Why would one charge us money and cancel our reservation? Why would we pay for the manager cancelling the night which we already successfully reserved?

At no time did we indicate that we wanted to cancel the night, and we definitely did not offer nor agree to pay the hotel for the cancellation.

I could not have ever imagined someone so brazen at making up reservation rules, and then taking liberties with the customers' credit cards as Antoine did.

As a result, I no longer want anything to do with the hotel, and neither should you -- who knows, maybe at the time of your arrival the manager will invent new rules by which you will be charged additional costs that you never knew existed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SRPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
628 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,519 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Beach Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Beach Residence

Property: Mama Beach Residence
Address: 199 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Phi phi island 81000 Krabi province, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mama Beach Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mama Beach Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Beach Residence Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing